Chevron Left
Volver a Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.8
estrellas
790 calificaciones
162 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this second part--part two of five--we cover derivatives, differentiation rules, linearization, higher derivatives, optimization, differentials, and differentiation operators....

Principales reseñas

JB
17 de feb. de 2018

So much fun, and hits all sorts of things I'd always wanted to know. The homework took me a long time, so I didn't get to watch all the bonus lectures, but the ones I did were really interesting.

WG
16 de feb. de 2017

Not a class for someone with no calculus experience. However, if you have some calculus knowledge it will deepen your knowledge more than any other MOOC I have found. Truly a great course.

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 157 revisiones para Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation

por 胡启阳

24 de feb. de 2019

excellent

por 顾雪

10 de jun. de 2017

henbangen

por 王力超

24 de may. de 2016

excellent

por fahim n

8 de jul. de 2021

very fun

por Rama T

28 de oct. de 2020

Useful

por 黎健钊

3 de may. de 2017

THANKS

por Tuan H

11 de sep. de 2016

Great!

por Belaid M

5 de dic. de 2021

great

por Xiao L

17 de nov. de 2017

The bonus lectures are great! I majored in pure Mathematics in university, and I find them incredibly enlightening. One question, though. We have been taught several techniques to compute derivatives based on the derivatives of such simple function as sin(x), cos(x), and exponential. Shouldn't we learn how those basic derivatives are computed in the first place?

por Frances C

8 de jun. de 2020

I like both the video lectures and the textbook readings for each lecture. I wonder whether you would want to draw more attention to the textbook readings for each of the lectures?

Aside: I wanted to retry a couple of the questions on the exam. Is there some way for me to do this?

por Roshan N

20 de oct. de 2018

Thanks Mr. Ghrist for this course . I learnt many new concepts and mainly how to deal with problems by using visualization . Also understand why we are learning things and their applications. Again thanks a lot.

por Gabriel Q

17 de mar. de 2019

some interesting applications of even the most basics of calculus, also finally a way to truely understand the second derivate test

por Elton B R

17 de jun. de 2020

i WOULD LIKE TO SUGGEST TO PROFESSOR ROBERT CHRIST TO PRESENT MORE EXAMPLE IN ORDER TO MAKE EASY STUDENT UNDERSTANDING.

por Omar A K

7 de sep. de 2017

I am not giving 5 stars because of lack of proofs ! some topology i think is necessary to talk about calculus

por Ankish S

15 de jun. de 2020

Overall the course was best but could be improved by a few more examples. Loved this course.

por Bendeguz S

10 de ago. de 2019

Presentations are great, albeit some topics were neglected or were too short. Overall 8,5/10

por Le W

4 de may. de 2020

the Professor's voice and tempo is tooooooooo slow that we want to sleep

por Benjamin C

19 de mar. de 2018

Tough course, but a very fresh look at differential calculus.

por Salim S

10 de ene. de 2018

IT'S GIVE ME A DEEP UNDERSTANDING . THANK'S

por kanagaratnam j

20 de ene. de 2016

very need the lecture note

por Rajni G

4 de ago. de 2021

IT WAS A NICE EXPERIENCE

por 马包威

13 de jun. de 2017

easy to understand

por Alain L

15 de mar. de 2017

Bonjour.

por Leah J

25 de jun. de 2020

This course is extremely difficult, and it is in one's best interest to have already taken Calculus 1-4, Differential Equations, and other various mathematics courses before taking this course.

Despite the difficulty of the course, the material was quite interesting, and Dr. Ghrist is a great professor. Thank you Coursera!

por Deleted A

22 de may. de 2020

For someone like myself who took this course as a refresher after not having taken a formal calculus class after some 40 years, I found that this course required knowledge of aspects of mathematics that had been forgotten and not covered in the course.