Chevron Left
Volver a Trading Basics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Trading Basics por parte de Escuela de Negocios de la India

4.2
estrellas
633 calificaciones
144 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

The purpose of this course is to equip you with the knowledge required to comprehend the financial statements of a company and understand the various transactions that take place in the stock market so that you can replicate the strategies discovered by the extant academic literature. The first part of the course provides a brief introduction to financial statements and various common filings of firms. You will learn how to obtain information regarding a company's performance from them and use the information to build trading strategies. Next, you are taught basic asset pricing theories so that you will be able to calculate the expected returns of a stock or a portfolio. Finally, you will be introduced to the actual functioning of asset markets, type of players in the market, different types of orders and the efficient ways and opportune time to execute them, trading costs and ways of minimizing them, the concept of liquidity .etc. This knowledge is required to develop efficient algorithm to execute various trading strategies....

Principales revisiones

NS

Jan 08, 2017

Good insights and must for a person who is seriously interested in trading ,\n\nAny one with a zero knowledge of finance can also take this course.

DB

Aug 17, 2017

It is perfect for even beginners to learn basics of trading fundamentals and apply it for advanced studies. Recommend this to everyone.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 143 revisiones para Trading Basics

por Michael F

Jun 07, 2018

I found the information provided useful. And certainly as a VERY "gentle" Introduction to the material the course was adequate. But I have always had a BIG Problem with courses in which the Professor's use "Slides" and do NOT actually ADD Value to the slides. I would say there is TREMENDOUS room for improvement of the course if the Professor would be willing to go BEYOND just the mere "Re-statement" of the Equations (That anyone who is not visually impaired can easily read for themselves) and actually provide some additional context. Actually, the Professor in this course does this, somewhat, but only VERY minimally, and NOT nearly ENOUGH! :)

However, I definitely don't want to be totally Negative, the (albeit VERY brief) comments the Professor made indicating HOW the information (values calculated from equations, values of ratios, etc) could actually be USED did provide me with some more insight than I would have been able to come up with on my own. And getting "more" insight than I, myself, can come up with on "my own" is basically the ONLY reason I want to "take" an "educational" course. However, one of the things, I myself, have consistently had to deal with in an attempt to "learn" about Investing is that book knowledge (or in the case of this course, data and text from slides), is not really enough. What I constantly search for is "insights from the "Experts". I have no doubt the Professor is an expert in the subject and it would have been better, for me, if he had been willing to share more of his "nuanced" expertise with the students. However, I recognize this is "just" an "Intro" course, so I likely have been a bit too negative than I should be. And I actually was reasonably "satisfied" with the course. Probably this review should be classified in the category of someone whose expectations for course was somewhat unrealistic.

Finally, not even sure if I need to say this because it was so blatant, but there was a consistent amount of ERRORS in the Slides also! Essentially, the errors amounted to some lines of data from a previous equation being repeated for a new ratio calculation in the Week 1 material and then occasional errors where the material in the slide was different from the Professor's stated numbers in his lectures.

por Aida H

Jun 17, 2019

I learned a lot and liked the practical teaching method in weeks 1 and 2. However, week 3 and 4 lessons are not clear.

por Udit N

May 03, 2019

The Theoretical Concepts in Week 1 and Week 2 are good and a student can follow from scratch. However, Week 3 is completely different and completely has vague teaching when it comes to explaining CAPM and CAPM Beta. Either the week is missing videos or there is a problem with the assumptions of the instructor. The instructor is just reading the numbers from the slides without explaining any formulas properly. The discussion forum is similar to the summary I have written here. There are many students who have encountered the same situation I have. Would suggest the instructor from ISB to take a look at it and Coursera to do it's part by auditing the course.

por Rahul K

Dec 17, 2017

The course is basic and is a must to build foundation. However, the course is not structured properly and the calculation and excels are missing from downloads. Also, solution to quiz is not available as there are certain solution and questions discussed in the video for which answers does not seem correct. Hence, giving 1 star purely for the content organization.

por Rohit J

Jul 27, 2019

The instructor explained all the theories and formulas in a simple manner which made it easier for me to understand.

por Elias T

Nov 29, 2018

The course was really good, but the professor should focus more in explaining things and not just reading numbers.

por Antony J A

Jan 03, 2020

The course definitely touches on the components of the basic of trading. However, as a beginner, there were many concepts for which, the how and the why were not explained. I referred to the MIT opencourseware's finance theory I which explained the same concepts but very much from a beginner's perspective.

