Chevron Left
Volver a Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.9
estrellas
2,420 calificaciones
841 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology is a 12-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of non-avian dinosaurs. Topics covered: anatomy, eating, locomotion, growth, environmental and behavioral adaptations, origins and extinction. Lessons are delivered from museums, fossil-preparation labs and dig sites. Estimated workload: 3-5 hrs/week....

Principales reseñas

JH
5 de abr. de 2017

Thank you for this excellent course! I really enjoyed the short videos, the concise notes, and quick quizzes (both at the end of each lesson, as well as the main point quizzes throughout the videos).

PM
17 de oct. de 2020

Even as a dinosaur nerd, I still learned a lot. Instructional videos with embedded quizzes were very well constructed. I'm just a bit bummed that I couldn't access the fossil viewer for some reason.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 839 revisiones para Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology

por Diogo d L F

19 de jun. de 2020

I was always fascinated by dinosaurs, from a very young age, I even thought about pursuing a career as a paleontologist at some point (today I work with crocodilians!). The course was wonderful, I was able to revisit a lot that I had read when I was younger and learned many other things! Thank you very much to everyone who makes this amazing course possible!

por Destinee M

26 de oct. de 2019

I absolutely love this course. You can take efficient notes and refer back to the videos through them. Some small spelling errors in the notes but it is always an easy fix. Really interesting facts and information involving dinosaurs as well as some interactive puzzles and questions in the videos. Overall very fun and easy to do, even with a busy schedule.

por Sarah O

5 de jul. de 2020

This was a very useful, fun, and engaging course. Being a more-than-casual dinosaur fan already, I still learned so many new things and unlearned some false illusions I had regarding paleobiology. This course had great resources and was easy to follow along with. Thanks so much for such a wonderful time! I'm excited to continue my paleontology education!

por Alex P

28 de may. de 2018

A most informative, interesting, understandable course!

I must confess that I studied Biology and Geology (B.sc) and yet I had real fun refreshing what I know and learn new thing.

I am an english speaker, but it is not my first language, yet I understood everything, the speech was very clear and the PDFs for each class help.

Overall, a wonderfull course.

por Jessica W

14 de ago. de 2020

Great course, very well organized! The only issue is some dead links in the readings and the fossil viewer does not work. Otherwise I highly recommend this and it is well worth the time.

Side note...there is a big problem with a lack of representation of POC in paleontology. It would be nice of some of the presenters were members of the global majority.

por Sourav C

20 de jun. de 2017

It was a real pleasure for me to take this course. I had the opportunity to learn about so many aspects of ancient dinosaurs that were previously unknown to me. I am grateful to the team of University of Alberta and coursera for giving me the opportunity to learn more about this incredible subject. Thank you all for giving me the opportunity to learn .

por Amanda B

28 de may. de 2020

This course was set up nicely with lesson reading, videos, interactives, and quizzes. The instructors were very knowledgeable and presented information easily to those with no dino or minimal anthropology background. It was extremely helpful to me as I set up a fossils and findings course in my school. I would definitely take courses from them again!

por Yogi H C

10 de ene. de 2021

Amazing course. Detailed analysis and challenging quizzes. Some of the links is outdated and it was a quite a bummer but its still a good course overall. Recommended for a beginner who is interested in learning about Dinosaur. I planned to spent my leisure time on this course, instead I finished this course in a week. Its really an exciting course.

por Rohit P

4 de jun. de 2020

I am a zoology graduate and was in strict need for paleobiology knowledge. This course provided me with all that and more. The professors are great and they have put a lot of hardwork into buiding this course and it shows. This course in itself is very well put. Every little detail is well put, the tutor is friendly and the material is exceptional!

por Lyliah H

16 de ene. de 2021

I took this course for general interest and it delivered. I found it very interesting and mostly easy to understand. I feel that I know a lot more than I did before I started the course. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who has an interest or curiosity on the subject. It was well presented and interactive enough to keep my attention.

