Chevron Left
Volver a Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications por parte de Universidad Técnica de Dinamarca (DTU)

4.6
estrellas
1,039 calificaciones
277 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

Principales reseñas

AP
19 de jul. de 2020

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

MB
9 de jun. de 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 279 revisiones para Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

por Robert F

28 de ene. de 2019

This course is mostly just an advertisement for the particular tools created by the CGE. It would have benefited from deeper explanations of the algorithms at many points. It didn't really build skills, though I am certainly more aware of the breadth of their online tools now.

por Sören W

7 de ene. de 2019

It is basically a commercial for their tools. Not much content to learn.

por shilpa y

19 de feb. de 2020

If you are willing to learn about the WGS analysis, this is not the course for you. The course is all about tools developed by DTU and how to use them. There is a very insufficient background given for all tools. A lot of time has been spent on explaining unnecessary details about using tools, like where to put email it! Concepts are not explained properly. I find the course structure very poor. Last but not least, the main instructor of the course has an accent very difficult to comprehend.

por Douglas A H

28 de dic. de 2017

I quite liked the instructors, but after the first few lessons, the course essentially becomes an advertisement/user manual for their university's (admittedly free) online software tools.

por Dr. B E S

24 de abr. de 2020

A course which is worthy for a researcher who is involved in whole genome analysis and pathogen identification. The course gives a base to the use of cge website.

por Marwa M M B

19 de ago. de 2017

It is totally beneficial course for those who are working in epidemiology, however; I was expected to learn different tools for species and microbial communities identification.

por Kazi M Z R

23 de ago. de 2020

Excellent course for the beginners with minimum bioinformatics knowledge to analyse their whole genome sequencing data!!! All the course materials are designed adequately with in-depth discussion and hands-on training on the usage of different tools. It would be helpful to update the course materials based on the current development of the tools. Otherwise, highly recommended tools for gaining the most out of WGS data. Thanks.

por chitra a

20 de jul. de 2020

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

por Krishnanathan K

28 de oct. de 2021

One of the best bioinformatics courses. We get to learn and get hands-on practice on free online bioinformatics tools. Well explanatory lectures to guide us on using bioinformatic tools.

por Faizan A

3 de abr. de 2020

A well structured course covering a broad range of topics, and being a part of this course was an amazing learning experience..

Thanks to DTU and Coursera family....

por Pham T T T

17 de sep. de 2017

Thank you great team from DTU, I get to understand NGS via your detailed explanation and useful demonstration as well as example exercise. Cheers

por WK S

29 de may. de 2020

I am a biology student, who recently started a masters in bioinformatics and have been struggling to try to keep up with the computational aspects and this course was perfect for me. The pacing of the course was really good and the lectures were also well detailed and to the point. I really liked the passion with which Shinny did her lecture segments.

por Sbl Z

15 de ago. de 2019

Videos are not comprehensive enough even if one already has some knowledge of that area!

por Sneha S

28 de ago. de 2020

I am an undergraduate student and have worked with bacteria and have also conducted antimicrobial assays for bacteria (like MIC). Apart from wet-lab, I also wanted to have dry-lab experience in this field. "Whole-genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications" by DTU really helped me a lot in understanding the basics of this field and has also introduced me to their user-friendly web-based bioinformatic tools developed and hosted by Centre of Genomic Epidemiology. The course instructors were also very clear in explaining the working of these tools.

por Varun C

2 de ene. de 2020

First of all I would like to thank coursera and DTU for providing such a good platform where one can learn and get trained in the subjects of ones interest from the leading experts. The course was very informative and I should say that I have learned something new which I was not familiar with, and would surely look forward for more such trainings by DTU team in future. The way of teaching by the DTU team was very nice especially by Dr Pimlapas.

por Mirza M V B

10 de jun. de 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

por Gourab D

20 de ago. de 2017

Madam/Sir,

I am a Computer Science Engineer, I am doing research in University of Calcutta in Machine Learning. I have some interest in Bioinformatics. It is not possible for me to grab all the aspect in that subject. So, I am grabbing it in scattered way. The course I have completed in "DTU" has captured a complete different aspect which I haven't seen before. The most important things is that it is a very neat and clean course with a specific direction. All the labs which I have performed here has been well taught in various videos. Though it is not possible for me to understand every parts of all the videos but still it gives me enough knowledge to complete the practicals. I hope it will help me in future run.

I would like to specify just one problem related with the course. Every course in Coursera has "Discussion Forum" corresponding to every week, which I have found missing, as it solves lot of dynamic problem in each week's tutorial. I am sorry if "Discussion Forum" is already there and I have ignored that.

Thanks You very much,

Gourab Das

por Kira K

4 de dic. de 2018

This is a great class presenting a user-friendly web tool CGE pipeline that is ready to help all researches with their bioinformatics data. It can even build phylogenetic trees!

And I loved a small detective game at the end of the course when we needed to process unknown bacteria sequences to see if it was a real outbreak and what antibiotics were able to stop it!

A lot of thanks to the team!

por magombe a

6 de may. de 2021

The course was packed so well that information is precise and clear. As a student of bioinformatics, the course made my life so easy as i learnt a lot in a shortest period of time in the most simplified manner. The instructors were straight to the point and made the course interesting especially Shinny. I am looking forward to attend more courses from DTU.

Thank you

por Dr. K M K

26 de jun. de 2020

Excellent course, well-planned presentation, very easy to understand. It is really a great learning platform. I Thank you very much to the team for the wonderful presentation and plan. looking for many courses from DTU food. It is really a food of knowledge for everyone. Thank you.

por Jerusha S

14 de jun. de 2021

A wonderful opportunity to learn bioinformatics. I strongly recommend this course to budding microbiologists and molecular biologists. This is one of the very few courses available in food microbiology. Kudos to the team at DTU.

por Xiangyang L

30 de jun. de 2019

The course is using cutting-edge genome sequencing technology and the authentic software to showcasing the applications and tools of genome sequencing. It is a great chance to learn it.

por Claudia M d l P

27 de ago. de 2019

Muy buen curso para iniciar con el análisis de secuencias masivas de cepas que pudieran estar implicadas en brotes epidemiológicos. Felicidades

por Erica Y

30 de sep. de 2018

Good course for a beginner. Generally, help me understand whole genome sequencing of bacteria. Will follow other course that they have provide.

por Arvind K

14 de may. de 2021

Very knowledgeable