Chevron Left
Volver a Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.4
estrellas
1,714 calificaciones
407 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

Principales reseñas

AD
25 de mar. de 2019

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

CW
1 de feb. de 2020

I loved this course! So many interesting things to think about, thoughtfully explained by brilliant instructors. The puzzles really get you thinking. Such genius to put them before the lectures!

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 401 revisiones para Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

por Khin M M M

10 de dic. de 2020

Dear Teachers,

Firstly, I would like to tell you about that I greatly respect and admire to our teachers.

Although I'm not a programmer, I'm very interested in programming languages and computer science. Thus, I took this course.

I like the whole course.

Thanks, a lot to our Teachers, teaching staffs, and all other.

I do thank.

por Abhay B

23 de ago. de 2020

It was really very important of a computer Science student to learn Discrete Mathematics. This course is really meant for such thing that why mathematics(Discrete mathematics) is important. Teachers are best, they help if anyone asks them their doubts. Its a great platform where you learn new things things which are very helpful. I thank all the teachers here who taught us.

por Pronay k p

18 de dic. de 2020

Great experience!

My special thanks to professor Alexander S. Kulikov, Michael Levin and, Vladimir Podolskii for their great works. Besides, I am really grateful to the University of California San Diego & National Research University Higher School of Economics and Yandex.

Confidently, I would like to say "COURSERA" is the best!

por Rodrigo G L

2 de ene. de 2021

Excellent course, presented in a very didactic way by combining theory and practice. It is not a collection of exposed knowledge to memorize, but rather a series of challenges of varying difficulty: some easy and others that almost make your head explode. I loved.

por Samyak J

22 de sep. de 2020

It was just awesome. Honestly, I've not taken this good course till now. It was easy, entertaining, surprising, shocking, advanced, cool all at the same time. Thank you UC San Diego, NR HSE and Coursera for providing such an amazing Stuff.

por Muhammad Y A

26 de oct. de 2020

So much fun using mathematics and it's basic to learn a bit of computer science!. The quiz is really challenging but, you can still solve it with a bit of practice. The lecture is enough but the concept and the assignments were very neat.

por Kushwanth R

28 de jul. de 2020

Puzzles are great and its is fun learning the course but the problem is with the programming assignments. they are bit annoying. Even using programming in the video lecture its hard to find the relation b/w programming and mathematics.

por MD. M I

18 de may. de 2020

It was great in terms of everything. But, I didn't like the thing that some assignments support the only python. They should include C++ and java also... Struggled in coding python just that's it. But it was great overall.

por Dang T M N

27 de jul. de 2020

The course provides useful knowledge to improve mathematical thinking. I have learnt a lot from the course. The programming exercises are interesting and motivate me to apply what I have learnt into solving problems.

por Callum T

20 de jun. de 2020

Great course that asks questions as you go along, my only issue is that for some parts of the course, a lot of content is covered and not all aspects have a question to ensure you actually understand it.

por Jacob K

9 de ene. de 2021

I personally have very limited coding skills. this course was able to build my funadmentals in both math and science while understanding more of the bridge between the two. Very thankful for it.

por Mohamed H I

16 de sep. de 2020

Positive: Great material, full of concepts, the teaching is simple and interactive, quizzes are amazing.

Negative: Too much python programming (need to be aware of python basics)

por 17IT031 J S K R

15 de jun. de 2020

Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science course is very interesting to solve the puzzles and to think solutions in more than one way, This was surely enthusiastic :-)

por Dian Y T S S

22 de jul. de 2020

I love this course because it's make math not so boring, every puzzle is very challenging, hope sometime in the future I can meet with all the lecturer in this course.

por Vasiliy I

17 de may. de 2020

Excellent course, I especially liked the manner of presentation by Alexander Shen, where before voicing the solution or proof, you are invited to get to it by yourself

por Aditya V M

29 de ago. de 2020

Hi ,I am Aditya

i Really Enjoyed this Course, This course gives a lot of Puzzels and Riddles and it's really fun to solve them , I am moving Towards Next cource now

por David C

24 de ago. de 2020

Good introduction to computer science in term of mathematics but need some improvements in week 5, deeper explanation is needed. However, overall is good

por Gunjan B

5 de jun. de 2020

Amazing experience. This course has interactive puzzles and then theoretical explanation about the mathematics used in solving computer science problems.

por Jherson A M C

19 de may. de 2020

It's a very dynamic course, fun and easy to understand. Teaches you the essentials of mathematical thinking, and works perfectly as an introduction.

por Matam V

15 de may. de 2020

One of the BEST courses to take up when you are bored!

Helps your way of thinking a lot! Though I personally feel a few bugs need to be fixed.

por 221910304019 G K

22 de dic. de 2020

This course was really interesting , i enjoyed it a lot. There was so tricky questions too, which made me to take a break and think again.

por YANSKY

22 de may. de 2020

Great course! All of the lesson are delivered clearly. The exercise was also relevant and very useful for understanding the material.

por Sangeeth S V

9 de sep. de 2020

Amazing. Really enjoyed the puzzles. I think this is the fastest i've ever finished a course because that's how interesting it was.

por Chyuan S H

15 de oct. de 2020

Great Math, great attempts at teaching it, proofs are some times complicated and will take some time to wrap one's head around it.

por Mohaimen S

5 de sep. de 2020

This course was amazing.Alexander Shen sir has awesome power to take attention.His sound and the style of teaching is really nice.