por Marcos G M

1 de nov. de 2018

Está genial este curso, sí que es verdad que algunas palabras son muy técnicas y yo algunas no las supe, pero en general se entiende y la traducción está perfecto. Me encanta este curso, está muy bien elaborado y para todo aquél "friki" de los dinosaurios, este curso es idóneo para aprender a conocerlos y estudiarlos. Muchas gracias. Un saludo.

por ERIC S R

16 de ago. de 2020

It´s an amazing course lo learn more about Dinosaurs ! I´m a geology student, I didn´t know many basic concepts of biology, but this course really helped me to learn more about biology and paleobiology. I really recommend this course !!! - Greetings from Torreón, Coahuila, México ! Eric Sánchez Ramos from the Universidad Autónoma de Chihuahua.

por Brian W

14 de sep. de 2020

A most amazing course. So much information and detail in so little time! It answered many questions so I can now understand many of the scientific articles I am ready. And the instructors were nothing short of phenominal. So clear, concise so that the course material was easy to understand. Congratulations - I cannot wait to see what's next.

por Dr. R G

28 de jun. de 2020

The Dino 101 course was brilliant in every sense. I enjoyed every bit of it. The excellent demonstrations and mode of discussions will help me a lot to enrich my existing knowledge of dinosaurs. Being an assistant professor of Zoology, I must appreciate the content, design of this beautiful course and encourage others to participate the same.

por Erin S

21 de jun. de 2020

This course was well-designed and carefully assembled. Text tracked well with the videos which had good production-value. I am a teacher during a pandemic, and I took this course as a sample (good or bad) of an online course. I was surprised by the quality and learned a lot about both paleobiology and student-friendly online course design.

por S K

19 de abr. de 2019

Was always intrigued about the dinosaurs and their lives. This course helped in understanding their times as well as introducing me to their morphology and anatomy. Overall, a great course for learning about the dinosaurs. This course is helpful for someone who is interested in learning about the evolution of reptiles, mammals and birds.

por Sheryl E

8 de dic. de 2020

An excellent primer into the origins, extinction, and overall what we currently know about the dinosaurs. The notes-video-quiz structure of the course was easy to follow along with and the overall structure of weekly topics flowed nicely. Would highly recommend this course to anyone looking for a self-directed introduction to paleobiology.

por hilton m

11 de ago. de 2020

loved it ! my inner child was awed and satisfied, maybe ill pursue this career.

the instructors were very clear , the notes before each lesson were very helpful and the course subjects were easy to understand. i highly recommend anyone reading the reviews to take this course!

those of you who put this course together are awesome! i loved it!

por Sarmad M

21 de jun. de 2020

This review is biased because i love dinosaurs. Always wanted to learn more about them. Never really got the chance to growing up. This is a great first place to start learning more about these majestic creatures! The lesson notes and the videos are well prepared for your basic dinosaur newbie. The fossil viewer was my favorite bit though!

por Marie-Chantale B

30 de ago. de 2018

This course was fantastic! I was only taking it for my own pleasure as I've always been interested in dinosaurs. It was easy to follow, even if you have no science or paleontology background like me. I highly recommend it. Congratulations to all of those you worked on building this class. I wish there was more online classes like yours.

por Thomas C C

19 de jul. de 2020

Fantastic beginners course on dinosaurs. My background is in anthropology, ancient DNA, and geology and it was great to apply some of those principles to another field. Before doing this course I thought palaeontology was too divergent for me to branch into despite having a hobbyist’s interest. Now it seems more plausible than ever!

por Sarah B

21 de feb. de 2019

This course was extremely informative and beautifully presented. An excellent grounding for the other paleontology courses offered by this passionate team from University of Alberta. I'm looking forward to diving into the more advanced courses from here on out. Thank you so much for all your hard work putting this course together!

por John J C

25 de dic. de 2018

I had many concepts and ideas I have read in books made much clearer to me by studying this course! Koodos to the instructors and all that were involved in creating it! As an added bonus, taking it helped with my computer operating skills. (Which were basically non-existent beforehand!) I definitely plan on taking more courses!