Chevron Left
Volver a Building Your Career in Music: Developing A Brand and Funding Your Music

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Building Your Career in Music: Developing A Brand and Funding Your Music por parte de Berklee College of Music

4.5
estrellas
246 calificaciones
48 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course shares practical tips and strategies to help you take your first step into launching your career as a musical artist. We’ll cover everything from developing your unique identity as an artist and how to lead a band all the way to planning and recording your first independent record with the help of crowdfunding. The course curriculum is modeled from the real-world experience of Leah Waldo (also known as the emerging country artist, Elisa Smith) and features interviews with industry executives, artists, producers, and engineers — all designed to help you navigate the music industry....

Principales revisiones

ZV

Mar 21, 2018

Are you missing pieces in your music business understanding? Eliza does a fantastic job of breaking it down to simple concepts, and connecting it all to your dream.

DM

Nov 07, 2019

Gives you a pathway to better your band and marketing skills and make a good impression to your audience and potential clients.

Filtrar por:

26 - 47 de 47 revisiones para Building Your Career in Music: Developing A Brand and Funding Your Music

por Josue P

Jan 18, 2020

Awesome course! very important info.

por Vincent W

Feb 16, 2019

Good luck on your career!

por Lauren H

Nov 29, 2017

Extremely helpful.

por Félix C

May 25, 2020

EXCELENTE CURSO!

por Mauricio G Z

Jul 01, 2020

Just Love it!

por Maria P D

May 02, 2020

Amazing!!

por Favour I

Apr 18, 2020

Excellent

por Eddie S

Apr 22, 2019

very good

por Brett M H

Aug 14, 2018

I really love this course and think Leah Waldo's perspective as a musician is vital to understanding how to navigate the music business. I feel like this is part of Course 4 mixed with an actual musician's experience and guidance. It was really nice to feel like Leah understood that everything she was teaching was just a reflection of herself and her own experiences. I really appreciated this course even though she is a country music performer and I create beats - I felt like she cut through a lot of the crap that I might face as just a random student/musician in this course. As a producer, I felt like I was able to learn so much valuable information about how I need to navigate the music business even though I might be unaccustomed to that point of view. It made me think differently, and also allowed me to connect with a different genre of music. Leah was really good at emphasizing that the IVI is important to an artist and I think that translates to anyone trying to do something creative so it was one lesson that I pulled out of the whole course and can apply to almost anything creative. Learning about networking was also vital in teaching me about how I can extend my social sphere and try to reach out to my audience on a small and larger level.

por Andrew A

Apr 09, 2020

It was ok. Good to get some practice to help students I teach. The final project asks you to pick one component in the initial description, then expects you have done all components after you have submitted the project... so that was less good. This course is done from the perspective of an artist, with only industry people the artist has worked with being brought in. If you want the industry insider (producer, marketer, social media expert) experience, this is not it.

por James N

Jun 22, 2020

This is useful for those who need guidance on artist identity and vision and is new to the process of recording, collaborating, producers, setting article goals and the business side of working as an artist. This doesn't go massively into the detail one would want from a more experienced angle, but I enjoyed this reliably less-intensive Berklee course.

por LeAttol ( E L

Jan 08, 2018

This course seems silly at first But it's an eye opener, Especially to the idea that the business seems a bit off kilter and over enthusiastic

por Dan C

Jul 27, 2018

This is a good course. I really appreciated used her personal experience as a living case study to teach and demonstrate the material.

por Abu S M F

Jun 15, 2020

You get to know a lot about crowdfunding, would like more in-depth methods and mechanics

por AADIL K

Jul 01, 2020

Great course

por Elihú R M

Jan 23, 2019

Esta bueno el curso; sin embargo, tiene algunos errores como la entrega final.

por Eileen

May 21, 2020

This course is good for someone who is just starting out in their artist journey and is geared for someone who is a vocalist who is also a band leader. The budgeting and networking tips are very rudimentary and could have been left out, in my opinion, in place of more artist-relevant things - there are much better resources out there for learning these skills. The thesis in the first week about not seeing the "business" side of your artistic endeavors as a chore that is separate from your creative side as well as making sure you have a cohesive "elevator pitch" that shows your identity, vision and intention was good. Unfortunately, it was all downhill from there.

por ASHNA G

Jul 05, 2020

Good course i wish it should have social media tips to build brand in music instagram

por Mohammad K H

Jun 02, 2020

The full course is boring,.The total course is based and focused on the lecturar.

por Brianna S

Jun 29, 2020

I hate to give such a negative review, but I think this course is an absolute waste of time. First off, this is in the music business specialization on Coursera, however this course is really made for artists and not managers (like myself) or anyone else in the music field. In addition, the course is basically making you follow the steps that Leah did in her career, but when I researched her band I found that they are not successful in the slightest. Therefore this kind of invalidates the course as a whole.

por Kaitlyn C

Apr 27, 2020

I'm taking the Music Business Specialization to learn more about the music industry and hopefully get information on artist management. This course is for musicians or bands and the prompts and final project focus directly on what to do as an artist. I found it very difficult to take this course and to answer the discussion questions not being a musician.

por Maxwell J

May 11, 2020

Gives almost no information about anything, the instructor feels like she's trying to sell me her album in like half the videos/readings, and the course can be completed extremely quickly.