Chevron Left
Volver a Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project por parte de Google

4.8
estrellas
13,273 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

This is the second course in the Google Project Management Certificate program. This course will show you how to set a project up for success in the first phase of the project life cycle: the project initiation phase. In exploring the key components of this phase, you’ll learn how to define and manage project goals, deliverables, scope, and success criteria. You’ll discover how to use tools and templates like stakeholder analysis grids and project charters to help you set project expectations and communicate roles and responsibilities. Current Google project managers will continue to instruct and provide you with hands-on approaches for accomplishing these tasks while showing you the best project management tools and resources for the job at hand. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Understand the significance of the project initiation phase of the project life cycle. - Describe the key components of the project initiation phase. - Determine a project’s benefits and costs. - Define and create measurable project goals and deliverables. - Define project scope and differentiate among tasks that are in-scope and out-of-scope. - Understand how to manage scope creep to avoid impacting project goals. - Define and measure a project’s success criteria. - Complete a stakeholder analysis and explain its significance. - Utilize RACI charts to define and communicate project team member responsibilities. - Understand the key components of project charters and develop a project charter for project initiation. - Evaluate various project management tools to meet project needs....

Principales reseñas

AA

14 de feb. de 2022

This has been a good learning experience. I now know the different project management tools available. I have a good understanding of project initiation and how to determine the success of a project.

MG

7 de feb. de 2022

everything is excellent. but i am facing the problem that says 'upgrade to submit' when i traied to submit the peer graded assignment. and it is been 3 weeks i stucked on this module. please help me.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 2,890 revisiones para Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project

por Luiz F M

21 de mar. de 2021

Very good! It provides tools and concepts to start a project in the right way!

por Hannie N

28 de dic. de 2022

Though I like the concepts and information that this course provided, I personally think that some quizzes were irritatingly confusing to learners.

For example, in one quiz, we were asked to choose between "impact" & "influence". I know these terms are different to some extent, they still have some similar aspects (i.e, power). The options for multiple choice quizzes should be improved for learners to better understand concept rather than to trick them, especially when these quizzes are not for grading.

Another example of confusing information is "stakeholders". In a lesson, we learnt that "team members" are "primary stakeholders". However, in a final quiz, we have to choose "only stakeholders", "only team members", "team members & stakeholders", and the correct answer went to "stakeholders & team members", while the concept "stakeholders" already includes "team members".

Hopefully my inputs can help to improve the course as I do like how interactive, practical and useful it is :)

por Mária L

30 de dic. de 2022

I was so exciting to do the course. I just had difficulty- because I don't have any experience with PM-to understand what exactly the peers assignment is about and how to do it. As I saw more people got confused with the instruction.

por Soumyarup M

2 de jun. de 2022

Peer assignemnt review is not a good way at all ! We have to wait and literally have to beg for grading ! As we complete the course, we have to have our certificate. Peer reviews is not at all important at least from my point of view.

por Дорфман И Д

24 de dic. de 2022

The teacher's accent is kind of annoying

por Shxxx K

2 de ene. de 2023

The course was top. I learned a lot. it was really well done.

but after finishing two of 6 certificates I have to say that the work needed for each certificate is much MUCH more than what was written in the program.

first of all - this is a GLOBAL course!! not everyone is english native speaker!!!

readings that are expected to take 20 minutes take at least one hour for me. everything that I need to write takes much longer. I have to read things more often, listen to videos more often etc. this takes me a massive amount of time!!

all together each course should be certificated with much more than 20 hours of work and this estimation should be put down in the program. If i have to spend at least 35 hours on a certificate than I need this to be written down and appreciated

por Jessica M

27 de abr. de 2022

I completed my work and never received the peer reviews needed to complete the course. Very frustrating that my completion is based on external participants that are not invested in other classmates.

por Dijana B

17 de abr. de 2021

I do not like the fact that the assignments are reviewed and graded my the team mates! Otherwise, the the course is very informational with great insight and information.

