Chevron Left
Volver a The Art of Vocal Production

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Art of Vocal Production por parte de Berklee College of Music

4.7
218 calificaciones
70 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course addresses recorded vocal performances and the technologies used to highlight and support them in modern record production and mixes. Most of us know that vocals serve as the focal point of modern recordings but many do not know the tools used or when the tools are used best in modern record production. The course begins with simple vocal placement in a mix, where you will also learn the fundamentals of compression and equalization. You’ll further study delays and reverbs before moving to advanced concepts in audio editing, synthetic processing, automatic & graphic pitch correction, time compression, time expansion, flex and elastic audio. Through analysis and/or hands on projects that the students will post for peer review, the student will gain an understanding of the many choices available to modern record producers as they record and mix with a modern tool set. You’ll see, in action, the Vocoder, Auto-Tune, Melodyne, Elastic Audio, Flex Time, VocAlign, tempo based editing and a host of other file modification protocols that are readily available on most Digital Audio Workstations. This course gives students a thorough look at the expanded choices that have risen in the art of vocal production as a result of these modern tools. The goal of the course is to help interested novices understand the recordings they are listening to, performers find an expanded language for their recorded voices and for vocal producers to be able to create musically artistic visualizations using singers as their paintbrushes....

Principales revisiones

AE

Nov 27, 2018

This course was really fun, I have learned so much. And I am glad I took the time to complete it. I work with vocals all the time. And now I feel much more confident now. Thank you Mr Prince.

VI

Aug 15, 2019

Course was great! I was able to learn a lot of new things and the lecturer was so on point! I recommend this course to anyone who is interested in vocal production!

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 69 revisiones para The Art of Vocal Production

por Nikita K

Feb 02, 2017

Unnecessary extra videos, that could and should be joined together. In particular, in lessons 2 and 3 all "topic introductions" could be joined with the following "let's discuss this topic inside a DAW" video.

Awful dynamic range. In some videos voice of lector is very quiet (-20 dB or less) and sound played from the DAW is much louder (around -6 dB). In other videos, the opposite: loud lector and quiet DAW. Change of microphone setup between intro video and "in the DAW" video is also very noticeable and distracting.

Repeats of repeats over repeats. This is not needed at all. I could repeat everything by myself, just pause video and replay interesting fragment. I don't need to be reminded how a single background vocal sounds or that we need to change panning each time we add new track. Yes, It should be done from time to time, but not each time. These repeats make the lessons unnecessary long, it feels I could have been told the same information in half of time or less.

This combines with very slow pace of a lector. I listened all lessons on 1.5 or even 2.0 tempo, just to not fall asleep.

Quizzes are strange. Stupid quesion appeared in quiz three: which key combinations we use in the videos? But why do you ever ask this, how this relates to the topic? I use another DAW in another OS, I even don't have a "command" key, I could have changed my hot keys, so your particular hot key setup is not any significance for me. I was expected to be quizzed for which parameters to tune, how it sounds and alike, not this particular crap. Trust me, anyone could figure which hot keys to use. I am not just a monkey, I have an ability to explore my software by myself, I don't need to be told how to copy and paste, and even if I need this I just go look in the manual.

por Koos J

Sep 20, 2017

Learned a lot, great course. Was hoping for a bit higher standard actually, but enjoyed it anyway.

por Clarence M I

Nov 29, 2017

Would better if there was more application. Usually that's the style of these classes, and I followed a similar structure on my own—writing a song and applying the techniques to it. As a student I find having a final product or at least something that shows I have used what I learned very useful. It also makes peer reviews more interesting. Otherwise great course. Learned a lot!

por Anerson E

Nov 27, 2018

This course was really fun, I have learned so much. And I am glad I took the time to complete it. I work with vocals all the time. And now I feel much more confident now. Thank you Mr Prince.

por felip d

Jan 12, 2019

Nice and interesting course about vocal production. Great tips and information in an introduction way. Amazing for first steps in music production.

por Mahmoud H

Feb 06, 2019

Perfect, i do recommend it.

por Karl D

Feb 01, 2019

Excellent course!!

por Michael P M

Sep 15, 2018

It's a great course!

Thank you so much Coursera and Berklee for this opportunity for me.

Best wishes!

Michael Pedraza Mejia

por Evgenii P

Aug 30, 2018

Great course, which gives the basic knowledge on the most important vocal production techniques.

por Jericho S

Sep 01, 2018

Great course. Got almost everything I needed to know. Prof. Prince Charles' teaching is very engaging and fun-yet-informative.

por Jesus A P S

Oct 19, 2018

Excellent course, a must for music producers

por Alexander A

Oct 10, 2018

I can't express how much I love this class! I really enjoy all the offerings from Berklee on Coursera. This class exceeded any expectations I had and the instructor Prince Charles Alexander is amazing. I learned so much and had a ton of fun taking this course!

por Thomas C L

Nov 14, 2018

Awesome class.

por Militao d M R

Jan 02, 2018

Excellent course. Very good technical information. Good exercises! It was very helpful to me.

por Maria d L L A

Apr 11, 2017

This course is amazing and offers you a lot of tools for vocal production, and Prince Charles Alexander is a great teacher!. My only suggestion will be to have a different final assignment. It was surprising to me that the final assignment was to do an essay, since the clases were pretty much all about applying the tools in your DAW, I really thought we were going to summit an audio vocal recording using some of the tools we learned during the course. But overall was great, thank you so much for bringing this to us!

por fernando V S

Jul 24, 2017

Great Great Course... Love it!!!! Thanks Coursera & Berklee

por Jeison A R P

Aug 01, 2017

So amazing!

por Christoph A

Jan 30, 2018

Thanks so much much for this wonderful course. Prince Charles Alexander is an amazing teacher. It makes a lot of fun!! Highly recommended!

por Michael R

Jun 06, 2017

very helpful for anyone working on vocal production

por Joseph k

Dec 18, 2017

amazing

por Jonathan G

Feb 09, 2018

Fascinating course I learned a lot.

por Samuelle E C

Jun 12, 2017

i love this

por Gabriel B

Nov 15, 2017

The content of this course is fantastic and it's very easy to understand the concepts, as the teacher explains this very clearly. It sure helped me to understand the theory behind of what the DAW processes, for me this is one of the most important things.

por Hai y

Jun 07, 2018

TQ

por Regina P d S

Sep 28, 2017

Excellent for Beginners