Chevron Left
Volver a Julia Scientific Programming

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Julia Scientific Programming por parte de Universidad de Ciudad del Cabo

4.5
184 calificaciones
61 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This four-module course introduces users to Julia as a first language. Julia is a high-level, high-performance dynamic programming language developed specifically for scientific computing. This language will be particularly useful for applications in physics, chemistry, astronomy, engineering, data science, bioinformatics and many more. As open source software, you will always have it available throughout your working life. It can also be used from the command line, program files or a new type of interface known as a Jupyter notebook (which is freely available as a service from JuliaBox.com). Julia is designed to address the requirements of high-performance numerical and scientific computing while also being effective for general-purpose programming. You will be able to access all the available processors and memory, scrape data from anywhere on the web, and have it always accessible through any device you care to use as long as it has a browser. Join us to discover new computing possibilities. Let's get started on learning Julia. By the end of the course you will be able to: - Programme using the Julia language by practising through assignments - Write your own simple Julia programs from scratch - Understand the advantages and capacities of Julia as a computing language - Work in Jupyter notebooks using the Julia language - Use various Julia packages such as Plots, DataFrames and Stats The course is delivered through video lectures, on-screen demonstrations, quizzes and practical peer-reviewed projects designed to give you an opportunity to work with the packages....

Principales revisiones

SP

Jan 27, 2018

Excellent, engaging teaching that makes me want to use Julia language (and Jupyter notebooks) all the time. As the language evolves, you need to adjust to newer Julia versions - just a part of fun.

SK

Sep 15, 2019

Amazing course! I learned a lot during this course. The assignments made me improve my coding skills and the questions were challenging enough. The instructors are engaging and innovative!

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 57 revisiones para Julia Scientific Programming

por Antonio P

May 07, 2018

Great course!

por Mark L

Aug 27, 2017

This is an excellent introduction to the Julia language. My only complaint is that the course was written when Julia 0.4.6 was the standard, so when I used the current Julia 0.6.0 some of the instructor-provided code contained deprecated functions, or did not run at all, requiring a trip to the Julia API to find the currently-used syntax. But this course is still very good in spite of the dated code.

por Shaun C

Apr 04, 2017

Julia is a great language to learn. It is fast! Julia is my future core language.

por Roberto P G J

May 06, 2017

Very good for beginner

por Arshpreet s

Nov 15, 2017

Amazing Explanation, in-Depth and concise, Well taught course, Loved the Julia Programming and it's inbuilt functions.

por 林胜义

Dec 07, 2017

本来对Julia一无所知,现在可以用Juila来一些数据处理,实现自己的一些想法,处理一些繁杂的数据,真正学到了一项技能

por Ηλίας Τ

Nov 17, 2016

This course was very interesting and well planned. The course material is clear and comprehensive. As for the instructors, they demonstrated experience and deep knowledge in Julia ana statistical software, proving their success for this course. I am certainly going to make Julia one of my main tools.

por Ian W

Apr 09, 2019

Very well designed and organized. Had a lot of fun learning with this course!

por Fernando C

Jul 15, 2019

good course. But its needed more on Julia.. more content, more chanllenge

por NINAD K

Jul 21, 2019

AMAZING INTRODUCTORY COURSE, COVERS MOST OF THE BASICS OF SCIENTIFIC PROGRAMMING.

por Александр В

Aug 17, 2019

This is a great introductory course for getting acquainted with the Julia programming language and its many data science applications. However, the curriculum is too easy for someone with a prior DS background or knowledge of other language such as Python. It's interesting to see how similar tasks such as array manipulation and data visualization are done in Julia, but for a better command of the language, I recommend that one examine other available literature in addition to this course.

por Shruti K

Sep 15, 2019

Amazing course! I learned a lot during this course. The assignments made me improve my coding skills and the questions were challenging enough. The instructors are engaging and innovative!

por YinpuLi

Jan 20, 2019

It is very simple to get hands on with examples and practice quizzes. However, it will be so much better if updated with Julia v. 1.0+.

por João V d P

Mar 05, 2019

Curso muito bom, no entanto, falta atualização para Julia 1.0

por Leonel M

Mar 21, 2019

Good Course

por Abdullah D

Feb 28, 2018

Good course with good content. I didn't like so much the grading with peer review, as it delayed my completion of the course. Nevertheless, a good course.

por Jonathan K

May 21, 2018

Good introduction to basic julia.

por Nuno G

Apr 06, 2018

I found this a great introductory course on Julia for scientists. I specially loved the classes about data frames, user-defined types, and the Gadfly package.

The course needs to be updated, though, videos, exercises and Julia notebooks. Nothing too serious, yet, but some of the contents need to be reviewed in face of the current development status of Julia.

I am looking forward to see a course on data science with Julia.

por Peter D

May 13, 2018

Nice introduction into Julia. The content is well structured and provides enough details so you can write your own (basic) data science routines in Julia. I also liked the Ebola use-case and to learn about modelling such an outbreak.

Personally I would prefer more videos about some of the more advanced language features and less about plotting libraries and the likes. But I guess that really depends what you are looking for.

Overall a highly recommended course.

por Saikat M

Mar 13, 2017

Good introductory course - but assignments can be made more interesting with actual problems in scientific areas or basic algorithms instead of command knowledge testing.

por Mingxin H

Feb 02, 2017

This course is more like a lesson for data science, most of them are organized for plotting curve and making diagrams. This is good. But I was expected a more detailed lesson toward Julia itself.

por Raúl

Nov 21, 2016

Good and enthusiastic teachers. I found the difficulty a bit too easy but it was a good introductory course and I was new to Julia, so it served its purpose.

por Rickard B

Jun 24, 2017

The course started out well wit goof balance between lectures and applications during the first three weeks. Towards the end it felt rushed with too much content crammed into the last week.

por Kartikay K

Jun 28, 2019

It was a fine course with good lessons.

por Niclas F S

Aug 15, 2019

Very good introductory course! However, due to recent developments in the Julia language, some functions used in the Honors Content in Week 4 are deprecated and should be updated.