por Cory D

16 de may. de 2021

I really do not like the peer review assignments. I put way more work into the assignments and the I am grading people with min effort material.

por Nelson N P

21 de dic. de 2022

The peer grading delayed my progress since I'm off work right

por Brianne S

2 de ago. de 2021

The primary instructor for this course came across as trying too hard to be sincere so the effect was somewhere between patronizing , insincere and fake-enthusiastic. In particular, her body language (and especially very limited facial expressions, which were thrown off by what appears to be excess use of botox, so every time she raised her eyebrows for effect, the effect was unintended), cadence of speech, and posture were unnatural. This certificate was painful to complete because it was so hard to get motivated, and the delivery of the materials and teaching were poorly designed. I truly hope the other certificates are taught better, more clearly, sincerely, and led by someone with a talent for communication, because otherwise it's going to be a chore to get through the whole certification.

por elle j

6 de abr. de 2021

Although the course talked about project management software, leaving the trials open as a do it on your own activity was not very helpful. It would have been much more helpful to have our peer graded projects actually be conducted within the software. Although I passed this course, I am still VERY unclear on which software platforms to use at what times. I would not be able to confidently say I could plan, communicate, or complete a project using any one of the software platforms mentioned in this course. I had anticipated we would be using these platforms for our assignments, but this has not been the case, and I feel completely unprepared to use these platforms in a true project management setting.

por DeAnne D

5 de ene. de 2022

The content was very good, however, the instructor YuAnn was extremely annoying. She mispronounced so many words that it became distracting and I could not watch the videos at all, instead I read the script. You really should make sure your instructors can speak clearly if they are going to teach

por Jalissa L

29 de dic. de 2022

Course was very informative. Peer review assignments require more oversight. Fellow learner was allowed to torpedo my progress because they did not understand the grading rubric. UNFAIR. Students should be allowed to challenge grades or request a third party review.

por Deryk M

13 de nov. de 2022

I'm sure this course is teaching me exactly what I need to know but for whatever reason I blew up on OKR. I went from I can do this to, I want out of here, I will never be confident enough to set goals with so little data. im out.

por Zainab E

3 de sep. de 2022

I don't agree with peer grading assignments. Because why should I pay more money just to wait for someone's review after I finished all of the course, they should at least grade it on the same day and I should get the grade on the same day too. This is the instructor's job, not the student's

por Hozaifa E

30 de dic. de 2021

The pre gradess assinments is very annoying and make me late to receive the cirtificate, you can change the method and after 1 week of supmitting shoould be marked done

por Kimberly B

21 de may. de 2021

People take the submission aspect way too seriously and if you dont pass, you have to wait and wait for a grade when you re-do it.

por Younes D

3 de mar. de 2022

Peer-graded Assignment sucks; wou need to wait for days to be approved.. complete none sense

por NGÔ T H

20 de dic. de 2022

I can't submit my essay

por Nancy C

8 de jul. de 2022

I really enjoyed this course. Even though I was an good organizer to begin with, I find the methodical approach and the easy-to-understand examples used throughout the course help strengthen the skillset deployed in PM.

The only criticism I have, as this probably applies to all coursera courses is that peer review process. I had to submit my assignment twice. The first time, two ppl reviewed it but only gave me 3 points. It was obviously they did not read my document and did not justify why did not give full points to some of the categories. The obvious one was I listed 3 deliverables that were precise and measurable. However, ony got 1 point for that and there was no explanation given. The other person left a comment saying he/she couldn't open the document. Somehow gave me 0 points in the process.

Baffled, I changed just one word and re-submitted. This time I got full 9 points from two revieweres and one really good constructive criticism. Like someone said in the discussion forum, is this assignment will determine whether we get the certificate or not, it should not have been left in the hands of peers who might have understood the course material completely wrong. Or in my case, it seems people didn't know what to do and how to grade and yet their scores for me would determine how I perform in this class.

