Chevron Left
Volver a Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description por parte de Universidad Wesleyana

4.7
800 calificaciones
234 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Principales revisiones

DP

Jul 18, 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

CZ

Mar 27, 2018

Excellent course- highly recommended. I liked how it tied into other courses in the series as well. I took many notes, and plan on revisiting the course during my writings to refresh some ideas.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 227 revisiones para Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

por Basel

Mar 22, 2016

Wow! This is a real good one! And also the extra literature is waaaaaaay to interesting!!

por Victorya J

Aug 22, 2016

Thank you so much Amity for all the knowledge that you have given me. Your approach to teaching is wonderful and I was intrigued by your views on writing. I thoroughly enjoyed learning from you. You are amazing and I feel blessed to have been you as an instructor. Again, thank you!

por Barb B

Dec 17, 2016

Great course that caused me to get out of my comfort zone!

por Alexander F

Feb 19, 2018

This is in my opinion the best one of the specialization so far. It has great references and additional content, readings, videos, etc. related to what's being studied. Gaige's comments are always thoughtful and inspiring. The other courses are all good too, but this one was exceptional.

por Victoria

Dec 20, 2017

Another excellent course in this program of study for the craft of creative writing, with practical exercises and useful constraints that really helped me to progress my understanding of creative writing and improve my storytelling skills. Suddenly, it's no longer agonising, but easy. Thank you!

por magdalena

Mar 21, 2016

Excelente e inspirador.

por Paulo B

Feb 12, 2018

Like every other course of the Creative Writing Specialization, a profound revelation of the craft, in this case, setting and description.

por Chew W Y

Jul 23, 2016

Great course and exciting writing assignments! The peer reviews were mostly constructive and the instructor was clear and brought her learnings across. Highly recommended!

por Iris R

Jun 29, 2016

Thank you.

por Alejandro M G M

Jun 17, 2018

Very fun and helpful, thank you so much for the opportunity and the financial Aid. I feel this entire specialization has been great, demanding and inspiring. See you in the next course c :

por Janet W

Sep 29, 2016

Excellent course highly recommended.

por Jack H

May 01, 2018

This was an EXCELLENT course and I just e-mailed a driend about it a half an hour ago.

por Noha D

Nov 23, 2017

Great great course, Amity Gaige has a great charisma, clearly explains ideas, inspires and influences writers, along with interesting readings suggestions, and i liked how she personally presented the assignments.

Thanks Amity :) <3

por Trish S

Dec 01, 2016

Very thought provoking, inspiring and educational.

por Eneida A M

Dec 15, 2016

In this course I practiced an exercise that changed forever my way of writing a setting description. I loved it!

por Nada D

Aug 08, 2016

Really instructive course and exceptional teaching, discussion boards were a bit barren but maybe that was due to the lack of mentors at the time.

por Chaz G

Dec 18, 2016

I enjoyed everything about this course. I found every module extremely helpful along with all of the feedback I received from my peers. The exercises were extremely enjoyable and creative. This has been an excellent course through and through.

por Paul M

Aug 11, 2017

Immensely enjoyed this course and how it is presented. Thank you.

por Cristofer C L

May 19, 2017

Awesome course, excellent instructor. I am a way better writer for it!

por Courtney Z

Mar 27, 2018

Excellent course- highly recommended. I liked how it tied into other courses in the series as well. I took many notes, and plan on revisiting the course during my writings to refresh some ideas.

por Ibrahim N

Jan 02, 2017

An excellent course under the mentorship of Amity Gaige. She is a gorgeous mentor. I learned a lot of new things! Thank you very much.

por Jerri L L

May 18, 2016

I've enjoyed "The Craft of Setting and Description." It's given me a good chance to spend some time focusing on the details that matter. I've learned a lot about what to include where setting and description are concerned and what to leave out. It's been a very good course.

por Neha

May 03, 2016

Gives out clear understanding. The choices of reference books are interesting, especially 'The Odour of Chrysanthmums'

por Gicela H y G

Sep 12, 2016

An excellent course to help you involve in the art of setting and description. I recommend it 100%

por Amy A R

Aug 02, 2016

This was an excellent class. The assignments were specific, challenging, and enjoyable. I enjoyed the instructor's approach and insight to writing. Additionally, I found the supplemental materials very helpful. Finally, sharing past student work with current students helped clarify the subject matter and gave me perspective on the required assignments. I wish more instructors did that!