Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Philosophy

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Philosophy por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.7
estrellas
6,436 calificaciones
1,509 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Principales reseñas

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

Filtrar por:

1301 - 1325 de 1,496 revisiones para Introduction to Philosophy

por Aaron P

Jul 30, 2017

I loved this. Very interesting and learned a lot. Loved the teaching. Wish I could have moreover like this

por Amir H

Mar 26, 2020

good amount of topics but a bit too short on each one of them, wouldve liked more full wave on each topic

por Alexander A

Aug 22, 2018

very detailed and great for someone interested in the subject but very long too hard to remember it all.

por Alessandra C

Dec 24, 2017

Hay algunos vídeos que no tienen subtitulo en español, por lo demás, muy interesante los temas elegidos.

por América A L

Sep 30, 2015

no tengo complicaciones para reproduccir los videos, solo me gusta trabajo averiguar lo del certificado

por David M

Nov 05, 2016

Muy útil, estoy aprendiendo demasiado aunque me gustaría que las preguntas fueran también en español.

por Malena L V

Nov 22, 2015

Very interesting ... from the beginning, the teacher shows the pupils, to open mind and think better

por Shaun T

May 10, 2020

It is very interesting, but very complex and abstract concepts. Sometimes it's quite hard to grasp.

por luis c

May 29, 2017

Muy bueno. Lo único que me complicó es que hay partes del curso no tenía los subtítulos en español.

por Joseph R

Apr 16, 2019

Offers good resources for further research and learning. Would definitely recommend based on that.

por Prabhakaran K

Nov 11, 2017

A Great introductory course for Philosophy.

Thanks to all the instructors and people responsible.

por Axel L

Feb 29, 2016

A very clear discription to the basics of philosophy - I am happy that I have joined the course!

por oscar d d c

Nov 18, 2017

es un muy buen curso los profesores explican muy bien lo temas y es mas fácil de comprendedlos

por Thirza v K

Sep 13, 2017

Interesting course with interesting topics. I learned several new ways of looking at the world.

por Lyn A

Jun 23, 2017

Not really for absolute beginners like me, but it was very informative and easy to understand.

por Дубова Д Д

May 17, 2020

i liked lectures and materials, but it's a pity that not in all lessons there is a handout((

por Cid N K

Aug 31, 2020

Good course with plenty indication of additional resources if you would like to go further.

por 天决明

Jun 04, 2017

课程内容不错,可是翻译真的是烂透了,我将机翻和翻译摆在一起完全没有违和感!极大部分还会重复两边!

在语言上浪费不少时间,不少内容是翻阅中文维基百科的资料了解的,因为不知道翻译说了什么。

por Jestor

Sep 23, 2016

Interesting, and well worth my time... I only give it four stars as I am kinda stingy.. ;)

por Mygan A

Mar 15, 2016

Very informative and engaging. Covers a wide range of material without feeling cumbersome.

por Etienne k

Jun 02, 2020

it an excellent course. i learn a lot about philosophy. and i will continue do my lecture

por Lynn P

Oct 28, 2015

I was very impressed by how the subject was broken down into digestible bits. Well done.

por dafna t

Nov 01, 2019

Really great lectures on varying topics. The lessons were clear and easy to understand.

por Iwo L

Jan 16, 2017

Never thought I would be interested in philosophy - that was the start of my adventure.

por Rongsentemsu

Jun 27, 2018

Overall a really nice introduction to the subject of Philosophy for beginners like me.