Chevron Left
Volver a Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential por parte de Universidad McMaster

4.8
estrellas
10,782 calificaciones
3,140 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Principales reseñas

SM
21 de jun. de 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

EC
26 de ago. de 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 3,121 revisiones para Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

por Margarita G S

7 de may. de 2020

A very comprehensive course with plenty of advice and strategies to learn better and pursue our dreams in a more effective way. The videos are interesting and funny, there are plenty of mini tests and mini forums to test our knowledge and Barb and Terry have put their passion into this course just as much as in Learning to Learn. I highly recommend you take it, it's worth every second.

por Thomas S

19 de may. de 2017

Very inspiring and motivating MOOC by Barbara Oakley and Terrence Sejnowski. They provide clean lessons in a structured and appealing way. I liked the quizzes, the integration of entries (essays) to the discussion forum. I learned a lot while having fun with this extraordinary course. Finally I want to mention the natural, but fundamental way both Barbara and Terrence teach the course.

por Julián J

10 de may. de 2017

I loved this MOOC, although I had to travel to a place with no internet connection during more than half of it. Barb, thanks for your work. Next time, I'd love to learn more tips about how to TEACH. It happens that I find myself often in a teacher role, either formally or informally, and I need to learn how to make my teaching more impactful (without creating a MOOC for the matter).

por Eunice C S Q

29 de abr. de 2020

Best course that I've ever attended. Presenters and materials are very interactive that makes it more interesting to learn.

After taking this course, I've start to compare with other courses on how they teach the course. It's either only showing the presenter face while they talk, or only showing the slides and the presenter talks.

Mindshift is a must take as it is very interesting. .

por Eliseo M

16 de mar. de 2018

Alright learned so much! I love these instructors! They have literally changed my outlook on life and how I can accomplish so much if I can figure out how to do it! You're not limited to your beliefs if you don't want to be. Change your mindset for a fixed mindset to a growth mindset and you'll enjoy life so much more I promise. Thank you Dr.Terry and Dr. Oakley

---Eliseo Magallon

por Bappaditya D

28 de jun. de 2020

This is a great course for people who thinks that they are slow learners, cannot remember easily, have doubt on many things. It shows that those are actually advantage for learning new things. It encourages to take new challenges everyday. The concept Pomodoro I particularly liked. It is helpful to bring people back into action rather than wasting time in destructing activities.

por Brandon S

20 de jun. de 2020

Hi, Coursera! Thanks for this very informative course. Would like to ask to kindly update my certificate on this course. I was able to complete and passed the honor code assignments. But it seems that the provided certificate for me has no honor code banner on it. I look forward for your positive and prompt action on this request. Thank you and more power! - Brandon Sibbaluca

por Yemao

7 de jun. de 2020

The best course that I have ever take on coursera (except the one taught by Andrew Ng on Machine Learning). Babara is such a nice teacher that she not only teaches you how to understand yourself and see your potential, but also provide you means and approaches to develop in a long term. Mindshifting is life-long journey, the same as learning. Strongly recommended to everyone!

por Zach L

23 de abr. de 2020

Absolutely excellent and helpful foundational course for learning. Better coverage and production than the Learning How to Learn course (though that is also pretty good).

I would recommend this to anyone looking to restart or augment their learning, especially for those who plan on taking MOOCs or other online courses related to their current field or secondary skill fields.

por Safwa M

9 de mar. de 2019

this course has many impacts on me and my mind in a very impressive way . from adopting the concept of broaden my passions instead of following them blindly till the idea of being flexible and to accept the changes around me. another that i had learned from this course is how to learn from the past and how to try to improve yourself whenever the train of life has to stop.

por Massimiliano M

25 de abr. de 2020

The Mindshift course is a very interesting and well done course.

Easy to follow, not at all boring, on the contrary all the teachings, even if some of them basic yet all fundamentals, are made more compelling and easy to understand and remember.

