Chevron Left
Volver a Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.8
estrellas
831 calificaciones
197 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Most professions these days require more than general intelligence. They require in addition the ability to collect, analyze and think about data. Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice. This course presents basic concepts from statistics, probability, scientific methodology, cognitive psychology and cost-benefit theory and shows how they can be applied to everything from picking one product over another to critiquing media accounts of scientific research. Concepts are defined briefly and breezily and then applied to many examples drawn from business, the media and everyday life. What kinds of things will you learn? Why it’s usually a mistake to interview people for a job. Why it’s highly unlikely that, if your first meal in a new restaurant is excellent, you will find the next meal to be as good. Why economists regularly walk out of movies and leave restaurant food uneaten. Why getting your picture on the cover of Sports Illustrated usually means your next season is going to be a disappointment. Why you might not have a disease even though you’ve tested positive for it. Why you’re never going to know how coffee affects you unless you conduct an experiment in which you flip a coin to determine whether you will have coffee on a given day. Why it might be a mistake to use an office in a building you own as opposed to having your office in someone else’s building. Why you should never keep a stock that’s going down in hopes that it will go back up and prevent you from losing any of your initial investment. Why it is that a great deal of health information presented in the media is misinformation....

Principales reseñas

JM

Jul 29, 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

MK

Apr 08, 2020

Anyone beginner can take this course and be 100 times more understanding of information via any media while also perhaps understanding what is the best choice in some give scenario IRL.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 195 revisiones para Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

por Travis J

Sep 13, 2018

A pretty crucial look at the common fallacies and biases that influence the way we absorb information. This is highly recommended to all people.

por David A Q A

Jul 04, 2018

A Clear and Useful course to be a Better Decision Maker. Do you need something else? What you waiting for? Take course it's more than a nudge.

por Mark P

Sep 20, 2019

This has been most excellent.

I found the baserate false alarm rate examples particularly useful and am inspired to use this in a new context

por Paul K

May 28, 2019

Superb. Being able to (begin to) see cognitive biases and errors daily--and realizing that everyone makes many--is enlightening and humbling.

por Sunita A

May 14, 2018

The activities and lectures were really interesting. This is the first course that i started and completed on Coursera. So I'm super excited.

por Sofia G

Jul 21, 2017

I really love the course, and I have recommended it to all my friends. The course helped me to think more clearly and avoid cognitive biases.

por Sergey L

May 11, 2020

Brilliant! I constantly felt a great emotional uplift during this course and I am very grateful to Mr. Nisbett for everything that I learned

por Segizbay A

Jul 31, 2020

Very informative. Thank you! I would want to come back to this course's lectures from time to time to refresh my knowledge. It is worth it!

por Gianluca A

May 15, 2017

This course is really helpful to start thinking in a critical way.

It open your mind to a new kind of reasoning, a right kind of reasoning.

por Haoming L

Nov 25, 2019

Useful course! Dr. Nisbett will quote many cases and examples to help you better understand many interesting concepts and phenomenons.

por Christos G

Sep 06, 2017

Excellent collection of mistakes we make during decision making and logical reasoning. A valuable companion for the rest of your life.

por Vijay S

Jul 20, 2020

Great Course

Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice.

por Noemi G

Mar 24, 2020

I loved every part of this course. Enlightening and easy to follow even for people who never or almost never studied these subjects.

por Anand G

Jun 13, 2017

Great course. liked the content as it will help in making decision and understand, analyze situations problem in much better light.

por Prisanti P

Oct 16, 2020

It's a great course suitable for everyone. The course is often bite-sized and interesting, making you want to learn more and more.

por Steven B

Apr 28, 2019

The course was very informative and paced just right. It was a light introduction to a lot of concepts that all tied together

por Ameer U A K

May 05, 2020

An excellent course. A handy worksheet like describing all the principles and a small definition of them would be great too!

por Justin C

Apr 21, 2020

Clear lecturing and interesting tests, definitely recommend anyone who would want to think better and make better decisions

por Frank F

Jun 03, 2020

One of the most interesting courses I have ever taken. It will change the way you read every news article and work report.

por Md R K

Sep 18, 2020

This is my first course on Cousera, Richard Nisbett is amazing with his course. It's been amazing learning with him.

por Leonardo A

Apr 09, 2017

This is exactly what I needed in my field of work. Have been looking for this for several years and glad I found it.

por Oleksandr O

Sep 14, 2018

Excellent course! The 6th lesson was quite difficult to get it, but others are awesome. Thank you so much!

por Javier M

Jul 01, 2020

Everyone should get this course. It's like knowing how to read and write. I must for every human being.

por Melchor S M

Jun 05, 2019

Excellent course, the explanations by Dr. Nisbett were very clear and engaging. Highly recommended!