Chevron Left
Volver a Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation por parte de Museo Americano de Historia Natural

4.8
estrellas
2,852 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

This course is an introduction to ecology and ecosystem dynamics using a systems thinking lens. Through a case study on Mozambique's Gorongosa National Park, learners will explore how scientists study ecosystems, and investigate the complex array of factors that inform management efforts. At the end of the course, learners will be able to grapple with real-world conservation questions, such as whether an ecosystem can recover from anthropogenic disruption and what role humans can, and should, play in that recovery....

Principales reseñas

AJ

1 de jun. de 2019

This was particularly in-depth on the sciences of ecology, and having it based around a particular conservation project made it easier to follow each progressive lecture and concept that was explored.

YH

3 de ene. de 2021

One of the best course, I have ever taken. The materials is not hard to follow and the in-depth explanation gives you a proper new perspective which is still open to debate due to conservation topic

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 781 revisiones para Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

por Ianina O

24 de mar. de 2021

I'm amazed by the clarity and depth of these lectures. It's mind blowing how the vision about what we need to change, clears out. Our approach and decision making is key to achieve a more sustainable way of life for this planet.

But then again the saying: "it's in its nature" becomes self-explanatory when we wonder why we struggle so hard to get there, right?

por Заплитный И Д

26 de may. de 2019

Thank you very much for your hard but so fruitful work. For me, as a political scientist, it was extremely interesting to learn about various aspects of the formation, management and preservation of the environment, to get acquainted with the various theories and views of scientists-practitioners on such urgent and disturbing problems. From Russia with love.

por Shinad K

16 de may. de 2020

I am a post graduate in zoology especially on the field of biodiversity conservation and management, so I am very interested in ecology and conservation of biodiversity. So, for that this course is an excellent one for people to get ideas about ecology and their conservation strategies. We can earn from the organisms level or species level to the biosphere.

por José

7 de jun. de 2020

i would like to state how much i enjoyed this course, and how motivating i found it. I believe it's very well organized and complete, meeting many key ecological concepts and taking into account the human roll in conservation, which is becoming more and more important. Many thanks and congratulations to the team behind this course, you did a great job!

José

por Micaela R

6 de ago. de 2019

As an environmental manager, there weren't many new topics for me, but I did learn more details and acquired richness to knowledge I already had. I did, though, learn a lot about conservation efforts and system thinking. This is an amazing course, clear enough for beginners and rich enough for experienced environmentalists/ecologists to enjoy both alike.

por KALYANI L

27 de may. de 2020

Ecology can no longer be termed as field of study for environmentalists and nature enthusiasts. As termed in the course, we are in the era called Anthropocene and we are the major players of the entire world. This also comes with the novel and pristine responsibility. We humans have to protect what is ours- the amazing biodiversity of the planet Earth.

por Ella M

20 de abr. de 2020

I am a Scottish high school student currently studying biology and I wanted to learn more about ecology and conservation practices. I completed this course whilst at home because of the current covid-19 situation and it has kept me occupied and interested and left with the desire to learn more about ecology and human impacts on biodiversity, thank you!

por Nikhil D

13 de nov. de 2020

Great overview of ecosystems, with captivating examples and fascinating lectures to keep the learner's attention. Not too technical in nature and broad enough to engage anyone, while it is contextualized for today's current challenges faced. The only assignments are multiple choice tests that are simple enough with a review of material. Great course!

por Theresa W

28 de jul. de 2020

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot! As a current college student studying biology, I found this course very valuable for looking at ecology from a broader perspective and especially appreciated the numerous examples included. It would be hard to come away from this course without looking at at least some aspects of ecology in a new light.

por Aditya S

8 de ago. de 2022

Splendid course! Systems thinking and thinking about the different stakeholder perspectives that goes into ecosystem and biodiversity preservation was something that was definitely new to me. This course proved to me how interconnected different abiotic and biotic factors of each ecosystem actually are. Would 100% recommend to everyone out there!

por Dean B

14 de mar. de 2019

Excellent content, examples, and lecturers. Thought the breadth and depth of the material was perfect. Extremely effective use of Gorongosa National Park throughout course. Enjoyed the scenes shot in the park. Appreciated the inclusion of a little math/modeling. Very satisfied with this course, enjoyed it, and feel much more knowledgeable.

