Chevron Left
Volver a Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Story and Narrative Development for Video Games por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.7
720 calificaciones
173 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

In this course, you will examine how storytelling acts as a vital mechanism for driving video gameplay forward. Looking at several historical and contemporary games, you will be asked to evaluate and interpret different story styles with the goal of identifying themes and procedures for your own game ideas. We'll examine traditional narrative story processes, such as three-act structure, and how they fit into game story flows and the strategic elements of gameplay. Ultimately, you will learn how to define character, setting, and structure to create a compelling game concept....

Principales revisiones

DA

Nov 07, 2017

This is so helpful. It covers all the essentials of developing a good story, applicable in any form of media, then it focuses on converting the story to a game by adding interactive gameplay elements.

CS

Dec 31, 2015

This is my favorite course ever. Dariush teaches in such an engaging way and it shows you how to have a creative yet objective and analyzed mindset for creating a story and narrative for a Video Game.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 163 revisiones para Story and Narrative Development for Video Games

por Andres M

Oct 26, 2015

The course topic are well explain and easy to understand, the videos are well directed, and the creative exercises are pretty cool.

por Nancy S

Mar 22, 2016

A lot of work writing but the quality of instruction is excellent.

por Liliya G

Mar 28, 2016

Great course, excietd :)

por Chris T

May 05, 2016

Amazing.

por Karin V

Jan 22, 2016

This course is really interesting and fun, also absolutely understandable and easy to follow. Thank you a lot!

por Laurene S

Feb 14, 2017

This is a very interesting course to learn the essentials of creating characters and stories that are captivating for the players, and how to ensure that your story works as a game. I really liked the assignement marked by peers.

por Fernando S M

Nov 25, 2015

This is a good course for both who is starting as for those who already have a knowledge and seek advice and new ideas to develop stories for games.

However, I think that is ideal for everyone who wanted to learn how to communicate for team the idea of the game.

por Milos J

Apr 10, 2016

Awesome

por Alex Z

Dec 08, 2015

Great and easy to learn!

por Andrew T

Dec 06, 2015

This course is pretty cool. I actually learned a lot about analyzing narratives and writing that I hadn't really considered before... It's totally worth it.

por Cabral M

Jan 04, 2017

A great way for understanding connections with players!

por Stefano M

Nov 28, 2016

Excellent!

por Filip R

Mar 01, 2016

The mentor is really good, he is great at explaining what he means and gives you a few great methods for writing. The peers were also great.

por Luiz F R

Nov 24, 2015

I think I have grown a lot from this course. I congratulate the entire team and Teachers.

por Niam I

Mar 06, 2016

I am enjoying this course a lot. As a storyteller with screenwriting experience, it is interesting to learn of how the story dynamics work in the world of Game Design. Dariush is an engaging teacher and he provides a lot of good material to work with, as well as references.

por Iryna M

Oct 22, 2015

Amazing fun and useful!

por Devin C

Dec 14, 2015

Big fan of the last two assignments. Re-writing the game was fun, and made it more interactive with the rest of the class, seeing how others would change the story.

por Carlos E E S

Dec 31, 2015

This is my favorite course ever. Dariush teaches in such an engaging way and it shows you how to have a creative yet objective and analyzed mindset for creating a story and narrative for a Video Game.

por Shuchao C

Nov 16, 2015

The instructor carefully illustrates all points necessary for wring a game story. The logic is extremely clear, course materials intact and homework amount is decent for students.

por Pablo S P

Jan 03, 2016

Amazing...A great teacher that will provide a valuable insight of the topic!! A must-do course! :)

por Denisse M L M

Nov 06, 2017

Great course with good information and tips on how to develop the story for your game. I would have preferred if the last two assignments were open on the theme of the game as I don't like shooting games that much, but I had the chance to practice the techniques explained in the course and enjoyed reviewing my peer's work.

por Juan P R R

Apr 10, 2018

The assignments were a bit repetitive, and a little too demanding in my opinion (maybe because I'm not a native english speaker)

But mainly: it was a big turn off to not be able to work with the actual idea I had in mind and be forced to work with the shooter game, I understand its purpose but I would have really liked to work on my own concept and receive feedback.

Other than that, the course was very rich, and the lectures easy and solid!

por Daniel D

Mar 01, 2017

Great course!!

por Madison T

Feb 06, 2017

Good experience to know about narrative for video games, very inspiring.

por Alberto V V

May 02, 2016

Great teacher and interesting topics. A great starter on how to develop stories for games.