Chevron Left
Volver a Diversity and inclusion in the workplace

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Diversity and inclusion in the workplace por parte de Escuela de Negocios ESSEC

4.7
estrellas
515 calificaciones
149 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Diversity is a fact. It is also paradoxical. We need to be capable of seeing and hearing differences in order to reap the benefits of diversity. But seeing and hearing differences hone our discriminating reflexes and can also lead to discrimination. If you take this MOOC, you will: 1. understand this paradox, 2. understand its dynamics, and 3. identify ways to manage it, so that you can better channel the diversity potential in the workplace for greater performance and innovation....

Principales reseñas

SL
5 de abr. de 2020

Amazing course with so much to learn\n\nI like that we had to write an essay which helped me really look back on everything i had learnt\n\nI am so impressed and cant wait to do more

AG
16 de jun. de 2020

It was a great course that had amazing data insights. The fact that the course forced you to write your own assignments and interact on discussion threads made it very interesting.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 147 revisiones para Diversity and inclusion in the workplace

por Daniel W

1 de dic. de 2019

I thought this course was uninteresting, hard to understand in some of its language & with the way that it explained some things as well as when it came to directions and what was expected of you for certain assignments particularly essays. Parts of the course lacked direction and one could argue that some of the material was heavily biased. I would also like to say that many of the articles and videos outside Coursera that we were asked to read and watch were either no longer active or hidden behind a pay wall which made it hard to complete some assignments and understand certain parts of the course. Most of the videos were long, rambling, and hard to follow. A lot of the language and ideas/laws discussed seemed largely geared toward certain European countries or Europe as a whole and didn't really apply much to the United States. Certain parts of the course would say that they were optional or that participation in that section was optional but if you had not completed that exercise you would not be able to finish other assignments later down the line which could get kind of confusing, if something is "optional" you should not have to participate in it in order to complete the course.

por Kanchan K W

4 de feb. de 2019

I learnt and enjoyed benefited from the course. I especially liked the way the course was designed , it had the perfect pace and flexibility. The material , presentations , videos were an immense knowledge sharing tools .

por Uwanibe U P

16 de jul. de 2020

It was an inspiring course. Opened my understanding of diversity issues in general. I would recommend this course to anyone ready to embrace the cultural dynamic of our society.

por Cynthia C

2 de jul. de 2020

Difficult to follow, data seems to be out of date, lots of stereotypes, and not much knowledge about the world outside of Europe!

por Linda B

22 de sep. de 2020

I loved the international feel of the work. It was really great to see all of the different aspects, gender and age were a great aspect as well as race, LGBTQ and disability.

por Tara T

10 de ago. de 2020

I learned so much from a global perspective! This was really great information and helped me understand how to build my own foundation as I go further into DEI.

por Daniel F M

29 de nov. de 2020

Pros: like the self-pacing. Like the examples and illustrations. Liked the crossword puzzles. I liked the ability to finish my assignments early. I enjoyed the peer-review approach. (I even did a few extra). I also liked the explanations giving on all answers on the quizzes. I liked hearing about the different constraints around the world.

Cons: Did not like hearing the term "colored" in module four. I understand that this class was not made in USA but am shocked such an offensive term was used multiple times. I would have giving the course 5-stars if it was not for the inclusion of this offensive term.

por Treca S

21 de sep. de 2019

Great course overall; however, the cases should be more broadly applicable. There was an assumption that everyone had a workplace encounter and that they worked in a company with a diversity initiative with which they were intimately familiar.

por Rafal M

28 de feb. de 2019

Excellent course, thank you. Information was clear, understandable, valuable. For me it was just enough challenging, not too easy, not too difficult. I liked it being divided into parts - Weeks 1-4. I hope to be able to come back to some videos later in my work. I liked the control questions towards the end of some vids, they kept me in check and I had to focus and listen attentively to the lectures. Oh, and the course was quite inexpensive.

Tiny things to improve - some lecturers' audio was not quite there (technically mainly, but some accents were a tad heavy, too). I'd like to have known in advance (in intro perhaps) that the final essay would be a little demanding, I had to postpone my submission as I struggled gathering data. But these are little things and they do not stop me from giving the course 5 stars.

por Chiara M

12 de jul. de 2020

Diversity management play a key role in understanding new HR strategies for adding values to workplaces. Adding diversity and inclusion ( #D&I) is also a way to impact on emergent clusters of new customers to the firms values.

