Chevron Left
Volver a Python Data Structures

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Python Data Structures por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.9
estrellas
64,186 calificaciones
11,137 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course will introduce the core data structures of the Python programming language. We will move past the basics of procedural programming and explore how we can use the Python built-in data structures such as lists, dictionaries, and tuples to perform increasingly complex data analysis. This course will cover Chapters 6-10 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. This course covers Python 3....
Aspectos destacados
Excellent instructor
(503 revisiones)
Helpful assignments
(254 revisiones)

Principales revisiones

PM

Oct 08, 2017

assignment 9.4 auto grader not working .\n\nLTI unable to launch.\n\nerror message: This tool should be launched from a learning system using LTI.\n\ni am using chrome on mac book air 2 and python 3.6

DA

Nov 10, 2017

I feel incredible that I knew almost nothing about programming just a month ago. Now I have done two of the courses of the specialization and I can actually understand other basic codes. Great course!

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 10,000 revisiones para Python Data Structures

por Ayash H C

Jun 19, 2020

Great course for pyhton. Loved this course and enjoyed it. Thanks to Dr.Chuck. If anyone who want to take a course which is well explained and fun for python learning, then Hey!!! this is your course.

por Akki P R R

Apr 09, 2020

I just love Mr. Charles. I honestly appreciate the effort he put into making the graduation video. Truly encouraging students to learn more was really moving. Thanks so much for this course, Charles.

por Alexandre B

Oct 08, 2016

I really love the way Dr Chuck is teaching. It is incredibly clear and you never get bored even if each lecture is over 20 minutes long. After each lecture you do feel like you've become an expert in that topic.

However, the course is very diluted.... Only 4-5 lectures over 7 weeks is too little content, especially if you are to pay the $79 required for certification. Each week contains a lot of videos that, although being interesting, are not directly relevant to the course. I finished the whole thing in 2 days ^^

por Limin ( L

Oct 06, 2015

Dr. Chuck is the most encouraging and entertaining teacher I have ever met!!! He really makes learning about computer and programming easy and fun! I really enjoyed his lectures and I cannot believe learning programming can be such a pleasure!

Most importantly, Dr. Chuck intentionally included many mistakes in his teaching materials. As a self-taught programmer who has struggled on one's own, I believe this is the most valuable part of the lectures. The students get to understand from the very beginning how to read error messages and tracebacks, how to debug, how not to be intimidated by mistakes and failures, and how to become a confident programmer. This should be THE teaching model for programming in any language!

Thank you, Dr. Chuck! And I look forward to learning more from you in our follow-up courses!

por Gercino A N J

Dec 04, 2016

I am very happy to have finished this course. I learned a lot from him. I did not like Python. I thought it was not interesting to learn this language, but I was wrong. Today I strongly recommend learning more this language because it can help you a lot with your simple way of solving things. Thanks to all of you who have made this course possible.

por Ishaan k

May 02, 2020

I took the course as my foundation in python programming. It helped me learn some oops concepts as well as data structures. The bonus material is a plus for unmasking about why developers developed a particular thing. The course is somewhat basic and easy to understand. Thanks to Professor Chuck for making it understandable and a wonderful experience for students. The fact which i didn't like about this course is it is too basic and not much practically viable for students but it good for making fundamentals in python.

por Mary J

Jan 13, 2016

The book really gave more details about the individual chapters. Hence it was easy to do the assignments and quizzes without watching the videos.

I recommend that specializations should follow this trend, so students who find it difficult to access Internet can use the book as a guide.

More examples are needed to understand the concepts especially Tuples and DIctionary

por Andrew R K J

Sep 24, 2019

Teaching staff was not helpful & then rude. I asked for help & could not get. When I get help for free from colleagues, my assignment was turned down because it did not meet what was taught. It was a single line to remove duplicates. Yet, I could program this whole thin in Alteryx faster & cleaner than this course.

por Xuejun S

Nov 08, 2019

Assignments are harder than the examples in the lecture. The TA doesn't help much. The TA is wasting my time and driving me crazy.Whenever I ask a question, the TA answers like: why did you put blabla into blabla? But this still makes me confusing, he didn't answer why this is wrong, and what to do to fix it.

por Vladimir C

Mar 25, 2020

Not enough exercise unfortunately + no correction of the assignments!

I think as well that the video format is not always great, it makes it difficult to find specific content in a course

por Minhao S

Jun 30, 2019

content is good ,but teaching staff are helpless

por Ester N

Jul 28, 2016

Way too expensive for its contents

por Kundrpu M

Dec 20, 2019

bonous videos are not good

por Frederik J E

Jan 24, 2017

Instructor, Dr. Chuck, is terrific. However, assignments are incredibly difficult. You are supposed to spend no matter than a few hours a week on the course. I spent over 100 hours alone on the assignments. The mentors that are supposed to help you did not help at all. Very poorly put together second module that does not prepare you to complete the assignments

por Matthew B

Mar 03, 2016

No teaching. Just a guy talking. Do the problem sets for practice. If you need help, pause the videos and try the code out yourself.

