Chevron Left
Volver a A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment por parte de Escuela de Negocios de la India

4.8
estrellas
3,479 calificaciones
1,176 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

What are the determinants of a happy and fulfilling life? This is surely one of life’s biggest questions, and a question that has interested many of our ancestors. Buddha famously gave up his kingdom in search of happiness. Several Greek philosophers (from Aristotle to Epicurus and Plato to Socrates) had their own views on what it takes to be happy. And of course, we all have our own theories about happiness too. How valid are our theories? Until recently, if you wished for an answer to this question, you would've been forced to base it on discussions with spiritual leaders. Or, if you were lucky, you could've based it on late-night (and perhaps intoxicant-fueled) conversations with friends and family. Happily, all that has changed now. Over the past decade-and-a-half, scientists have gotten into the act big time. We now have a pretty good idea of what it takes to lead a happy and fulfilling life. This course, based on the award-winning class offered both at the Indian School of Business and at the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin, developed by Prof. Raj Raghunathan (aka "Dr. Happy-smarts") draws content from a variety of fields, including psychology, neuroscience, and behavioral decision theory to offer a tested and practical recipe for leading a life of happiness and fulfillment. Although not mandatory, reading Prof. Raj's forthcoming book, titled If you're so smart, why aren't you happy? can help you review and assimilate the material covered in this book at your leisure. For Coursera learners alone, the hardcover version of the book is available for a deep discount of 50%, plus shipping and handling. You can order the hardcover for 50% off by writing to Aaron at: Aaron@800ceoread.com. Please mention that you are a student of the "coursera happiness course" in your email. The course will feature guest appearances by several well-known thought leaders, including: - Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational and, soon to be released, Irrationally Yours), - Ed Diener (“Dr. Happiness”), - Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (author of Flow), By taking this course, you will discover the answers to questions such as: - Why aren’t the smart-and-the-successful as happy as they could—or should—be - What are the “7 Deadly Happiness Sins” that even the smart and the successful commit?, and - What are the “7 Habits of the Highly Happy” and how can you implement them in your life? By the end of the course, I expect students who have been diligent with the lectures and exercises to not just gain a deeper understanding of the science of happiness, but to also be significantly happier....

Principales revisiones

CR

Apr 24, 2018

Excellent course, Professor Raj is great. I found it very helpful to see what types of personality traits I have that may contribute to my happiness level and possible approaches to dealing with them.

LS

Jan 24, 2017

This course is a joy! I cannot recommend it highly enough. Practical advice based on long-term research, interviews with worldwide experts on the topics discussed, and a fabulous professor. So great!

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 1,158 revisiones para A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

por Joshua L F

Jan 06, 2016

This course delivered a ton of very good perspectives, insights, and data to help you grasp an all-important topic which is not typically explored on an academic level. Instead of bombarding you with opinions, this course approaches the topic in both an analytical and personal way, inviting you to explore and expand your own definitions of happiness while learning the science behind it.

I found my consciousness of as well as my knowledge about happiness elevated substantially through this course's teachings, and I would recommend it to anyone serious about living an intentional and happy life.

por Ramakrishnan

Feb 05, 2017

This is the best course that I ever had in my lifetime. At the time of signing-up for this course, I was bit skeptical that how someone can teach us happiness and could be it be a spiritual discourse?But I'm happy, I was proved wrong. This course has no spiritual discourse and methods taught in this course are complete based on scientific facts and 100% practical. Having practised few techniques,I feel a positive difference in a way I see & feel experiences.

Thank you Prof.Raj for having delivered this course on Coursera. No wonder this is one of the highly rated course in the website.

por Manolis S

Aug 25, 2015

I am just mid-way through this course but I really can't stop myself from writing this review now, before I even finish it! Definitely it is the best course I have personally taken, despite the large number of courses I have experienced, some of them of excellent quality, in Coursera and elsewhere. Here we have a charismatic professor giving a great teaching performance, offering a vast amount of knowledge, a wealth of positive motivation and a big lesson for life! Obviously there is huge effort and hard work behind these exemplary video lectures. I would give it a 6/5 if I could..

por Jakub Z

Oct 25, 2015

I really enjoyed this course for many reasons. I found it very useful in helping me identify things that make me happy and how to experience them more often and also other aspects and habits of the highly happy. The exercises are very engaging, pushing the students out of their comfort zone just the right amount. Also, I found the teacher, Prof. Raj, to be a really nice, down-to-earth kind of guy, which made it easier for me to follow the course - not the best actor, but a great teacher ;). He is the kind of guy I would be happy to hang out with and share a beer or two :)

por Linda G

Nov 01, 2015

Highly recommended course, very well documented, fun, and with great practical information. Dr. Rajagopal Raghunathan is an excellent speaker, and he added great videos of recognized specialist in the theme. Congratulation to Coursera and the Business India School.

