Chevron Left
Volver a Disaster Preparedness

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Disaster Preparedness por parte de Universidad de Pittsburgh

4.7
estrellas
1,317 calificaciones
396 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

Principales reseñas

CH
30 de ene. de 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

JL
7 de oct. de 2020

grateful to have this kind of Course in here while having sponsor. Most important course because it teaches the basic surviving skills and safety during disaster. likewise, Safety First!

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 396 revisiones para Disaster Preparedness

por Melissa A

11 de jul. de 2020

Great course! I learned a lot and gathered very useful information. This will come handy in case we encounter a disaster. This is something we don't want to happen but it is also better to be prepared at all times. Thank you, Prof Breach!

por Krista H

7 de mar. de 2020

Very well written and lead by the professor. Expanded my knowledge and built on what I already knew from previous similar courses. Would definitely recommend for someone who is either just starting or wants to increase their understanding

por Emmanuel A Y

14 de may. de 2020

I am currently studying Bsc. Fire and Disaster Management in Ghana, the knowledge gained here is very broad and has widened my scope and perspective on disaster preparedness. This will go a long way in enriching my experience and resume.

por Sellappan

27 de jul. de 2020

Very interesting course. Learned how to safeguard our self from disaster and learned new things such as Jump kit & disaster preparedness. The way of teaching & carrying the course till the end is highly interesting & appreciable.

por Theresa W

10 de oct. de 2017

Very timely. I am grateful for the opportunity to get some good information on preparedness with out the hype of the WTSHTF ideology. Preparedness should be a common goal for any emergency, or at least the most predictable ones.

por Muhammad I H

17 de may. de 2020

I think it should add "basic" to the title. So it become Basic of Disaster Preparedness. But the course is really useful since it Disaster is come without any notification before. So we have to ready and stay alert at all time.

por Almaz K

29 de feb. de 2016

The course helped me a lot to gain fundamental understanding of emergency preparedness plan, right attitude and awareness of how to act in a disaster. I would recommend this course!

Regards,

Almaz Kassymkulov

Astana, Kazakhstan

por Bariul M

28 de jun. de 2020

Excellent Course. I am very much pleased to complete this course smoothly, it was a great opportunity for me to learn new and updated things. Special thanks to my Instructor Micheal Beach and thanks to Coursera.

por Jesus B J

23 de dic. de 2020

Very informative and extensive for someone who has little to no knowledge on Disaster Preparedness. The professor was very articulate and knowledgeable on the subject matter. Will recommend to other colleagues.

por natalie d

12 de mar. de 2020

Learnt so much, also realised that we are fortunate in Cape Town that we are not faced with so many disasters. All the best to you all who experience various disasters and are always prepared for it. God bless

por RITESH G

10 de oct. de 2017

Excellent Course. The case studies from Japan are really informative and give a good insight into the Disaster Management System. The modules on Personal Preparedness are a must for everyone in today's time.

por Alfredo P

20 de dic. de 2016

Very good course that gives you the basic information about preparedness.

It would be very interesting to know how to take a practical course in disaster preparedness and survival techniques

por Tatiana M

18 de may. de 2020

very practical in developing your personal preparedness plan, awareness and knowledge of what to do and expect when disasters strike. Excellent pace, thorough and very good resources.

por Alan C R

6 de dic. de 2019

Exceptional class, very organized by the Professor and beneficial to those of us in the healthcare space AND for anyone interested in being prepared for local or regional disasters.

por Nolly I

15 de feb. de 2021

The course offered is timely and relevant and designed for the safety and mitigation plan to achieve a rapid and effective recovery. thank you for sharing such amazing course.

por Brett P

28 de abr. de 2020

Excellent course for disaster preparedness! I learnt a lot about how to prepare and also what to expect in a disaster. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to be more prepared.

por Sarinah P

20 de abr. de 2021

I learned information integral to surviving through a disaster. I have an understanding of what to expect on a personal and organizational level. The course was outstanding.

por S R M B

10 de jul. de 2020

Really great . I learned a lot . Thankyou very much . I also enjoy the course that i enroll. I keep this knowledge to be prepared to all the situation that facing . Thankyou

por Adebisi A M

24 de abr. de 2020

A very helpful course. It will get you prepared for disaster or any emergency situation. I particularly gained so much from topic on attitude and composure during emergency.

por Jim C

3 de sep. de 2015

Very insightful course. The peer-reviewed plan was also incredibly useful, both in the exercise itself and seeing the risks (and mitigation plans) by others. Outstanding!

por Shivam 1

5 de may. de 2021

I learned a lot of things that will make survival in times of disaster a necessity. I am going to suggest this course to my family members so everyone can learn this stuff

por Jatu F N

8 de sep. de 2020

The course is very enlightening! Learns a lot about surviving, how to respond during a disaster, what to prepare, and how the government should prepare a mitigation plan.

por Ritik C

21 de may. de 2020

It is one of the best courses on Coursera.

Michael Beach is a great mentor and he gives the knowledge about Disaster Preparedness in a very easy and demonstrative manner.

por RA S

18 de may. de 2021

This course is very educational and informative. Great additional learning and will form part of my stock knowledge.. Thank you very much for the new gained learnings.

por Jerome D

6 de nov. de 2020

Very good educational program, covered wide aspects of survival, very thorough discussion. Very informational while being entertaining. I enjoyed the course very much.