Chevron Left
Volver a Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.7
estrellas
1,726 calificaciones
471 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Principales reseñas

YG
2 de jul. de 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

NL
9 de feb. de 2021

Excellent introduction to Calculus, I wanted to review the material to tutor my child but I am very happy that I learned a whole new way of looking at Calculus.\n\nThank you so much Prof. Ghrist.

Filtrar por:

426 - 450 de 465 revisiones para Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

por Peanut G

11 de jun. de 2017

my first math.It is the best lecturein in my university life

por Fulgence O I

7 de ene. de 2019

Very well and simply explained

Made review easier for me

por Kasym N

23 de jun. de 2020

Still, I couldn't grab the meaning of Limits.

por Shwet R

10 de ene. de 2016

Its really challenging and rewarding course.

por adilet a

17 de jun. de 2016

This is very good course for students!!!

por Rajasekhar

21 de may. de 2016

Good illustration of complex topics.

por Atef H

21 de may. de 2016

Great new approach towards calculus.

por PADMA A

12 de may. de 2020

The course is really informative

por Ahsan M

25 de ene. de 2020

great course fot beignners !!

por Jaspreet S

25 de ene. de 2016

very good learning process

por Amri M

8 de feb. de 2021

lil bit confusing

por Balakrishnan M

11 de abr. de 2020

Improve knowledge

por Sattam S S A

26 de abr. de 2020

it was great

por Johannes M

20 de may. de 2016

Very good!

por Aditya T

25 de jun. de 2017

good

por Senanayake H

18 de dic. de 2016

good

por Suman K

21 de jun. de 2020

nic

por Jonah A

11 de feb. de 2019

E

por Arthur H G

4 de oct. de 2020

Much of the couse is good but the Homework test for Exponentials is attrocious.

Firstly the person setting it needs to learn English. Questions 6 & 7 say "which of the following expressions describes ..." describes is the singular form of the verb and leads one to expect only one expression applies. I did these questions twice being marked wrong because I had only included one answer It needs altering to "describe".

There are 2 correct answers listed for the first question but the marking system does not recognise one of them,

Question 8 again expects 2 answers but does not indicate there is more than one.

I did this test twice getting 50% but on realising these weaknesses i had no problem getting 100% but resdent wasting a whole morning because of your errors.

por Suyash M

18 de mar. de 2019

Very good course for revisiting calculus. It never feels old as it tackles functions and limits from a different perspective - that of the Taylor Series. But it is mostly concerned with evaluating limits and series. Some things were assumed to be true without explanation, which, I admit, might have made understanding them easier. But it slightly chafes the mind to know something without knowing proof for it, and how it came to be. Some questions that may arise but remain unanswered in the lectures include : How to find the domain of convergence of a series? Where did the Taylor's Series formula come from? These and some more are not addressed in this course, but they might be in the future chapters (which I have not completed)

por Becky B

17 de ago. de 2020

I find the forums much more difficult to navigate than the edx.com MIT calculus course forums. So when I had a question on a homework question or needed additional explanation for a particular topic or type of problem I found it frustratingly difficult to find help in the forums.

I know he is very popular, and his videos are well done, but I didn't learn nearly as much as when I took the MIT courses on edx. I didn't feel like the videos adequately prepared me to be successful on the homework.

por Jawad

5 de sep. de 2020

This course is good and the lecture is okay. However, I hated lengthy question that only assess your time in multiplication and addition of terms. I expect hard questions mean question that trigger higher level order thinking not complex multiplication and addition that is really time consuming but can be done without using critical thinking skills.

por María J L A

2 de ago. de 2021

El profesor debería hacer más ejemplos parecidos a los que vienen en los exámenes. También, debería ser más explicativo en las afirmaciones que hace sobre todo en el tema de Orders of Growth, y hacer ejemplos análogos a los exámenes correspondientes. Gracias.

por Serdal A

7 de jun. de 2021

the course is for those who already know calculus and looking for some more challenges. If you are new in this area you better take some basic courses, not this one.

por Tomas R

21 de may. de 2020

Great course, but I think that Calculus One (

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calculus_One) is even beter. I found it more comprehensible.