Chevron Left
Volver a Systems Thinking In Public Health

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Systems Thinking In Public Health por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.6
estrellas
646 calificaciones
152 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course provides an introduction to systems thinking and systems models in public health. Problems in public health and health policy tend to be complex with many actors, institutions and risk factors involved. If an outcome depends on many interacting and adaptive parts and actors the outcome cannot be analyzed or predicted with traditional statistical methods. Systems thinking is a core skill in public health and helps health policymakers build programs and policies that are aware of and prepared for unintended consequences. An important part of systems thinking is the practice to integrate multiple perspectives and synthesize them into a framework or model that can describe and predict the various ways in which a system might react to policy change. Systems thinking and systems models devise strategies to account for real world complexities. This work was coordinated by the Alliance for Health Policy and Systems Research, the World Health Organization, with the aid of a grant from the International Development Research Centre, Ottawa, Canada. Additional support was provided by the Department for International Development (DFID) through a grant (PO5467) to Future Health Systems research consortium. © World Health Organization 2014 All rights reserved. The designations employed and the presentation of the material in this publication do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the World Health Organization concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries. Dotted and dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement. The mention of specific companies or of certain manufacturers’ products does not imply that they are endorsed or recommended by the World Health Organization in preference to others of a similar nature that are not mentioned. Errors and omissions excepted, the names of proprietary products are distinguished by initial capital letters. All reasonable precautions have been taken by the World Health Organization to verify the information contained in this publication. However, the published material is being distributed without warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied. The responsibility for the interpretation and use of the material lies with the reader. In no event shall the World Health Organization be liable for damages arising from its use. Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health has a non-exclusive license to use and reproduce the material....

Principales reseñas

NM

Jun 08, 2019

This is an excellent-excellent course and provides a good primer even to somebody (like me) who has only a very limited exposure to public health and none to the concepts of systems thinking.

VS

Mar 12, 2018

The course is one of the best that I've attended on Coursera. This will be highly useful in my current course "Healthcare Operations Management" that I am offering for MBA students in India.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 148 revisiones para Systems Thinking In Public Health

por Mona A A

Jul 24, 2020

good

por Ashu

Feb 06, 2017

Every one in charge of leading, coordinating, managing public health activities, especially at higher level &/or in developing countries, must take such training. Because this helps any one to avoid rigidity in using his/her authority or helps understand what effects might have their decisions in the community and starts to think contextually plus systematically.

Every one is not right or wrong there should be a check up mechanism in order to converge every ones perspectives included in the system and at least respected to minimise later on resistance for the success our "good mission".

por Johnathan P

Mar 13, 2016

While focused on the subject of public health systems, this course is also a good experience for anybody who is simply interested in the benefits of systems thinking and the applications of causal models. While there are a few hiccups in the course content (a couple files not available as of Mar 2016), the overall experience here is excellent. The instructors break down each topic into understandable elements and provide excellent real world examples. Overall, I greatly enjoyed this course and recommend it to others.

por Matheus C d R

Jun 01, 2018

It's a great course, gives an approach to a set of interesting and, I believe, increasingly important skills. Systems thinking is a remarkable field of knowledge. I think the course could give a greater emphasis at developing the mindset that allows us to better see and understand the systems in our realities, as well as the components that form them. Other than that, I'd say it's an essential amount of information for today's (and perhaps tomorrow's) public health.

por J B

Jun 17, 2020

This is a good class. The material is well presented and the course leaders are knowledgeable and present the course in an engaging manner. The examples are relevant. I would have appreciated a bit more opportunity to work on actual models within the class structure. Also, some of the test questions were poorly designed and worded, which created a bit of confusion and uncertainly from time to time. Overall, however, thee are minor quibbles.

por Linda A

Feb 04, 2019

I really enjoyed the course, its structure and the way of explaining the concepts. I particularly liked the lectures held by Prof. Ligia Paina: she explained Vensim step by step and I appreciated it. I would have gone a little bit more in detail with stock and flows diagrams, I would have expected in general more examples and practical exercises. Overall, great course to start building a system thinking mindset. Thank you all.

por Claudia

Apr 19, 2019

This course was super interesting. I learned a lot and cannot wait to learn more about it. The reason it has one star less, is that there is a discussion forum, but hardly any feedback or answers to questions from the staff. I had several question which, if answered, would have helped me understand it even better. But I never received an anwer :-(

por shiva

May 01, 2020

I liked the content of the course and simplistic way of explanation. My suggestion to improve would be to give some exercises to create cause and loop diagram and stock and flow diagram, so that, public health experts become familiar with these concepts in a better way.

Thank you so much

por nikita d

Nov 24, 2019

I had a great time engaging with the course. I do think though, that I needed more time with the week 3 syllabus, as it more to do with modelling. I was interested in understanding the basics of using system thinking to understand my own work better, which was covered in week 1 and 2.

por KM

Aug 21, 2018

The quiz structures and answers could be reviewed in content. The fourth quiz had strange answer selection in the multi-select sections (e.g., suggest rethinking the idea elements of the Q 5,6, 7 answers then build out the answer selections in enhanced clarity).

por Alton W P

Aug 10, 2020

The material is very good. several of the links were broken or went to resources that no longer existed, which was more than a little frustrating. Based on the quizzes, more time should have been put on simulation and implementation.

por Anita C

Oct 19, 2019

The course was helpful in understanding how to use the systems thinking models in practice.

I found the course challenging and stimulating and see how I can use it in my current public health practice

por Gayathri L

Jul 28, 2017

I was hoping to get a perspective on the origin and theories of systems thinking, however the course does not focus on that. The course is a practical tool to apply systems thinking in one's work.

por Art 1

May 26, 2020

It should probably have 2 more weeks of detail.

The questions should be less about trying to trick the person with convoluted wording, and more about solving actual problems using models.

por Thomas S

Sep 17, 2017

Great introduction to Systems Thinking as applied to public health problems and policy-making, with some basic hands-on experience in different modelling techniques.

por Sonal S

May 29, 2017

The course is easy to understand and the lecturer are well read about the subject. It will be very helpful to me in near future working as a public health worker

por Mauricio G

Aug 19, 2016

I enjoyed this course very much. I rate 4/5 because I would liked a broader explanation on how to translate Stock and Flow Diagrams to mathematical models.

por Lana S

Apr 17, 2016

It was a nice and informative experience. It was a good introductory to basic concepts and skills which base the way for further reading on the subject.

por Dilpreet B

Jul 11, 2017

Great course. I was a bit limited in how much I could learn, since my background is not from public health, but I learnt a lot about systems thinking.

por Bronté M

Jun 30, 2019

Great course with knowledge that is accessible to those who want to learn about systems thinking, but aren't a part of the public health sector.

por Wang Z

Jul 27, 2018

Overall a wonderful course, but some course materials are hard to understand, and probably should be explained more thoroughly in plain English.

por Juan E B V

Dec 22, 2018

Really good course, short and clear about a great way to think and approach problems not jus tin public health but in different areas.

por Diane L

May 26, 2020

This course was interesting and challenging. Useful if you are interested in policy making and modelling for public health.

por Gisele R

Oct 04, 2019

Muito útil e de ampla aplicação. A falta de vídeos o torna um pouco cansativo, mas vale a pena ir até o final.

por abhishek a

Sep 30, 2020

The questions in the week 4 are a little tricky, but overall it's a good overview of the public health system