Chevron Left
Volver a Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender por parte de Universidad de Melbourne

4.6
estrellas
392 calificaciones
89 reseña

Acerca del Curso

What do paintings tell us about sex? How is art gendered? In this course we will study some of the world’s most beloved pictures guided by expert curators and art historians who step outside of the square, bringing a gendered reading to the masterpieces contained in the magnificent collections that we have been lucky enough to bring to the Coursera platform. In this course you will learn how: * Gender and sexuality is an integral part of the production and reception of works of art * To increase your understanding of paintings through theories of gender and sexuality * To understand key terms from gender-related theories of art history and museology * To recognise the operation of what is termed ‘the gaze’ and how it works in relation to paintings * Ideas about gender and sexuality can productively be employed in theorising art curatorial practices * To take the initiative in relating theoretical ideas about gender and sexuality to the reading and display of art and visual cultures. View the MOOC promotional video here: http://tinyurl.com/hm7qbl3...

Principales reseñas

EF
20 de may. de 2021

Thanks for the opportunity of this course which was interesting and very well presented .The single inconvenience was Quiz # 9 which was not only difficult but very chaotic to understand and follow.

IC
29 de may. de 2020

Very interesting and complete -a great window into several art galleries (especially now, during the context of COVID-19!), styles, personalities and iconic works of art.

Filtrar por:

76 - 90 de 90 revisiones para Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender

por Caroline M

30 de sep. de 2021

I found this course very interesting, especially the content of Week 9, which was fascinating and has encouraged me to research more on Australian Indigenous Art.

por Kristen H

17 de may. de 2017

Very interesting content and insights. I would have liked a bit more of an intro on gender theory and concepts relating to art before jumping into the artwork.

por James S

27 de ene. de 2017

Good course. Coming from a traditional art historical context/content. Which is still a very valuable methodology in this age of "Visual Culture"! Thank you.

por Linda B

23 de jul. de 2021

This course gave a comprehensive survey of issues relating to women and art. I loved the choice of artists and the historical context.

por Márcia B

4 de may. de 2017

It is an great course with an amazing content!

The only problem is that sometimes it gets extremely monotonous =/

por Margaret S C

1 de oct. de 2016

Very well illustrated and organized course. Points made very clearly. Good learning experience.

por Dionne L

6 de ene. de 2020

Enjoyed this course, in particular the section on Indigenous art.

por Zélie L

16 de ago. de 2017

Great course, with very fine details.

por Silvia S

10 de oct. de 2020

Very interesting I learnt a lot .

por Jiayu Z

16 de jul. de 2017

内容非常有趣,老师讲得比较容易听懂。

por Francisco L

8 de ago. de 2019

Mi idea sobre el curso al parecer estaba sobrevalorada, en el tiempo que lo he seguido he encontrado muy flojos los videos y el contenido en general y detalles muy molestos. Las introducciones a los videos duran 1,30 minutos, duración exagerada como introduccion a un video de duración 5 minutos de media. Las manchas negruzcas como de tinta en los videos entorpecen, tapan lo que se quiere mostrar y por tanto son molestas y torpes. Lo siento porque el contenido era muy interesante pero a mi juicio muy mal planificado.

por -

25 de abr. de 2016

Some interesting lessons, yet a rather boring presentation as most faculty were reading their scripts, or seemed nearly jet-lagged in some lessons. Sound recording is sometimes also perfectible (echo due to large museum room).

One may also take into consideration that the perspective given in the course is a bit "Australian-centric". I should have expected this as the course came from the University of Melbourne, but I have the feeling that some courses on Coursera feel a bit more "global"...

por Eduardo L V

16 de jun. de 2020

All the content is great, the course is really well designed interesting, maybe some times I wished for more technical information rather that someones opinions but that's just me, the reason I give it 3 stars is the lecturers, a course or two on how to engage an audience wold not do any harm.

por Deon M

14 de jun. de 2016

Very good information with a fantastic understanding of the variety of artists. However, I almost dreaded logging in to watch the lectures; they were often boring me to tears. Were this information presented in a more engaging way, this review would be much higher.

por Caroline F

28 de dic. de 2016

Superinteresting subject, but since I did not have access to all the literature through the website I was not able to finish it unfortunatly