Chevron Left
Volver a Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Creative Writing: The Craft of Style por parte de Universidad Wesleyana

4.7
estrellas
1,054 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

Principales reseñas

MS

18 de abr. de 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LJ

17 de dic. de 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 300 revisiones para Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

por bishwaksen b

1 de feb. de 2018

Very very helpful

por Deleted A

3 de sep. de 2016

Best course ever!

por SAIBAL C

14 de ene. de 2021

Great experience

por Tim J

26 de may. de 2017

Excellent class!

por Patricia R

16 de may. de 2017

I love it! great

por Amy G K

29 de ene. de 2017

Awesome class!!

por Yunus Ç

17 de jul. de 2020

Thanks for all

por LE M D

19 de nov. de 2020

Thank Teacher

por FORERO P D A

20 de jul. de 2020

Great tecaher

por Judy W W J

26 de mar. de 2019

Great course.

por Hui J H

29 de may. de 2019

Thank you!

por Max M

5 de ago. de 2017

Thank you!

por Daniel C

20 de may. de 2017

Great job!

por Iris R

28 de jun. de 2016

Thank you.

por Priyam G

7 de jul. de 2020

Thank you

por Carreen P

23 de nov. de 2017

Fabulous!

por Martín G

1 de may. de 2022

Love it

por Sana N

20 de oct. de 2020

Amazing

por Michael

21 de dic. de 2016

amazing

por Deleted A

20 de feb. de 2022

love

por LyNKHE150301

22 de abr. de 2021

gud

por Cora C

8 de jul. de 2022

n

por Ada

21 de ene. de 2018

I enjoyed Salavatore's lessons, video and reading materials. I have ended up following the thread started in the videos and researching more from those rather modest starting points .

The better a video lesson is the more I am left feeling it could have been even more, given a little more, a longer, less compacted teaching/learning curve.

Most importantly, direct input and/or contact with the professors would be beneficial, as ell as getting reviews and feedback from QUALIFIED STAFF.

This aspect of the course had not been made clear before signing up, I found out about it while doing the first of four courses, accepted it and carried on through all 4. Having anyone read our work is great and hard to come by, but having a professional, at least from time to time - now that is what learning is really about.

Way back when I was still a student in London I remember noticing the beginnings of this trend in the university I was at: "peer feedback" and "peer learning" became all the rage, the new buzz words. And yes they are very important elements of the learners experience, but they should complement, rather than substitute the process.

It is so very convenient to have learners teaching one another, both in an online as well as presential course, not the least because it decreases the time and money spent on a qualified teachers. The fact that this details is overlooked in the course description shows that it is a sensitive topic and that it might put a number of potential learners off.

The course has value and brings satisfaction as well as surprising (self) revelations. Therefore it can afford to be more transparent.

To cut this short, why not re-introduce the qualified staff and make this an even more valuable experience? Paying for a course should not leave learners feeling we are being saved on by an educational institution or that only paying a little more would afford us teacher feedback.

por Maria J d C M

25 de jul. de 2021

(+) Great course for the self-paced, self-managing student. The instructor is incredibly erudite and poetic, which made this module more challenging for me (beginner). I felt that this module requires a mastering of basic knowledge that I didn't have, as a beginner, and despite having gone through all the previous courses. Perhaps this is why it's the fourth course in the specialization (though one can take them in whichever order one likes) - the degree of difficulty of the subjject goes up as one moves on. The assignments were also the most challenging, but that, to me, made them more interesting; one needs to push oneself more, go back and review what was taught in the other courses in the specialization.

(-) The peer reviews remain the major minus of this and other creative writing MOOC courses. The tips on how to improve one's writing, provided by mentors, are excellent but rare, in my experience. The reviews by by beginners like myself - doing the best one can, offering constructive detail advice within our limited know-how and experience - are helpful but a small a minority. Many are too brief, or consisting of monosyllabic answers ("good", "great", "ok", etc.) I suppose it's part of the creative arts MOOC experience, all the people that with moderate to little interest in the subject that just want to fast forward their way to a relatively inexpensive certificate - no expense tuition and living costs, no stringent admission requirements - by a good university...

ALL IN ALL a good experience like the rest of the courses in the specialization. Recommend it to all ambitious beginner / beginner plus writers, with a word of caution about peer reviews - don't expect a fraction of a live class or work group.

Last but not least: THANK YOU to the teacher, course mentor M.L. Barnes, and the peer reviewers who took the time to write constructive critique!

por Deleted A

15 de ene. de 2017

I liked the course very much. For a foreign speaker, though, I found it particularly challenging. The nuances of words are particularly important when dealing with matters of style, and I struggled through the exercises, which I found a bit more "abstract" than those in preceding courses of this series. Maybe it was just self-consciousness... In any case, because I encountered this struggle, the course was helpful in making me think about how do I want to pursue my next steps in the process of creative writing -- should I continue in English, or should I try, instead, to do it in my native language? I am sure this is a question that many other students have asked themselves. I shouldn't conclude without saying that I do recommend the course, in any case.