Chevron Left
Volver a Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases por parte de Universidad Estatal de Pensilvania

4.8
estrellas
1,273 calificaciones
319 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

Principales reseñas

DB
22 de abr. de 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

SN
11 de abr. de 2016

great course and its intensive learning . One might think its just another course . However, one needs to follow all the lectures and notes closely to be able to pass all their assignments .

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 313 revisiones para Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases

por Ummulbaneen S

1 de abr. de 2020

My first course on c Coursera and I absolutely loved it! looking forward to learning more on this educational platform.

por Ronald P

26 de jun. de 2017

A wll-explained and interesting discussion of the problems of infectious diseases and our structures to deal with them.

por DEMIAN I M P

13 de ago. de 2020

Excellent course, I cannot stop thinking, how would the course be built nowadays, facing the COVID19 global pandemic

por Stacey K

14 de may. de 2017

very enjoyable and informative. Should be taught at schools.

Thank you for fun and engaging additional reading links!

por Борис Ж

21 de ago. de 2020

Потрясающе увлекательный курс! Хотелось бы чуть больше математики, но в целом - просто потрясающе.

Спасибо огромное.

por Michael N

22 de abr. de 2020

Incredibly informative and extremely helpful in understanding the current COVID-19 pandemic from multiple angles.

por Pau F

17 de abr. de 2020

Great course! Very adviseable for everyone who is looking for courious information or further their knowdledge.

por Muhammad M

9 de sep. de 2015

Love this course. Excited to attend more biology sciences courses from this university and these instructors...

por Jan C

12 de abr. de 2020

Interesting topic, great teachers! I would be glad if there is something more courses prepared by this team.

por Ana S V

14 de ene. de 2016

Un curso muy completo y educativo, en el que aprendes fácilmente conceptos, que a priori, no son triviales.

por Sabrina S S

25 de sep. de 2016

Much more than I expected! I'm in love with this area! This team is awesome!

This couse is Career Changing!

por Helen B

9 de abr. de 2016

Excellent course - a great overview even for people new to the field. Great, entertaining lecture videos!

por Daniela R F

8 de may. de 2020

It's a really complete course, it helped me a lot understandign different things during COVID pandemia.

por April J S

8 de may. de 2020

I really enjoyed this prophetic course. It makes me even more curious to do more study in epidemiology.

por Pietro G

13 de jun. de 2020

Very interesting, a good course for beginners that offers a fairly comprehensive view of the subject.

por Sagnika P

27 de dic. de 2019

The course was very thorough and gave a much better understanding of the the basics of epidemiology.

por Marc B F

31 de mar. de 2018

Very interesting, covering a great diversity of topics inside the epidemics field and easy to follow

por Miss S K W

24 de jun. de 2017

This course was amazing! Everything is explained so well and laid out in such an accessible format!

por Flecher F

26 de mar. de 2020

very insightful and well designed course. I've learned a lot and got more interested in the topic.

por Rebecca C

4 de ago. de 2017

Excellent approach and base to get deep into the area.

I am looking for more courses like this one!

por Trent J G

23 de jun. de 2020

I really love the offered modules. I learned a lot especially about infectious disease control.

por Sylvia H

28 de jul. de 2020

Very interesting, informative and engaging programme - loved it and enjoyed binge watching it!

por Simon A

5 de ene. de 2021

Very informative and timely! Super love the well-articulated and well experienced professors!

por Lica M

9 de nov. de 2020

I've learned a lot from this course! The lectures were delivered in an easy to understand way