Chevron Left
Volver a Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.4
estrellas
1,558 calificaciones
371 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

Principales reseñas

AD

Mar 26, 2019

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

CW

Feb 02, 2020

I loved this course! So many interesting things to think about, thoughtfully explained by brilliant instructors. The puzzles really get you thinking. Such genius to put them before the lectures!

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 363 revisiones para Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

por Dang T M N

Jul 27, 2020

The course provides useful knowledge to improve mathematical thinking. I have learnt a lot from the course. The programming exercises are interesting and motivate me to apply what I have learnt into solving problems.

por Callum T

Jun 20, 2020

Great course that asks questions as you go along, my only issue is that for some parts of the course, a lot of content is covered and not all aspects have a question to ensure you actually understand it.

por yonas a

May 24, 2020

I have come to know how mathematical proof is fun thing to do, this course transformed me, i highly recommend it to every one. I would like to thank every one involved in providing this course.

por Mohamed A H

Jun 26, 2020

This course will improve your problem solving skills and gives you a rigorous explanation in how to counter various mathematical problems in the real life. You will think like a mathematician.

por Mohamed H I

Sep 16, 2020

Positive: Great material, full of concepts, the teaching is simple and interactive, quizzes are amazing.

Negative: Too much python programming (need to be aware of python basics)

por JEYA S K R

Jun 15, 2020

Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science course is very interesting to solve the puzzles and to think solutions in more than one way, This was surely enthusiastic :-)

por Dian Y T S S

Jul 22, 2020

I love this course because it's make math not so boring, every puzzle is very challenging, hope sometime in the future I can meet with all the lecturer in this course.

por Vasiliy I

May 17, 2020

Excellent course, I especially liked the manner of presentation by Alexander Shen, where before voicing the solution or proof, you are invited to get to it by yourself

por Aditya V M

Aug 29, 2020

Hi ,I am Aditya

i Really Enjoyed this Course, This course gives a lot of Puzzels and Riddles and it's really fun to solve them , I am moving Towards Next cource now

por David C

Aug 24, 2020

Good introduction to computer science in term of mathematics but need some improvements in week 5, deeper explanation is needed. However, overall is good

por Gunjan B

Jun 06, 2020

Amazing experience. This course has interactive puzzles and then theoretical explanation about the mathematics used in solving computer science problems.

por Jherson A M C

May 19, 2020

It's a very dynamic course, fun and easy to understand. Teaches you the essentials of mathematical thinking, and works perfectly as an introduction.

por Matam V

May 15, 2020

One of the BEST courses to take up when you are bored!

Helps your way of thinking a lot! Though I personally feel a few bugs need to be fixed.

por YANSKY

May 22, 2020

Great course! All of the lesson are delivered clearly. The exercise was also relevant and very useful for understanding the material.

por Sangeeth S V

Sep 09, 2020

Amazing. Really enjoyed the puzzles. I think this is the fastest i've ever finished a course because that's how interesting it was.

por Mohaimen S

Sep 05, 2020

This course was amazing.Alexander Shen sir has awesome power to take attention.His sound and the style of teaching is really nice.

por Alagappan S

Jun 10, 2020

Would be better if we could get a hold of the python algorithm to solve the 15 puzzle. Couldn't learn/solve that by the end

por Prakhar j

Sep 01, 2020

this course is quite good for implementing logics behind mathematical problems in programming i really like the course !!!

por PURVA G

Aug 10, 2020

Made my basics very strong. The course is designed very well and gives you everything you expect out of it , even more .

por Mohit D

Jul 06, 2020

This was a very well taught course with an interesting curriculum. Note: Previous python experience is recommended

por djm

Aug 22, 2020

Exceptional explanation by professors. The problems were worth solving and I have enjoyed a lot in the process.

por Liz M

Aug 16, 2020

This is a great course. It supplemented my discrete maths courses at school and helped solidify many concepts.

por Marcos M M

Sep 01, 2020

Excelente curso, recomendable, he sufrido un poco por el inglés; debería haber también en español. GRACIAS.

por Sanjesh C

Jun 30, 2020

This course is really engaging and fun. I really enjoyed it. Anyone who loves puzzles must check the out.