Chevron Left
Volver a The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 por parte de Universidad de Virginia

4.8
estrellas
906 calificaciones
241 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

Principales revisiones

MN

Sep 24, 2017

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

RM

Dec 08, 2016

This course is enlightening in so many ways. This course not only answers the "What" about history, but also "Why", "Why not" and the overall perception, feelings of people of each era being taught.

Filtrar por:

226 - 241 de 241 revisiones para The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

por christophe s

May 18, 2016

Excellent course, simply.

por Nishant S

Nov 23, 2016

Worth your time !

por Jon G

Aug 06, 2017

Very informative

por Karla S C S

Mar 01, 2018

Muy interesante

por Brianna Z J

Oct 11, 2015

A

por Uliana B

May 05, 2020

On the one hand, I really appreciated this course. Prof. Zelikow and his team created an extradionary course and did enormous work. Despite the fact that I studied history at university, I discovered many new facts. What I really liked that there was a lot of information about colonial possessions and government. On the other hand, I was disappointed that the history of America prevailed. This course is called "The Modern World" and I would like to know equally about different countries. I still have an impression that the USA is often presented as a "hero". I don`t agree with the presentation of the Soviet Union. Being a Russian historian I can say that there are many documents in archives (not only in Russia, but in England for exmple) that may disprove some arguments given in this course. I was a bit shocked and sad when I didn`t hear anything about the the Soviet liberation of Europe and the German Instrument of Surrender between the USSR and Germany. I also can`t agree with the fact that the Soviet Union won the war only thanks to American supplies (land-lease). There is one more fact that I didn`t like: the Soviet famine of 1932-1933 was only in Ukraine. It incuded a lot more territory - Volga region, Kazakhstan, Nothern Caucasus... And I don`t agree that the Soviet Union was responsible almost for everything and made suffer all the Socialist Bloc. I would like to comment the Cuban Missile Crisis also. I totally disagree that it was the Soviet Union`s fault. The crisis actually occured not only because of the Soviet Union but also because America placed its missiles in Turkey in 1961. I hope that one day the Soviet Union won`t be presented only in a negative light and historical studies studies will include more archival documents.

por Adam U

Apr 15, 2020

I find it hard if not impossible to learn in prof. Zelikow's courses for this reason: his explanations are too general.

por Johann Q

Sep 02, 2015

We need less lectures and more application based courses.

por Evangelia A

Nov 21, 2015

Very few o no information about the Latin America

por Karthik N

Mar 02, 2019

The lecturer was slightly monotonous and really has missed out on key factors such as Weimar Republic etc in this course. Moreover, the course seems very opinionated and ends of the wars seems to be just glossed over into economic terms rather than historic facts. Battle of Okinawa, death of Hitler, battle of somme and verdun seem like key parts not tackled efficiently. Quizzes rely too much on rote knowledge and the lecturer's opinion rather than what one should take away from the presentations. Also, coming from India and also having stayed for long in the Middle East, the entire picture given by the lecturer of these regions seem to be quite flawed as the picture is very narrow.

por Basel

Mar 22, 2016

Might be an instructive course but the guy who presents it is really creepy. And knowing he was involved in the official 9/11 report makes him hard to believe on any issue.

por Mohit T

Sep 08, 2019

auditors have to pay to see the answers of the quiz, I think the questions are stupid and we wont find out how they are unless we participate in the quiz.

por Sergiu L

Apr 27, 2016

Great course, but it's misleading. doesn't tell you from the start that you have to pay for it.

por Edmund B

Jun 09, 2016

For pay quiz feedback is not part of the MOOC education movement.

por ibrahim A T

Nov 20, 2016

a little propagandist, but interesting with that in mind

por Ibrahim S A L R

Feb 20, 2020

Hard Quizzes