Chevron Left
Volver a Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation por parte de Museo Americano de Historia Natural

4.8
estrellas
2,851 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

This course is an introduction to ecology and ecosystem dynamics using a systems thinking lens. Through a case study on Mozambique's Gorongosa National Park, learners will explore how scientists study ecosystems, and investigate the complex array of factors that inform management efforts. At the end of the course, learners will be able to grapple with real-world conservation questions, such as whether an ecosystem can recover from anthropogenic disruption and what role humans can, and should, play in that recovery....

Principales reseñas

AJ

1 de jun. de 2019

This was particularly in-depth on the sciences of ecology, and having it based around a particular conservation project made it easier to follow each progressive lecture and concept that was explored.

YH

3 de ene. de 2021

One of the best course, I have ever taken. The materials is not hard to follow and the in-depth explanation gives you a proper new perspective which is still open to debate due to conservation topic

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 781 revisiones para Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

por Autumn M K

2 de oct. de 2018

Great course, thank you very much! I learned a lot about ecology in general, and look forward to taking what I learned about restoration ecology, and the questions posed, forward to a tropical island restoration project where I will be volunteering. Thank you, again!

por Yusrin

16 de feb. de 2022

This course give a comprehensive idea how to tackle the fundamental problem on conservation. It gives you a new insight to acknowledge the interaction between a living organism in the ecosystem and better undertanding how human action could change the entire system

por Noorullah W

1 de may. de 2022

A​ wonderfully crafted course, the only thing which if could added would be awesome was few example from different part od globe. it was highly centric on US and Africa. nevertheless it was something which gives you a wholesome knowledge of Ecology. Thnak you

por Laurence B C

11 de jun. de 2020

The basic concepts of Ecology were explained comprehensively. Modules were arranged accordingly and the quizzes are tricky to answer. All the resources are present including the very good video lectures and comprehensive reading materials. Thank you so much!

por Clarisa G

15 de ago. de 2020

A great introduction to the field of ecology! The course is filled with interesting examples and real-life circumstances that facilitate the introduction of new concepts. Also poses great questions about the future of the field while exploring its past.

por Adewale O A

13 de may. de 2020

Being my first online course endeavor, I was surprised by how much I can learn in the short space of time with much available resources at my disposal. It was a great and unique experience as the course has honed my skills in becoming a conservationist.

por Divya B

5 de jun. de 2020

I found the course very captivating. Lying around Gorongosa National Park the course captures the essence of the ecology, ecosystem and conservation utilizing system-thinker-approach. I would like to recommend this course to aspiring conservationists.

por Isak W

16 de ago. de 2018

Overall very informative and accessible, and while it does give a good broader picture it also manages to pinpoint down and focus on those select things that really deserve a bit more of attention. Definitely a course I enjoyed and learned a lot from.

por Gbedonu B

25 de sep. de 2020

Ecology is the study of how organisms interact with one another and with their physical environment. The distribution and abundance of organisms on Earth is shaped by both biotic, living-organism-related, and abiotic, nonliving or physical, factors.

por Gloria J M

12 de ene. de 2021

I learned a different way of looking at our world and a more scientific approach to saving it. I will recommend this course to explore a possible career path that would be useful and satisfying. Local rewilding interests me now in my retirement.

por David M

7 de feb. de 2021

I really enjoyed this course. It was well presented, and I love the way that the national park was used to illustrate the different ecological theories, and give an insight into scientific work in progress and the lessons from that. Thank you

por Susan W

12 de jul. de 2019

I really enjoyed learning about ecology through the lens of the Gorongosa National Park. The information presented was interesting and engaging. I am very interested in following on with other subjects on Ecology in the near future. Thanks

por Utku K

24 de oct. de 2018

As a business management student, this course give me very wide detailed view about ecosystem dynamics and conservation. It was like 101 course for me and help to understand different patterns and processes in the field of ecosystem research.

por Jessica J

6 de ago. de 2018

An excellent course that covers a diverse array of topics, has engaging lectures and reading materials, and does an excellent job of emphasizing why conserving biodiversity is something every human should be concerned about and involved in.

por Dognie T

31 de dic. de 2020

First ever course on Coursera and glad I picked it. Fascinating and full of great examples with Gorongosa serving as a red line throughout the presentations and lectures. Perfect ratio of "raw" knowledge and matter for personal reflection.

por Brian N

30 de abr. de 2020

Was wonderful, and succinct, covering a good amount of the principles and even some methods involved in the science of Ecology. All the personalities were adept at presenting the information, and the papers by the course creators are 100%.

por gustavo c c

15 de may. de 2020

I learned new ways to see ecology, not only focus on the "biological" part but also consider ourselves part of these complex systems called ecosystems. Managing resources in a sustainable way is the best way to take care of the planet.

por WILLIAM K S

11 de may. de 2020

This course has been an interesting one and made me look at the current conservation issues from a different perspective. The teachers were amazing and their notes were simple and had much clarity. I have learnt a lot these past weeks.

por Dianne N

23 de jun. de 2020

Thank you for this excellent overview of ecology and conservation today. I am a retired teacher with a degree in Environmental Education. I rediscovered many concepts and practices, as well as learning something new and fascinating.

por Okoseimiema A J

26 de dic. de 2020

I had lots of things to do after going through the classes. I created time, studied and wrote the exams. I am so happy I passed. I learnt a lot about ecology - population, community, modeling etc and what to focus during restoration.

por Sudhanshu K

12 de jun. de 2021

This was a great learning experience with examples and lectures focused on most recent conservation stories, from Gorongosa. Normal academic course works never offer this much of knowledge and learning in such a short time period.

por Felipe O S

30 de abr. de 2020

Es un curso bastante interesante,es muy dinámico es excelente, es una experiencia única. Considero que todos deberían tomar un curso de este tipo, ya que nos permite comprender el impacto que tiene cada organismo en un ecosistema.

por Jay L

14 de mar. de 2022

Excellent and engaging course about ecosystem dynamics and conservation. Information was conices, essays were easy to understand. The videos chosen were also very engaging, the presenters clearly knowledgeable about their topics.

por Raul B G

30 de abr. de 2020

In my humble opinion, It was an amazing course that I totally recommend and I loved it, I never was able to approach to this topic at my university time as I did on this course. I will apply all this knowledge in future projects.

por Autumn W

14 de jun. de 2018

Absolutely fantastic course! Pertinent material, great evidence, plethora of additional readings for those who want to get more than just a grade out of the course, and lots of talent offering their expertise. Highly recommend.