por Taylor H

28 de jun. de 2020

This course was extremely interesting and useful! I am a second-year veterinary student who hopes to practice conservation medicine once I graduate. I wanted to take a supplemental course that taught me about conservation and ecology. This course was perfect for that and was packed with useful information. I highly suggest taking this course.

por Eva B

20 de ene. de 2021

I enrolled in this course to get a better understanding of ecology and the way conservation is carried out and ended up learning so much more than I could have hoped to! This course has taught me so much and was a brilliant thing to do in my spare time. The deadlines are flexible, and it was easy to understand. I would highly recommend it!

por Bhavya B D

21 de sep. de 2020

THANK YOU SO MUCH COURSERA ,

THIS WAS MY FIRST EXPERIENCE LEARNING ONLINE AND I HAVE SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED IT. ECOLOGY: ECOSYSTEM DYNAMICS AND CONSERVATION IS ONE OF THE BEST TOPIC TO LEARN. THE COURSE IS QUITE VERY INTERESTING FOR NEW LEARNERS OF LIFE SCIENCE. I AM GLAD THAT I GOT ANY OPPORTUNITY TO BE A PART OF IT AND EXPLORE MORE.

por Vaishnavi A

27 de jun. de 2020

Excellent course. I had read a lot about ecology and conservation through other mediums, but this course was essentially different for me as I was able to actually see and understand the problems that scientists face and how solutions are worked out ( the mathematical models) through the Gorongosa National Park example. Loved it.

por Sabrina

16 de abr. de 2020

Found this course provided a great introduction to what the study of Ecology is and the different topics you would learn about in pursuing this field of education. Would recommend that explanations be provided for each of the exam questions in order to further understand why an answer is correct or wrong. Great course, thank you!

por Soubhik M

9 de jul. de 2020

I have now a clear view to see a ecosystem, how it's work, it's function and effect in our life. The main theme of this course; how to say, an ecosystem is recovered? That is widely demonstrated through the entire course, i felt amaizing to get a chance to admit in the curriculum. Thank you for giving me a part in this project.

por Wendelien

8 de mar. de 2021

I've done about 5 different types of online courses and this was my favourite. The content was interesting, often challenging, and diverse. Also, the distribution of text vs lectures worked very well. I also think that the fact that real lectures, instead of a film of one speaker, were mostly used helped to make it interesting.

por Vladislav Z

16 de oct. de 2020

I enjoyed taking this MOOC, it contained a balanced mix of reading and video lectures, felt like it was the appropriate length while presenting a sufficient quantity of information, examples and thorough studies on Gorongosa National Park. Also, I felt that the information presented in this course is interesting and topical.

por Han H Z

15 de may. de 2020

A meaningful course that is simple to understand and emphasizes the importance of understanding how ecology works and, in a way, using nature itself to solve climate issues. The 'Systems thinking' concept is eye-opening for me and I see myself using it often now. Well done to every person involved in producing this course!

por Jingtian Z

26 de dic. de 2020

I like this course, I know about Gonragosa and how life become rare there. I also know how to think systemly, this is the basic of understanding ecosystems. I now how hard we try to recover Gonragosa's ecosystem. Have we successfully recover the ecosystem to pre-war status by killing waterbuck and producing other animals.

por James M

22 de ene. de 2022

This coarse provided the best overview of the subject of Ecology I have ever experienced. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a better understanding of ecology and ecosystems and why they are important. The bibliography in each section is comprehensive and points the way to further independent study opportunities.

por Khoa M

15 de ago. de 2021

I love this course for how eye-opening it can be. The essay readings can be quite tedious, but there are also recorded lectures that I find very interesting. It'd be great if the answers to quiz can be shown to us after we finish them. Other than that, I've learned so much from this course, and I'm so grateful for that.

por Anouck M

18 de abr. de 2022

Très bon MOOC. On y retrouve les principales notions abordées en licence. Le mix de cours, reportages, conférences est très enrichissant, d'autant plus qu'il s'appilque à une étude de cas. Les vidéos peuvent être sous-titrées en francais (attention: traduction littérale à revoir) en revanche les cours sont en anglais.

por Afshin A

18 de jul. de 2022

Thank you! A great course! Highly recommended for anyone unfamiliar with ecology as a discipline.

The course requires minimal background in the sciences. A knowledge of calculus is helpful if the student insists on understanding where the population formulas come from.

Thank you again! I learned a lot from this course.