Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Imagemaking

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Imagemaking por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.5
1,481 calificaciones
295 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Principales revisiones

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 292 revisiones para Introduction to Imagemaking

por Sue D

May 12, 2016

I love taking courses by the California Institute of the Arts. With that being said this course wasn't the best. It seemed there was not enough information provided. The assignments were too simple. It also seemed like this very material was covered in an earlier course. At least it was available for everyone, not just those that paid. The critiques are the most important part and it was still provided for this course. For that reason alone I raised my review from 2 stars to 4.

por Julia R

Jun 15, 2018

Great course if you want to practice image making!

por Fergus N

Jun 14, 2016

Very enjoyable and encouraging course - I haven't used watercolours since I was a child and this course prompted me to go back out and try them again!

por Nannie A

May 15, 2016

This course teach you to think out of the box and if you have the courage and try, you will take it for the rest of your life.

por Susan M

Mar 24, 2017

Good introduction to important workflow concepts for creating and designing publications from scratch

por Kelly L

Apr 07, 2018

I wish there was more lessons on specific creative techniques. Otherwise good class. Well worth the time!

por Jelome C

Jan 14, 2017

I liked how there's such an open approach to the course and it gave me a lot of chances to practice design.

por Kelly J

Dec 05, 2016

This course was a fun one that encouraged experimentation and making a lot of images. I would say the assignments could have been more challenging though.

por Kolya K

Feb 16, 2018

Nice course of superb specialization. Wish it could be a little more detailed.

por Keith W

Jun 08, 2016

Very good course with fun and challenging assignments. My only criticism of this series of courses (the graphic design specialization) is the grading process and lack of instructor interaction. While the peer grading is setup so that it's not too difficult to receive a decent grade if you do the work, there is virtually no instructor feedback on assignments, which is a bit dissapointing. I realize this may be due to the huge number of students, but usually when I pay for a class, interaction and feedback from the instructor is part of the package. Perhaps if you did that, though, then the tuition cost would be much higher.

por Sarah N

Nov 03, 2016

This course is very good for beginners of using images and need to know how to set images together and anyone did not studied graphic design before

por Utku K

Jul 28, 2016

Good course, maybe more detailed information would be better.

por Maya R

May 24, 2019

Really liked the course, because it is very oriented to practical work. It would be great if there was more substantial exchange with other learners though.

por guy k

Jun 18, 2019

There is a lot of great information. The instructions in some of the assignments are not the clearest. I didn't have a flowing learning experience. There is too much information and sources. It got me a bit out of it instead of focused. I can see it working not online because there is truly great information presented. I think some adjustment should be done for a better user experience.

por Justyna B

Jul 12, 2019

Great course and quite heavy on the assignment part. Nevertheless, this is where true learning starts.

por Monica E G

May 27, 2019

The contents of the classes itself is really really good, the videos, the assigment. But my 4 starts is because the method of coursera is annoying, having to go to forum many times to ask people to review so you can go on in the course, so the forum doensn't work to share knowledge is just for people to ask for review. Also there is no moderation about the reviews, I had a lot on reviews just saying "good"or well done". I expected at least the final course would be checked. One thing that made me waste time is that for 3 times I had to go to chat with us to ask to unlock my course, I didnt do that I would have to wait more than a week for star the new week and I had the impression is an impressiona that coursera make this to make us spend more time on the plataform.

por Laurensia L S

Sep 24, 2019

The assignments are really fun and put the videos into practice very efficiently! The only thing that troubles me is sometimes the "design language" is too unfamiliar for beginners.

por Naomi M H

Oct 13, 2019

Great methods for development.

por Penny L

Oct 26, 2019

Good assignments. Really learned something from this course. However, I found the requirement of some assignments might be a bit misleading and I often see other students work not following requirements.

por sayed k n

Dec 18, 2018

good course but need a lil more resource. thank you

por Raquel Z W

Nov 13, 2017

The content of this module is good, however I think It's very complicated to depend on student's reviews only.

por Vivian F

Jan 12, 2018

课程的内容不太具体,在这个专项课程里算是有点薄弱的一节

por P Z C

Jun 02, 2017

This course has lots of similarities as in Foundamental graphics design and I expected more after I started to pay for the course. Feel that many students are confused about the assignment and I don't feel students are taken good care of in time. But I appreciate that classmates are trying to help eath other.

por Seth B

Dec 04, 2016

Would have liked to have more assignments and content on imagemaking rather than a focus on making a book. I feel like I got just as much imagemaking experience from the intro to graphic design course offered by Cal Arts.

por Alice H

May 09, 2017

The progression of this course was not as comprehensive as the others in the Graphic Design Specialization series. We went from finding images online one week to creating handmade artwork the next. It would be more helpful for the instructor to build more of the work for the final assignment into the previous weeks.