For sure I'll read the book of the lecturer: Mindshift, which has inspired this MOOC and which is recommended reading as well.

por Fidel V H

22 de abr. de 2020

This is an excellent course that teaches you how to mind shift from the actual stuck a career where you aren't feeling comfortable the best strategies for tackling procrastination, bringing creative new perspectives and approaches to your discipline through the metaphors that will naturally develop in your mind, as you are going to find out through this excellent course.

por Lourdes N

8 de dic. de 2019

I noticed a significant difference in my learning from this course, it was as if my brain increased performance and the ability to produce new ideas. I understood the best way of learning and greatly improved the way I study. I am very grateful to the teachers and other professionals who shared their experiences so that we could fully understand the concepts presented.

por Ana K d C S d L

24 de sep. de 2017

Excellent, well researched ,engaging, action oriented Mooc. It has the right balance of information, good quiality videos, well thought out quizzes and helpful activities to promote long term learning and attitude change. Great for starting a career change , broadening your horizon or starting a new learning lifestyle. Thank you very much, Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski!

por Bernardo C

22 de jun. de 2020

The course capitalized on what was previously learned in the Learning How to Learn course with added emphasis on the ability for those who are willing to be able to shift their mindset. The analogies are easy to understand and apply. I would highly recommend for anyone currently looking for proven and effective methods on how to mind shift and confidently tackle that

por Suporn P

27 de abr. de 2020

This is the first MOOC course that engaged me throughout the entire journey and I was able to complete the course within a week. The instructor introduces interesting concepts that are useful for breaking through obstacles in learning, uses simple words to explain complex concepts, and reiterates the concepts with small quiz throughout the course. Highly recommended.

por Nicole M

7 de jul. de 2017

I LOVED this course. Each week I learned something new. The insights and additional resources help jumpstart my motivation. The course started at an ideal point in my learning. Since taking the course I have seen improvement in my study habits and I have the tools and resources for when my motivation is at a low point. I can't wait to see a continuation for Mindshift

por Zhao L

13 de jul. de 2020

This MOOC comes up with some interesting ideas about learning, not just academically, but in a more general way. Those ideas give me a lot of insights, and help me rethink and adjust my way of study. The most attracing thing of this MOOC is that the lecturer is energetic, aloquent, and always putting a smile on her face, which makes learners feel good and positve.

por Lucía A R G

4 de jun. de 2020

Thins course chance my life in all. In the past I don't value my abilities and my past. My last works I don't value too and I don't prove new things because I have negative thoughts, or I thought it is inconsistent! . So, I started to make chance with this course. I apply the tecniques and use the tools. And I have positive results. I recommend taking this course

por Stephen G

5 de jun. de 2017

Another well presented MOOC by Barb. It exposes and breaks down learning difficulties that are personal, common and not generally given definitive answers and simplifies responses that capture complex concepts.

If you are looking to take on a MOOC on a foreign subject or subject that you are not that passionate about (yet), this would be a good MOOC to take first.

por Sarah s

14 de abr. de 2020

one of the best courses i have ever taken

makes your mind blow !!

highly recommended

. . . . . . . . .. . .. . .. . . .. . .. . . . . . . .... .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . .. . . .. . .. .. . .. . . .. . . . .. . . .. . . . .. .. . . . . . . .. . . . . . .. . . . .. . . . ... . . ... . ... . . .. . . .. . . .. . . .. . . . . .. . . .. . . . .. .

por Christopher G

29 de abr. de 2020

Loved this MOOC. Second best after Learning How to Learn (which is the first part in this series). If you liked/loved that MOOC, you will love this MOOC too. It builds on concepts established in that one and adds a little bit more. I have experienced a mindshift while taking this course and you will too as long as you are paying attention and have an open mind!

por Anel O

1 de may. de 2017

Barbara and her team are amazing. I can relate so much to many examples given in this course from how we can feel when learning something new to how we can refrain a stressful feeling to keep going with a positive learning experience. I highly recommend this course to gain confidence in our abilities and keep our brains fresh to learn how to learn new skills.

por Nikhil P

24 de ago. de 2019

This course and its predecessor (LHTL) teaches one, invaluable techniques to improve learning and remember for a longer duration and be more creative. These techniques can be implemented in our daily lives very easily and makes us more confident and helps us to overcome our fears and sense of inadequacy due to poor memory retention or poor learning technique.

por Wd B

3 de ene. de 2021

A useful and valuable course. The MindShift presentation was insightful and reconfirmed that a path to life-long learning is ok in my older years. Bob and Terry captivated my attention and guided me to reframe my approach to learning. This presentation should be taught as a career development course to help students navigate their current and future learning.