Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Communication Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Communication Science por parte de Universidad de Ámsterdam

4.7
estrellas
1,666 calificaciones
373 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Since Antiquity, scholars have appreciated the importance of communication: as social beings, we cannot exist without communication. We need to interact with people around us, to make sense of the world and to position ourselves in a wider social and cultural reality. In this course, we look at how and why communication evolved as a science and reflect on today’s dominant paradigms. The course also extends beyond the boundaries of communication science itself, exploring dimensions of history, sociology and psychology. Join our class, together with people all over the world. Introduction to Communication Science explores some of the basic theories, models and concepts from the fields of mass, interpersonal and intrapersonal communication. The course begins with a consideration of several basic models, subsequently progressing to the history of communication theory, linear effect-oriented theories, the reception approach and, finally, exploring theories on the production and reinforcement of culture through communication. Upon completion of this course, students should: • have knowledge of the history and development of communication science; • have knowledge of the dominant theoretical approaches within communication science; • have knowledge and understanding of the most important models and concepts in this field. Beginning the week of February 16, 2015, you will be able to join Signature Track, a system that verifies your identity when you take an exam. This option will allow you to earn a Verified Certificate, which provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Amsterdam logo. Before then, you can complete a “test run” of the exam. You can then re-take the exam after the Verified Certificate becomes available. For information regarding Verified Certificates, see https://courserahelp.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/201212399-Verified-Certificates"...

Principales reseñas

ZK

4 de mar. de 2020

It is wonderful course. I found that teaching methodology and exam every thing was perfect. My best wishes are for the Coursera as well university of Amsterdam for preparation of this useful course.

LS

20 de feb. de 2017

This course was incredibly delightful and very helpful, as a media and communication student, this course widened the information I had and helped me with my home university courses. Thank you!

Filtrar por:

326 - 350 de 367 revisiones para Introduction to Communication Science

por Joyael J

24 de may. de 2020

This course tells about mainly 'science' of communication

por Rosemay B

4 de sep. de 2015

It was interesting. Thank you for the french subtitle

por ARADHYA S

27 de abr. de 2020

the course was amazing and i have learned a lot .

por Smita K

28 de abr. de 2020

great to know the major aspects of communication

por Paulus R

28 de oct. de 2016

Give me new perspective in communication science

por Eliana R d S

3 de jul. de 2016

Estou adorando o curso. Muito bem estruturado!

por Marco S

19 de mar. de 2018

Way too many quizes! Otherwise interesting.

por Freddie

4 de sep. de 2015

Very interesting and informative course.

por Aishwarya A

25 de may. de 2020

Loved the structure of this course!

por Zsuzsanna K T

25 de sep. de 2015

Informative though a little basic.

por Rahul M

4 de may. de 2020

It was indeed a wonderful course.

por Natalia P

8 de oct. de 2015

Very interesting and engaging!

por Edgar M

5 de sep. de 2015

A ver good course!

por Durgesh T C

22 de jun. de 2020

Great Experience

por Xiaoshuang F

6 de ene. de 2016

nice teaching

por Shirley K

27 de sep. de 2020

fun course!

por Jacopo C

25 de abr. de 2020

Very good

por Narendra P M

4 de jun. de 2020

Nice

por MILIND L T

28 de may. de 2020

NICE

por S. R

16 de may. de 2020

The best thing about this course is the graphics used in the lectures. The course was informative, of course. But the lectures were kind of boring and it's very difficult to pay attention when the teacher himself or herself seems distant and not interested. The worst thing is the distribution of the lectures. There was too much load per week. This clearly was an eight-week course! There is a quiz where none of the given options is correct! I tried them all but never had the correct answer.

Otherwise, I enjoyed learning the course, I got to know about new things. Thank you all.

por Yu S

6 de sep. de 2015

The course is all comprehensive about models and concepts of communication science, however the break-down into small lectures turn out to be too brief in my opinion to develop rich understanding of the subject. It would be more conducive that lecturer expands more on the cutting edge study and research, to give people a sense of the finding of the field and its benefits.

por Vabis E D

14 de ago. de 2015

The videos lacks clarity, not loud enough and at instances it's ungrammatical.

Certainly, there ALWAYS WILL be scope of improvement and although, it was moderately enlightening, thank you for producing this course (quite credibly flexible)

por Pritom D

29 de may. de 2020

I praise for the method that has been applied on this course.But personally i have some dissappointment on it.It should be more effective on the lectures.

But i really praise about the system of quiz. Thank you.

por Anick-Marie B

7 de sep. de 2015

I'm leaving because I can't keep up with an 8 week course given in 4 weeks, and even less if the course keep on refering to the 8 weeks time frame. A pity, I loved this course.

por Taylor R

7 de nov. de 2015

This is a brief overview, basically food for thought. I liked the small portions this course was broken into, it made it all the more accessible.