Bottomline: useful but can improve in many aspects including presentation and numericals

por Zachary S

Feb 10, 2019

There were mistakes in the slides presented where the instustor would say one thing but the slide displayed different numbers, the slides also could not be downloaded for review. Additional the quizzes also had mistakes and wouldn't tell you which question you got wrong. I would spend days retaking some quizzes just to find out I had to accept the wrong answer in order to pass the quiz. The additional materials and readings did not reflect the rigor of what I was expecting from the course.

por Lohit J

Jan 11, 2017

Its a very superficial course. It feels like the instructor is just reading out from some material. And it is not making it interesting to listen. The instructor is not putting in much effort to make student understand the concept. That's the reason for me to drop out in between the course. This course is not at all much informative and neither it is improving my grasp on the topic.

por Marc H

Apr 23, 2018

I'm sorry - but this is just extremely poor learning material. The Prof just spends minutes reading out numbers up to the 2nd decimal from the slides without any explanations as to how to implement it. Check the discussion forum for week 3, everybody seems stuck.

I was really looking forward to this course, but unfortunately it has been a complete waste of time.

por Anurag

May 18, 2019

The Course is highly monotonous and something not easily understandable due to that. Online videos are difficult but this has a very straight flat feeling to session that it is very difficult.

por Xitan Q

Aug 07, 2017

no math handout; some missing videos; quiz assessment seems to have issues; errors on the slides; no one is responding to any of the above mentioned issues.

por Graeme T

Mar 18, 2019

Very poor job at teaching the required information. You don't need a month's subscription of Coursera to read half of the articles on Investopedia.

por RAMESHWAR S

May 25, 2018

doesn't elaborate the content, not lucid, very difficult for a student from no commerce background not enough explanation provided

por David P G

Mar 06, 2018

It is BY FAR the worst course I have taken: zero didactic spirit, no answers in forums, test are full of errors, NO documentation

por Kalilur R

Jan 12, 2020

Need to have resources shared. Without examples and resources, this is a tough course as the video content is less.

por Ashish A

Jun 25, 2017

I dont understand the need to cover basics of financial statement and valuation analysis for this course.

por RICARDO M V

Nov 27, 2017

Es un curso importante para los que estamos interesados en aprender sobre este tema, explica aspectos y términos que desconocía, deseo aprender mas por un precio accesible, confieso que no domino el idioma ingles, pero eso no ha sido limitante para hacer el esfuerzo por entender y aprobar. Gracias Coursera, Gracias ISB, GRACIAS MAESTRO.

por Bogdan I

Oct 22, 2018

Hello! Thanks for sharing this course, it is really useful for those who are just starting in finance and investments. I would recommend to split some video lectures by small quizzes of 2-3 questions to practice on concrete topic and in the end to check knowledge learned for the week. Thanks!

por Atindranath G

Jul 18, 2017

Its a very nice course. This course is must for any one who wants to pursue career in trading. Professor's teaching methodology is really commendable. I would recommend you to take this course. Thank you Coursera.

por Roberto P G J

Mar 18, 2018

Vergy Good Course.

The instructor is very clear and objective and the examples help a lot in understanding.

The course is most recommended for those who have few knowledge, because the content is very basic

por Carlos A C A

Jul 20, 2019

It was a very demanding course, I recognize that I had to work hard to achieve it, I definitely learned a lot. Thanks for the opportunity and the knowledge acquired.

por Nitesh S

Jan 08, 2017

Good insights and must for a person who is seriously interested in trading ,

Any one with a zero knowledge of finance can also take this course.

por Homero A A M

Aug 13, 2018

I find it great, I just cannot downloaded the additional resources such as some Excel's, referred in the videos.

por Vikas Y

Nov 10, 2019

Quizzes are a bit time-consuming. More of a calculator work than learning. Otherwise, the course is great.