Chevron Left
Volver a Global Energy and Climate Policy

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Global Energy and Climate Policy por parte de Universidad de Londres

4.7
estrellas
535 calificaciones
193 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The Global Energy and Climate Policy course offers an introduction to the theoretical and practical understanding of how energy and climate change policies are designed, shaped, advocated and implemented. As energy markets go truly global, domestic energy policies are becoming more and more entangled with wider issues of international governance. Concurrently, the urgent need to mitigate and adapt to climate change and transition to a low-carbon future is adding a further layer of complexity. The course is aimed broadly at people interested in learning more about interconnected issues in energy and climate policy globally. It assumes a level of interest but no necessary previous knowledge. However, the course also offers sufficient up to date research and new critical perspectives to be of interest to people with expertise in or academic familiarity with the topic as well. The main aim of the course is to provide this wide-ranging introduction in a self-contained, but in-depth form, alongside the important practical skills necessary to understand and discuss energy and climate policy, and lay the groundwork for greater engagement in the future – either through academic study, in the public, private or not-for-profit sectors....

Principales reseñas

ST

14 de oct. de 2021

The course has provided the excellent knowledge about the need to switch over from fossil fuels to renewable energy sources to save our environment, climate and also strong economy in coming futures.

SN

22 de abr. de 2019

I loved the course. It is very important for beginners to understand climate change and policy before committing to their careers and this course if perfect for people diving deep into this sector.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 193 revisiones para Global Energy and Climate Policy

por Paul T

6 de ago. de 2020

The videos /discussion format works well and provides a range of views which is an important part of the process. The reading material likewise was good but on several occasions the links to the reading material did not work or were out of date. Sometimes they could be found by google/bing searches but not always or they were behind some sort of firewall requiring permission. This was frustrating.

The peer review of assessment processes can be confusing. Some of the assessments I was asked to review were clearly not serious. With only 10 words submitted. But some of the assessments I were reviewed were excellent showing strong knowledge and engagement.

por Dakshkumar M

30 de jun. de 2020

This is course is designed in a very good manner. Within 5 weeks of time, I learned many important things about energy policy and security. Additionally, it has a weekly task of writing a summary at the end of every module. However, there are some drawbacks of this course e.g. it has poor translation in many places, it cannot differentiate of speakers view (single paragraph instead of diving into several.), free course, but the price is a little bit higher, etc.

Overall is good.

por Peter M

4 de mar. de 2021

This course provides a great introduction to climate and energy policy and how these two areas of policy are becoming more integrated. The interview videos provide interesting discussions on the weekly topics with university and industry fellows. The peer-review system does have its drawbacks, in that its often the case the reviews you receive are too brief and sub-par. And the content is getting a bit outdated, as I believe this came out around 2015. Overall, great course.

por Jessica W

31 de may. de 2021

I enjoyed the course information from the lecturers but there should be a way to report people abusing the system. When the course relies on peer review it is annoying to have people copy and pasting irrelevant text from sites in order to bypass the process of doing the tasks and also leaving two word assessments of your work. Also many of the links for the further reading are broken. Other than those points I enjoyed the content and doing the assignments.

por Raghavi K

22 de ago. de 2019

The videos were not too helpful, but the referenced reading material was great, and truly depicted the range and complexity of energy systems. While I work in the energy industry and experience it on a day-to-day basis, I still took away a lot from the course. The flexible deadlines also helped me to keep up with the course. Many thanks to Coursera and SOAS Faculty!

por Chan T W

2 de ene. de 2021

The course offers different views of experts in different fields - energy, law, environment, diplomatic policies.