If peer review is to stay, then it's only fair we get a say when receiving unfair grading. At a minimum, we should be allowed to flag it if we feel someone did not understand the ruberics or had somehow screwed up the grading process. As it stands now, people are leaveing comments in the discussion forum left and right, begging people to review their documents. So what happened in the end is people basically 'help' each other. In other words, I scratch your back and you'll scratch mine. Often times they sacrificed quality, i..e they will just blindly give points to each other just so that they can get through this assignement. I'd think this also defeats the purpose of Peer Reviews.

As for myself, I chosed not to engaged in the discussion forum and beg for people to review for me for this reason. I was worried that I might sacrifice my integrity just so that I could entice someone to review for me.

Please give my comments some thoughts. This is what's happening in all of your courses that has peer reviews. I googled and many people said that's why they decide not to pursue professional certificates on Coursera, because some of the peers couldn't even understand what they were saying, even when they have been working in their professional fiedls and knew what they were talking about.

por Velvette M

22 de nov. de 2022

Although it took me four months, I finally completed the second course (Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project) of Coursera Google Project Management and achieved a 91.63% grade. I learned the significance of the initiation phase of the project life cycle, what the key components of project charters are and how to develop a project charter for project initiation. I thoroughly enjoyed the course, however completing the stakeholder analysis and learning how to utilize RACI charts to define and communicate project team member responsibilities was challenging. It was interesting to evaluate various project management tools to meet project needs, a few of which I currently use in my day to day or have used over the course of my career. I am very proud of this accomplishment and super proud of myself for achieving a 9 out of 9 on the Peer-graded Assignment: Create a project charter. The course was very engaging, whether you’re reading material or watching a video. It developed and sharpened my knowledge and experience to create SMART Goals.

por Kyunghyun J

16 de sep. de 2021

Long story short , This is just an amazing course. It takes time to really digest every information this course provides but thanks to this program I was able to learn the overarching framework not only to go about project initiation(PI) but also do any work.

a couple weeks ago I had a series of interviews and I brought up the 6 key component of PI and related tools such as power grid, stakeholder analysis and more.

the interviewers all seemed surprised by how good my approach to handling works was , in reality I was just saying the frameworks and key factors that I learned through this course

Definitely worth a shot. and also for anybody whose first language is not English , It's a great source of improving your English and learning real vocabs that are being used in the field. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn about PM and improve their language skills

por Chaitanya K

20 de jun. de 2021

This was a fantastic course and by far the best I have ever opted and completed in my life!

The new things I have learned in this course are Key Components of Project Initiation, SMART Goals (heard before but first time got an opportunity to implement those), OKR (that was masterpiece !!!!!!!! Thank you Google!), Project Scope and Strategies to control them (In and Out both), Triple Constraint (fantastic thing to learn), Launching and Landing of Project, Measuring Success, RACI Chart (another masterpiece), Project Charter and finally thanks for introducing bunch of New Tools.

I think, this course is perfectly deigned and there is nothing to edit. Thank you so much for Google and the trainers for putting in so much effort. It was fun, tiresome, exciting and thrilling but yes, it feels an astonishing achievement to complete the course!

por Jeffrey D

1 de dic. de 2022

This was a great course. I'm so surprised that I've gotten through this second course! I'm so stoked! I want to send my BIGGEST thank you to Google's employees who hand a hand in the creation of this wonderful program. Another (equal in size (measured in love)) thank you, to Coursera employees for making this possible. A very special thank you goes to JuAnne, the Teacher of this class. You really broke it down into terms and ways I found very easy to understand. One day I hope to meet all of my instructors from this just so you can really grasp my appreciation for you all, and making this dream become a reality. Though we don't know either of us from Adam, you are so very important to me. You are helping me start a right track in life. It really means the world to me. Once again, THANK YOU!