Chevron Left
Volver a Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies por parte de Universidad de Londres

4.6
estrellas
255 calificaciones
89 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course is a short taster on the topic of the use of Images, Film, and their use in historical interpretation in the 20th century. It is primarily provided for those who have a general interest in history that draws on photojournalism as primary evidence, and films based on historical events. Once you have completed this course we hope you will be equipped to: Appreciate the significance of photographs as historical evidence in the twentieth century. Understand the limitations of the medium, and how we can attribute meaning to these individual records of 'one moment in time' while taking into account the circumstances in which any particular image was taken. Understand how individuals and institutions have looked to manipulate images to their own ends – through alteration and/or censorship – and what that meant to contemporary interpretation, as well as subsequent historical interpretation. Put individual images into a wider context, and in particular with reference to history written, or portrayed, beyond academia: public history. Do be aware that part of the contents of this course regard images and depiction of war. Real wars and real images....

Principales reseñas

MS
5 de jun. de 2020

This course provides students with the tools they need to analyse and understand visual history along with its deceiving nature that derived from the very character of film properties.

DD
18 de may. de 2021

It is a very informative course for history enthusiasts. It encourages critical thinking and interpretation of history in a unique way. I enjoyed and learned a lot in the 6 weeks.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 89 revisiones para Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies

por JOHN Q

13 de feb. de 2017

Fantastic course. I loved the examples of iconic photos which I had seen but now better understand their significance. I hadn't seen many of the Stalin photos, however. Its amazing how politicians can manipulate us ala George Orwell........

por Ayla T

14 de sep. de 2020

Thank you so much for this modern history and media relations course. It provided insight into understanding what is happening in the media's backyard and It's very inspired. I think I'll benefit a lot in my next works. Much obliged

por Mardohar B B S

6 de jun. de 2020

This course provides students with the tools they need to analyse and understand visual history along with its deceiving nature that derived from the very character of film properties.

por Felipe d J D H

3 de may. de 2021

A very interesting and engaging program, for a better understanding of the role an image (photography, film, propaganda) plays in the context of historical studies and interpretation.

por Divyanshi

19 de may. de 2021

It is a very informative course for history enthusiasts. It encourages critical thinking and interpretation of history in a unique way. I enjoyed and learned a lot in the 6 weeks.

por Mireya M O B

5 de may. de 2021

En general muy bueno todo, el enfoque desde la perspectiva de material audiovisual genera más atracción al los estudiantes, muy agradecida por haber recibido este curso.

por Nandini G

30 de dic. de 2021

The course, it enabled me to develop a sharper understanding of photographs and films as public history. I really enjoyed the peer graded assignments.

por NEDRET K

30 de dic. de 2020

An amazingly valuable course, creating the deepest insights for the history of world as well as films, images and photography...

Thanks Mr Sullivan

por Ana C d O

4 de may. de 2020

I really enjoyed the course! It gives a good overview of history and, mainly, about the use of photography and image in the historical context.

por Наталья А

9 de jun. de 2021

Excellent, deep course!! Interesting materials, links, practical orientation - these are the main advantages of the course! Thank you!

por VALERIA V M R

12 de jul. de 2021

Interesting, beautiful, and some time overwhelming... makes you think in the power of the images, in the history as the human memory

por Thaniyatul J S

24 de ago. de 2020

It's very informative and educative. I've a lot of new knowledge from this course. Thank you coursera for this platform to learn.

por Ruíz C J

11 de oct. de 2020

Es interesante la manera en la que aborda los temas y una manera diferente de ver la perspectiva de sucesos históricos

por June m

6 de may. de 2020

Excellent very interesting course and a great course leader Dr Emmett Sullivan well worth spending time on this.

por Ricardo J G V

10 de ago. de 2020

Great poin of view, relevant info, very clear classes. I wish there was a Part II to this course. Cheers.

por Christina A

24 de dic. de 2020

It was extremily intesting cource and really made me to care about the history of montern era.

por Abhijit G

17 de jun. de 2017

This course is very informative and structural in learning the relation of films and history.

por louis f d m p s

11 de may. de 2020

Thank you very much: Now I am sure that "the camera lies". I already have a new theme image.

por Prishitha M

27 de jul. de 2020

Great lesson learning experience for Media and Communication and Film Studies students.

por Nilesh A

14 de nov. de 2021

The course is absolutely amazing. really knowledgable thank you for the information.

por Paccelli Z

17 de abr. de 2020

Um curso excelente que desenvolve senso crítico sobre o uso de imagens na História.

por Rebeca S

14 de dic. de 2020

Really interesting course with a very deep dive into the materia. Thank you!

por Andriana G

18 de ene. de 2021

Great course learned so much stuff about history and a great professor

por Anupriya R

5 de sep. de 2020

What a great course! The insights are incredible. Highly recommended.

por Libardo G

21 de may. de 2018

Excellent material. Is a pain that dont be available in spanish