Seriously though, a programming course where the teacher is not actively type out the code but just scribbling around it. He doesn't work through code but talks around the concepts.

por Chintan M

Apr 12, 2020

Again all the unnecessary talking!!! He talks a lotttttttttttttttttttt!!! Why so much of unnecessary talking? Why can't he just get to point straight away and making the video soooooooo long!!! Hate it!

por Chaobin Y

Apr 05, 2017

The introduction is nice, but the problem is the homework design. If homework doesn't cover too much of what people learnt in class, it is easy to forget materials in class.

por Hakan T

Dec 31, 2019

Horrible TAs. They should all be changed. They are extremely rude and annoying.

por Udit K

Feb 11, 2017

too

por Mainak D

Jun 06, 2020

This is the second course in the Python for Everybody specialization, and corresponds to the second half of the previous course of the same name. As with the first course (Getting Started with Python), I found Dr. Chuck's thorough approach to the material to be likely to be very approachable for a beginning programmer. I have some experience with Python, including the previous course and a course in the Genomic Data Science specialization, and I have a fair amount more experience programming using R, so I found this course very easy.The course introduces the common data structures in Python (lists, strings, files, dictionaries, tuples) and the functions used to manipulate them. Dr. Chuck does an excellent job of introducing each piece, although the course is a bit light on practice problems, and there are probably better resources for actually getting comfortable using these on a regular basis. The book "Learn Python the Hard Way" and the EdX course from MITx (6.00.1x) are supposed to be two of the best resources out there. I recently bought the first and enrolled in the second, so I'm hopeful that they will help me to become as comfortable programming in Python as I am in R.Overall, four stars. A gentle introduction to data structures in Python, but a little light on the exercises needed to become really proficient in using them.

por DESHPANDE S G

Jul 14, 2020

Absolutely amazing course!! The instructor, Dr. Charles Severance (popularly known as Dr. Chuck), is a very jolly and knowledgeable instructor. Just like in the previous course Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python), he has explained everything to the highest level of detail, and his main aim is to make everyone understand what he teaches, even someone who does not have a major computer/programming background. He has prepared great examples which help you understand every line of code, and help you apply them in your applications. Dr. Chuck insists upon you learning what every small detail is, and why it exists, which I like very much being an engineer, and everyone will like. The difficulty of the course is also very appropriate, i.e., every assignment is not very basic and straightforward, but not impossible, and is challenging and makes your brain work, a process in which you learn how to apply your programming skills to different cases as per requirement. Completing each exercise gives you great levels of satisfaction of having achieved something, learned something new. So, overall this course is a great pleasure to take and I am very much satisfied and very happy to have taken the time to complete this course, it is worth it!! Thank You for reading!! :) :D

por Sterling H

Sep 02, 2018

I can compare this class to the Coursera class that I took from Rice University, fundamentals of computing. On the negative side, the problems offered in this class are pretty easy to solve with minimal effort. On the positive side, in my opinion, the class does not focus at all on games or making a game. While I like the idea of working on a larger project, the video game approach used by Rice University was not very useful for me. This class and the series will give you a pretty solid understanding and background with regards to very fundamental concepts in programming and computer science and it will be done in a way that is very easy to understand. I like the way that it builds on itself with regards to the complexity. Is it easy? Yes, it's pretty easy but Computer Science is a pretty tough subject and this is a great introduction. Charles Severance is an excellent lecturer and he gives a great deal of context and helped me to really understand some key concepts in Computer Science. As an engineer, this will help me a great deal in my job.

por Guillaume O

Jun 28, 2020

The single most important piece of information I can pass for potential learners of this course is this :

Remember in high school/college/university when you had that one professor who, regardless of the topic he taught, was able to make you laugh, learn and keep you interested no matter what ?

This is the caliber of Dr. Charles Severance. This person is just born to teach people and does it in an effortless manner. I have a scientific educational background and an engineer's degree, and he ranks among the very best teachers I've come across, even though I never met him which is somewhat ironic :)

Regarding the course in itself, content is to the point,the pace is good, quizzes are very nice, assignments are well balanced in terms of difficulty and the worked exercices are very useful. I honestly don't think there is a better online source for learning Python Data Structures than this one.

Right after writing this review, I'm going to look up another course by him and won't think twice about enrolling.

Happy learning !

por Md. A A

Jun 22, 2020

I loved the way Dr. Charles Russell has teach me in this course

This course builds on the first course: ' Python for everybody' and covers chapters 6 - 10 of the open source book 'Python for Everybody' by Charles Severance. The course is open source as well and together with the ppt-presentation and video's guides you through the main applications of Python. The teaching approach is down-to earth, building on the already acquired knowledge from previous chapters. Each assignment uses a ' real-world' example and allows for trial and error, building on the learning-experience.

That said, the instructor, Charles Severance, does a proper job in taking students through the course chapters in a light-hearted and optimistic manner. This course, as a non-native English speaking mature student with little experience in programming and IT, took me approximately 6 - 12 hours of study per week. I would advice this free course to everyone with an interest in Python.

por victor c

Feb 21, 2016

i love this course, and as i keep progressing in python, these courses will be more and more useful and fun. the course offers assignments, which give yo clues on where to start, but not too much so that it would be easy. the teacher, Dr.chuck is very nice and is a fun and great teacher. there arent an overwhelming amount of videos a week, and if a person were to work hard, they could finish the course in almost a week(they would not learn much though...). the skulpt, or python playground is a very nicely designed platform for simple codes that are done in this course and the first, and the community and mentors are very helpful when it comes to having a hard problem in the assignment. overall, i give this course as many stars as i can! this is because since i am only a 11 year old in middle school, i can still understand and pass the course! thank you for having me in the course and i hope to succeed in later courses in the specialization! :)