Chevron Left
Volver a Moral Foundations of Politics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Moral Foundations of Politics por parte de Universidad de Yale

4.9
estrellas
4,818 calificaciones
939 reseña

Acerca del Curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Principales reseñas

SS
1 de jul. de 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS
16 de sep. de 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 932 revisiones para Moral Foundations of Politics

por Κεχαγιάς Σ

19 de ene. de 2021

It was an excellent course. The structure and the professor made it so interesting. The content was on point and it was very engaging. Looking forward to many more courses like that!

por Charuta G

30 de may. de 2020

It's been highly educational, more so because I'm a history student. Studying these traditions provided a philosophical and theoretical backbone to a lot of my education in history.

por Sanja J

27 de nov. de 2018

It is an excellent course. I personally recommend it for those who want to get an essential view on the topic. An interactive course, which for me is indispensable when e-learning.

por Karina L

16 de may. de 2020

Professor Shapiro is the teacher you've always dreamed of, that is capable to make every concept understandable and makes you to want keep studyng to understand better the world.

por Andres C E

17 de oct. de 2016

Great course, some weeks are loaded with lots of material so can be hard to keep proper track.

Prof. Shapiro 's lectures are clear and easy to understand.

I recommend this course.

por Цой В В

27 de sep. de 2020

One of the most important and interesting courses I have ever had. Very structured and entertaining for those who want to know more about politics. Thank you for a great course

por Vianis J F R

31 de may. de 2020

I loved the course and I am very satisfied because I understood the perspectives of theoretical thinkers and their evolution in the moral of politics until today. Thank you!!!!

por Nguyen H P U

16 de sep. de 2020

The readings and lectures were so informative and the professor is able to explain difficult concepts in such simple terms that it made the course very digestible. Thank you!

por Franziska M

10 de ene. de 2021

Thank you so much for this very interesting course. Prof Shapiro and the students made an awesome job. I really enjoyed it and will recommend it to friends and co-students.

por Aakash C

12 de mar. de 2016

It is a pleasure to see the way Prof. Shapiro connect the different ideas in this course. And the best part is you can apply these ideas to understand the world around you.

por Pajtim

28 de nov. de 2015

This course was extraordinary well presented. It dealt with important theories and political philosophers and helped me a lot in deepening my overall understanding of them.

por Mauro F

29 de ago. de 2015

Truly an honor to be taught by professor Shapiro, who, with a very precise methodology, was able to pass through major political theories of modern era. Highly recommended!

por tzintli v

21 de sep. de 2020

Recomiendo ampliamente el curso. El profesor Shaphiro te guía de manera fácil a los temas complejos, haciendo accesible el conocimiento y con ejemplos fáciles de entender!

por Lerato Z

30 de dic. de 2020

The course was Great MR Ian was more complex and on point when coming to explain every theory ,I understood everything.Thank you this was very informative and educational

por Lucas E

30 de may. de 2021

Amazing experience! Professor Shapiro has his own way to build the knowledge. The method is great, like a great conversation between a professor and students. Thank you.

por James R B

27 de jul. de 2019

Professor Shapiro posed some very challenging questions during his lectures. He knows his material extremely well. I liked the course structure and learned a great deal.

por Артемий С

30 de nov. de 2020

ПОзанимался с кайфом. Большое Спасибо Ланко Дмитрию Александровичу за предоставленную возможность изучить материал. НАдеюсь, будет возможность приобрести и другие курсы

por Voldy I W Z

29 de jul. de 2020

Interesante, aprendí y descubrí muchas maneras de pensar de la teoría y de la filosofía política, expandiendo mis conocimientos que tenia hasta ahora, muy gratificante.

por Shaka A O

14 de jul. de 2020

THIS COURSE GAVE ME A LOT OF ENLIGHTMENT ON THE MORAL ASPECT OF POLITICS. I DEEPLY APPRECIATE THE RANGE OF ARGUMENTS FOR AND AGAINST IDEAS IN THIS COURSE.

THANK YOU.

por Jairo G P

3 de mar. de 2019

O professor é incrível. Suas explicações são claras e sua críticas são acertadíssimas. Parabéns Yale e Coursera, por nos proporcionar esse curso maravilhoso. Adorando!

por Gregor I

31 de ago. de 2020

Great course! For all people interested in the intersection of economics, politics and philosophy, enjoy Prof. Shapiro's impressive knowledge and clearity of thought.

por EMG

5 de nov. de 2019

I just started this class. It is absolutely excellent! Thank you, all, for making this class available. Above all, thank you, professor Shapiro. Excellent course!

por MARIA A M O

30 de mar. de 2017

The vision of Enlightenment that Professor Shapiro offers is interesting to understand why Democracy comes in waves and the dynamics between Capitalism and Socialism

por Elgenia W

10 de oct. de 2020

Interesting! Professor was very well-read in his field. Learning curve might be steep for students without a political science background but enjoyable nonetheless!