However, some reading materials are no longer accessible (this needs to search the article online, lucky if available elsewhere) or need request to the author (one thing I don't like about the using researchgate.net), this slows down the progress.

por Duncan R

28 de jun. de 2020

Good debate within the video lecture which comprise short talking head type sessions, many insightful comments particularly from Dr Knell of the IHS Markit group. Needs better curation of the reading texts - some of the hyperlinks are borken/non-existent web pages. The peer reviewed exercises are probably not the best form of examination.

por Marta W

23 de abr. de 2020

Overall, the course was very satisfying. It led though many facets of climate and energy policies, shaping a global picture of connections between them. However, some concepts introducted in subseqent parts of the material were not sufficiently explained, and assigned readings were not always up to date or chosen well for a certain topic.

por Dan K

15 de feb. de 2021

This was a very strong course; I enjoyed it immensely and am grateful to have been able to participate in it. My only suggested improvements would be to update the reading materials to include some more recent texts and examples, and to try to reduce the number of plagiarised responses in the peer-review section of each assignment.

por CRISTINA B A

3 de feb. de 2021

It has been a very useful course to understand the connections between energy system with climate change and political relationships, as well as investment decisions. However, I think the course needs to update some of the readings, which despite being still useful today, they could be substituted by others that are more recent.

por Mark T

31 de may. de 2021

Generally a good course with relevant content, although some would need updating.  Several of the links for the reading are broken or point to subscriber-only content; these need updating.  The reading lists probably do need updating as a whole to take into account advances in policy and technology over the last few years.

por SOURABH T

17 de feb. de 2019

The Global Energy and Climate Policy is very interesting subject and the course is very nice. The professor are very professional in this field and lots of things to discuss and learn. I want to thank you coursera and UoL for this opportunity so that the everybody can learn it anywhere.

THANK YOU !

HAPPY LEARNING

por Nicholas R

27 de ene. de 2019

Pretty decent course, although I think there are better options out there. For a more detailed review of this course and a few others offered by coursera, see my blog as per linked below:

https://rubicksjourneys.wordpress.com/2019/01/27/review-2-coursera-org-online-management-and-energy-courses/

por Nicole M

25 de sep. de 2020

I loved how concise this course was, while efficiently keeping the depth of knowledge in it, very good use of time & also well suited for my learning style, plus the discussions/assignments allowed for critical thinking without being burdensome-ly long - I definitely recommend!

por Leonard F E

25 de nov. de 2020

Great course! I would have preferred some more video content, but I suppose that is a matter of taste. Sadly, the readings haven't been updated since 2016, and some links are broken and some papers are behind a paywall. Otherwise really good! I am happy I did this course!

por Emma W

21 de jun. de 2020

Good overview of all the relevant issues - some of the readings were a little old, especially once the effects of COVID-19 have become clearer it would be good for these to be updated. But a really interesting course and a great overview of the topic.

por Zulfiqar A

26 de jul. de 2019

Very basic course regarding global energy and climate policy.

Good things about the course: Interviews of experts, Readings every week, Peer reviewed essay every week

Bad things about the course: Very generalized not a proper syllabus, No quizes.

por Elyse P

1 de mar. de 2021

This was a great course that gave me a strong foundation in global energy and climate topics. My only issue with it is that a lot of the readings were outdated, and often not even accessible at the links provided.

por Amanda B

20 de sep. de 2020

Well taught and interesting topics - most of the reading links didn't work though and the information is likely a few years out of date. Overall a great introduction to the sector

por Tania C

24 de ene. de 2018

Very interesting course. I'd recommend to update the reading material more frequently in view of continuous developments relating to climate change.

por Luis G

18 de abr. de 2018

Great introductory course with plenty of resources shared. This course is a great way to become familiar with the economics of energy.

por Nicholas P

30 de abr. de 2020

Course is very informative and encourages thorough comprehension of content. Some content, however, is outdated or unavailable.

por Aditya A

23 de may. de 2018

The course give a great insight regarding global energy policy. The to read links provided in the course are the highlights.

por Nicholas L

31 de may. de 2020

The video content and the quality and variety of speakers was excellent. Some of the reading materials were outdated.

por Mohammed H

11 de ene. de 2021

some of the materials are outdated, continuous improvement are essential for the course to be alive and up to date.