In this course by Prof Junko Takagi of Essec Business School I analyzed issues connected to:

- Gender diversity and women empowement

- intergenerational diversity (mixed workplaces with babyboomers, millennials and Z generation)

- people with disabilities

- cultural and social diversity (multiculturalism)

- LGBT issues in the workplace

Is a really helpful lesson for understanding a new global trend in a deep way testing structural and cognitive bias for reaching new scenarios.

por Stacy S

29 de jul. de 2019

This was truly fascinating, especially for a non-diversity and inclusion professional in the midst of a career shift that may require a move closer to Human Resources. I really appreciated the volume of information presented in the 4-week period that had a mix of reading and video presentations. The case studies were also great — and reading the assignments of other students helped to understand the issue of D&I from a perspective that sometimes crossed oceans and borders. I highly recommend this course.

por Snigdha T

5 de oct. de 2020

Got trained in diversity and inclusion initiative, which i believe will give me professional and personal benefits which can be used for lifelong and also passed on to generations. Diversity and inclusion if taken on priority by every individual and nations it will take the globalisation to the next level. Enjoyed the course and the joy of learning is indeed irreplaceable.

Thank you to Essec Business school and Coursera Team.

Best Regards

Snigdha

por Steven D

19 de jul. de 2020

This course is worth the effort to learn more about diversity and inclusion in the workplace. I graduated from college in the 1980s and we never studied this topic. I was looking to learn more in a structured manner more than reading some books. I am glad I found this course. There was a variety of material from different perspectives from around the world. The professor who led the course was excellent. I learned a great deal.

por Sabita R

22 de abr. de 2020

This Inclusion and Diversity was a great course. It made me realize a lot of things about myself. I learned a lot about other countries and what they are doing. I have gained perspective on how I can now make a difference in the things that I genuinely believe in and want to change. The lectures and case studies did an excellent job of broadening and opening my mind. I will do other courses from Coursera.

por Beatriz N A

17 de ago. de 2020

It was a great course, you are able to see different points of view and understand why diversity is important and how does it affects the comunity. Doing the activities you can reflect and learn more and more and at the forum and reading the other activities you can see how is diversity in difference part of the world .

I loved it and I think everybody should do this course.

por NIKHIL S

28 de abr. de 2020

The course was very well structured, with a great mix of videos, articles, helpful links and intriguing quizzes and assignments. The concept of Diversity and Inclusion is now well embedded in my system due to this fabulous course content. As a future young professional, I will definitely carry forward the objective of this course by ensuring D&I in my workplace!

por Dilyara T

23 de mar. de 2020

I LOVED this course by all means. It has all the necessary resources that I will be able to use moving forward and share within my community. The information is extremely well balanced and walked through step by step, and the tests are challenging. You can totally tell all the work that comes behind that course, thank you.

por Natasha W

15 de nov. de 2020

This course really opened my eyes to what Diversity and Inclusion in the workplace entails. I will be a better leader in the field because I am now more aware of the different aspects that go into have a diverse and inclusive team. I will not be afraid to embrace such initiatives due to cognitive dynamics of difference.

por Samia A

9 de ago. de 2020

Excellently constructed content delivered with passion and professionalism. An incredibly powerful introduction to the concept of diversity and inclusion - the use of presenters with different accents and nationalities was an exciting way to demonstrate what was being taught. I found the learning riveting and insightful!

por Andrea B

28 de sep. de 2018

This was an excellent course. I found it to be very thorough, straightforward, and full of real-world issues - global perspective. i also found it to be just the right level of challenge and academic level for me. Thank you very much for broadening my understanding of Diversity & Inclusion in the workplace.

por Nidhi G

16 de dic. de 2019

This program not only gave me a great understanding of the diversity and inclusion paradox but actionable steps to take within our organization. It also helped me understand my own behaviors and biases unlike ever before. I would highly recommend to anyone interested in D&I inside or outside company HR roles.

por Emmanuelle D

4 de sep. de 2019

The course was very well made, the lectures interactives with short videos and readings, so easy to adapt to the everyday life schedule. I learned a lot about diversity and inclusion, especially to put words onto phenomena I would witness and this will surely help me in my professional life. Thanks a lot!

por Bankole J

1 de nov. de 2020

The course on Diversity and inclusion in the workplace goes beyond an education in diversity. I do not think that anyone hoping to be an effective leader, innovator, workplace collaborator should attempt to engage in social interaction without have the tools and skills clearly passed on here.

por Michelle S

7 de dic. de 2020

This is an excellent introductory course to studying Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the workplace worldwide. The instructor is engaging and the MOOC's are very interesting. There is much to learn each week and this course has boosted the confidence I have in the area of DEI.

por Mirza M A B

14 de jul. de 2020

It has been an exciting journey. I would like to thank Coursera and ESSEC for giving me a splendiferous opportunity to learn about diversity and inclusion. This course has helped me broaden my vision and would definitely help me securing a job in a diverse environment.