Chevron Left
Volver a Write Like Mozart: An Introduction to Classical Music Composition

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Write Like Mozart: An Introduction to Classical Music Composition por parte de Universidad Nacional de Singapur

4.9
263 calificaciones
80 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course introduces students to strategies for style writing of common practice European art music. The issues of harmonic progression, voice leading, and texture are addressed in addition to relevant compositional concepts like repetition, variation, and elaboration. The course aims to offer a creative space even within the restrictions of stylistic emulation....

Principales revisiones

UK

May 29, 2018

this course helped me a lot. The instructor is really interactive and i really recommend this course for anybody looking to learn classical music composition

SS

Jun 18, 2016

An excellent lecture by Peter Edwards but couldn't attend it due to academic pressure.Hope will get similar courses in the near future.Thank you

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 77 revisiones para Write Like Mozart: An Introduction to Classical Music Composition

por Chi W J

Nov 07, 2017

Very comprehensive details course. Suitable for students who need to refresh their Harmony knowledge and composition skill.

por Emma R ( P

Jan 19, 2018

very helpful

por William S

Jan 30, 2018

Great course. Excellent teacher. The course is well thought out, concise, understandable and efficiently covers a lot of material.

por Gládiston d S C

Dec 28, 2018

Thaís course Washington excellent, thank you Very much!

por Morganne A

Apr 01, 2019

Very helpful review. I have graduate entrance exams coming up, and I don't want to be placed in a graduate harmony review class. This course is a good refresher, and the professor is clear and articulate.

I would not recommend this to someone who does not already have at least a bit of music theory background. At the very least students should already read treble and bass clefs, know intervals, diatonic chords, the major scale, and various forms of minor. The professor lets students know what knowledge he already expects in the opening lecture.

If you are struggling with voice leading in an undergraduate theory class, this course would be a great supplement.

por Yogesh T

Dec 21, 2018

What an approach towards composition

por Mauricio I F B

Sep 10, 2018

Muy completo, buenas explicaciones. Se aprende mucho en el Curso.

por Emma L

Aug 12, 2018

It was very basic in my opinion, though very enjoyable and informative! I would love for there to be a more advanced version of this course in the future, also including some romantic era composition.

por Alexander M

Aug 30, 2018

This is an excellent course. I learnt so much! I write electronic music and while I knew the basics of music theory I was not sure how actually to come up with a cord progression or harmonize the melody.

The course really make a huge difference for me. I can now read music from staff and compose chord progressions easily.

I like especially guided practices and home assignments.

por Julio M G J

Oct 11, 2018

Incredible course! I've learnt more than I could possibly imagine! The best course I've ever enrolled.

por Danila G

Oct 24, 2018

This is an advanced in-depth course that will make you feel a real music theorist. Make sure you are fully familiar with the material of introductory courses in Music Theory and have no difficulty with reading chords and their inversions to make most use of it!

por Jeremy

Jul 22, 2017

The course was a genuinely excellent introduction into Common Practice era compositional techniques. As a practicing musician with no compositional experience, I found the course excellently paced - demanding, but achievable and the course leads up to composition of a non-trivial piece in the style of Mozart et al. Thoroughly recommended for those who are interested in learning the fundamental principles of Common Practice (classical) era composition.

por Robert D

Aug 14, 2016

This is an excellent course. I cannot imagine better coverage in six weeks. Peter Edwards is a first class teacher and I hope he will do some other MOOC on a musical topic - I would certainly join it. The course has been an introduction that has already helped deepen my understanding of this period of music, and it has given me the desire to study these matters more fully.

por Béatrice A

May 22, 2016

The course is complete and clear (even better than the one in my conservatory ) I hope there will be course on orchestration ,even if it is paid I would take it ,thank you so much professor Edward.

por Angelina W

Sep 05, 2016

Contains a lot of information for the short course time, but well worth taking even if you can't complete all of the work. It applies a lot of music theory, so consider it the hands-on practice for all of those theory lectures you might have taken.

por Renny G L

Dec 06, 2016

Great course!

por Williamnayeri

Aug 18, 2016

If you know harmony it's Excellent!if you don't know it's good but difficult!

por suresh s

Jun 18, 2016

An excellent lecture by Peter Edwards but couldn't attend it due to academic pressure.Hope will get similar courses in the near future.Thank you

por Iane K A Q

Sep 11, 2017

No doubt, this course gives you nothing but excellent learning. Thank you Coursera

por Léo S

Sep 07, 2016

Absolutely fantastic, Edward is a wonderful pedagogue, thank you so very much for this course

por Daniel

Nov 24, 2016

Very Good, Excellent

por Brad

Jun 20, 2017

Very helpful course. I would love to see one from the lecturer on more advanced counterpoint and fugue.

por Pearl S

Sep 01, 2017

Very Informative

por Mary B

May 10, 2016

Fantastic course.

por Don H

Mar 29, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. Lots of useful information about composing music.