Chevron Left
Volver a Write Like Mozart: An Introduction to Classical Music Composition

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Write Like Mozart: An Introduction to Classical Music Composition por parte de Universidad Nacional de Singapur

4.9
270 calificaciones
81 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course introduces students to strategies for style writing of common practice European art music. The issues of harmonic progression, voice leading, and texture are addressed in addition to relevant compositional concepts like repetition, variation, and elaboration. The course aims to offer a creative space even within the restrictions of stylistic emulation....

Principales revisiones

UK

May 29, 2018

this course helped me a lot. The instructor is really interactive and i really recommend this course for anybody looking to learn classical music composition

SS

Jun 18, 2016

An excellent lecture by Peter Edwards but couldn't attend it due to academic pressure.Hope will get similar courses in the near future.Thank you

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 78 revisiones para Write Like Mozart: An Introduction to Classical Music Composition

por Chi W J

Nov 07, 2017

Very comprehensive details course. Suitable for students who need to refresh their Harmony knowledge and composition skill.

por Sam T

Jul 19, 2016

This is an excellent course and it really pushes you hard to learn Classical Composition. There are a few problems, however.

Minor quibbles:

1) The instructor does not really explain Parallel Perfect Fifths or Octaves; I had to look them up on my own. They deserve a whole lecture.

2) One of the assignment solutions has a Parallel Octave by contrary motion, which is not supposed to be allowed.

3) He also neglected to explain the Harmonic Minor Key being used for minor chords in his Lecture 0 of Week 2. Just a very short explanation would have saved me 40 minutes of stressful researching, confusion, and doubts about my own sanity ;)

The biggest problem:

This course should really be an 8- or 12-week course. The weeks are very densely packed. In Week 2, I worked 3-4 hours every day, and then was greeted by 11 classes due in 7 days when I opened Week 3. The assignments are rated 10 or 20 minutes but actually take about 2 hours. It would often take me thirty minutes to an hour to get through one 5-15 minute video. (I do take detailed notes and do recall and mnemonic drills along the way, however). If you are already solidly grounded in music theory and have much of voice leading on autopilot, this class is faster.

That said, I would not want him to cut out anything. Every class so far has been necessary. It has taken me from almost 0 musical theory understanding to feeling very comfortable with advanced concepts, all in an extremely short time.

If you try to complete all of his video examples just before he does them, they work like a charm. I came here to get solid skills, and Just three weeks in I feel like I have made a years' worth of progress.

I highly recommend this course, but know the kind of work you are getting into.

por Emma R ( P

Jan 19, 2018

very helpful

por William S

Jan 30, 2018

Great course. Excellent teacher. The course is well thought out, concise, understandable and efficiently covers a lot of material.

por Zohar S

Feb 28, 2019

The course is good for getting a first experience in writing harmonic progressions. However, the main problem with the course is the peer-reviewed assignment. Since not many students are taking the course, the system couldn't supply four students' assignments to review, thus I had to search the forum for assignments to review (students who pasted links to their works and asked for reviews). In order to review four works, I had to search for assignments that were handed in more than a year ago... By the same token, not many students reviewed my work. Maybe replacing the peer-reviewed assignment with a final quiz would work better for this course.

por Yogesh T

Dec 21, 2018

What an approach towards composition

por Gládiston d S C

Dec 28, 2018

Thaís course Washington excellent, thank you Very much!

por Kenneth B

Jul 23, 2017

Excellent course.

por David A G S

May 24, 2016

Very full content of this course , the teacher does very well . Too bad it does not have subtitles in Spanish , it would be perfect if I had .

por Juan F Q A

Mar 04, 2018

Excelente curso.

por Ignacio T A

Dec 08, 2016

Excellent. This course is really an opportunity to enjoy composing like mozart!

por Utkarsh K

May 29, 2018

this course helped me a lot. The instructor is really interactive and i really recommend this course for anybody looking to learn classical music composition

por Daniel P

Jun 04, 2017

great class! the teacher teach with patience and the class help me learn how to compose by steps

por Daniel

Nov 24, 2016

Very Good, Excellent

por Brad

Jun 20, 2017

Very helpful course. I would love to see one from the lecturer on more advanced counterpoint and fugue.

por Richard B

Oct 08, 2016

Interesting content, good instructor

por Nicolás M C

Nov 11, 2016

excelente

por Gordon F B J

Jan 22, 2018

As a conductor, performer, writer, theorist, educator, I'm finding this course to be accurate as well as diverting from my everyday life. It's a great general review of the "basics". Even though I'm an experienced jazz and classical musician, I find that strong "fundamentals" are important to learn and relearn. And, considering my focus has, for so long a time, been on 20th and 21st century practices, I'm loving this opportunity to get back into earlier centuries of thinking. Bach, Mozart, and Beethoven are totally worth understanding, even for those concentrated on so called "modern" ways of thinking and writing.

por fernando V S

Aug 05, 2017

This is an Amazing Course. Too Complete and i need to say that Peter E. gives all that he knows for this. I don't think in an near end... it's just the beginning of a great Adventure. Thanks So Much University of Singapore for give me the chance to Become Better.

por Hai y

Jun 07, 2018

TQ

por James A

Sep 04, 2016

This course helped me to understand what is involved in music composition.

por Audrey K

Mar 10, 2017

Loved it! Very challenging, but I learned so much. It will definitely help me write music in the future.

por Eva B

Mar 21, 2017

Lovely course. So nice to learn more about the chords.

por loussana

Oct 22, 2017

i really love it so good

por Rodrigo R M

May 29, 2016

Very deep and fluid course.