Un curso muy recomendable, esta muy bien documentado, muy ameno, con información útil y práctica. Además del Dr. Rajagopal Raghunathan, que es un excelente expositor, hay muy buenos videos de especialstas muy reconocidos. Felicidades a coursera y a la Escuela de Negocios de la India por tan buen material.

por Yoxa D

Nov 14, 2015

This course is AMAZING! I haven't finished it yet, but I'm in week 6 and starting to miss it already. As a former engineer/scientist, I can appreciate the research and science that has gone into the topic of happiness. It is very well summarized here. The lessons are fun and engaging. Also, the resources from the optional reading list will keep me busy for awhile, which I definitely don't mind! I would highly recommend this to all, those highly happy as well as those that would like to learn how to be happier. Can't say it enough, but THANK YOU, Dr. Raj!!

por Artur A

Aug 28, 2015

Awesome course. I want to thank all the people who worked on this course. Especially I want to express gratitude to Prof. Raj, he is a really good teacher, I watched every video with a big interest. Your students in universities are big luckers to have such a great teacher. Prof. Raj and his team have done a big job, learned a lot of materials, took a lot of interviews etc. just for preparing this terrific course for us. Thank you so much. English is not my native language, maybe I did some mistakes, but I hope I've expressed my gratitude pretty clear.

por Shobana

Nov 30, 2016

Awesome Course. Very structured, organised and clear for academic learning. Professionally done with ample scientific research studies to support every point that is referred in the course. Assignments are well done with creative learning. Also personally it is a great way, gateway to enrich or nurture one's happiness levels.

Dr Raj Happy Smarts smiles in the videos and enthusiastic interaction inspires to learn to be HAPPY.

This is my first online course and highly appreciate the inputs from the entire team. Dont wait to enrol for the COURSE.

por Learner I

Aug 19, 2015

This course is one of the best offerings I've taken from Coursera. Due to Raj, Catherine and the team, the content, research, production with graphics, and readings ----- the weeks' lessons far exceeded my expectations. The trick with learning is applying what I have learned, so that is my intent. Hats off to enhancing sometimes hard-to-grasp concepts through video, interviews and quizzes. The online format and technical process worked 100% fine for me without any problems or glitches. I have been happy with everything! Thank you! Learner ID

por Sirah C

Apr 08, 2016

This is a wonderful course that teaches us much needed strategies to mitigate our problems(or view of) and learn tactics and habits that will help us lead a happier life. Some of the content feels like its basic, but its a much needed reminder. I appreciated the expertise interviews that are incorporated into this course. There is important science behind the concept of being happy and you learn it here. Professor Raj has an optimistic style of teaching and it brightens the course work and mood within the course. I would take it again.

por Barbara P

Mar 26, 2016

The course was excellent. My regret was that I didn't have sufficient time to devote to it - tax time and extra courses perhaps weren't the best idea. I'm a little down-hearted not being able to complete it, but realize I learned a lot, have started to meditate, and did manage to read 3 of the optional books suggested by Dr.Raj. I have noted others to read in the months ahead, including (most definitely) his own new book. Best wishes and thank you to everyone who worked so hard putting this course together. Barbara Phillips-Conroy

por Patricia S P

Sep 14, 2017

This course is very important to live better and be happier, appreciate everything good and bad, know to surround yourself with people who contribute to my life and not that I consume my energy, to always go forward, to thank, to have more control internal, to have goals but taking care to prioritize my happiness, to trust people in general.

The course requires a lot of time, 8 hours per week, if the mother tongue is not English. But definitely worth it.

In short, happiness is a serious matter with which every person should commit.

por Joly F Z

Mar 21, 2016

I have not fully finished this course, but would love to recommend this one to people in all different fields. I do think our education system fails as it only teaches us about how to make a living, not how to actually live. This course is fantastic in the sense that it brings happiness to surface, break it down and make it more tangible. The lecturers are very engaging, the best I've seen on Coursera so far. Thank you for putting this course together and I truly believe this helps many people like myself to be happier in life.

por Shiva P G

Jan 06, 2016

I have been reading / researching on Happiness / Success for many years; I think this was was the most comprehensive material on this topic I have seen. Many of my beliefs, thought process, day-to-day interaction methodologies, my approach towards life, etc. were validated. Dr. Raj Raghunathan has done an amazing job and I am sure many people must have become 'happier' after attending this course.

THANK YOU Dr. Happy Smart!

P.S. My daughter is freshmen in UT Austin; I have requested her to be part of your course there soon...

por Priya S

Oct 07, 2016

An excellent course. Over a period of few weeks, a gradual change happened. The first most important step was making happiness enhancing decisions rather than proving myself right. Each of the exercises was very useful, especially the I forgive letter. The creative altruistic exercise was lots of fun. The expressing gratitude exercise was very moving. Birds eye view of MBA was very thought provoking and summed up the entire session differently and was very insightful.

Thanks a lot Prof. Raj and team for the ALOHAF course.

por Erin K

Jan 30, 2016

What a wonderful experience taking this class has been...I have really enjoyed Prof. Raj's videos and learning about human nature in regards to our happiness levels...I believe this to be a beneficial class for anyone and everyone to take and have expressed my excitement for it on many occasions with those I come in contact with...THANK YOU for the amazing work on putting this beneficiary course together...I hope to have the opportunity to continually review the content and continue to learn and grow in a positive way...

por Nicola Q

Nov 12, 2015

What an uplifting and inspiring course!

From this, you will get so much information that directly links to many other psychology studies, what a great introduction to the mind and it's workings!

The video's are humorous, engaging and with so many guest speakers you are exposed to many varied viewpoints, which sets you off researching.

I do want to add, that although the course title describes its aims perfectly, I feel it does not do the knowledge contained within, justice!

Inspiring Work Raj Raghunathan!!

por Victor M C N

Jul 25, 2016

Simplemente el profesor y su grupo de colaboradores se encargaron a mi parecer de un excelente curso, pero ademas se tomaron el trabajo de traducirlo y eso le aumenta la calidad para quienes no hablamos bien el ingles y tenemos ganas de llevar una vida plena de felicidad, para mi este curso es de 10 y me gustaría me recomendaran mas cursos similares a estos, De igual manera le pongo 10 a la institución que decidió apoyarlos en este excelente proyecto. Soy mexicano y radico en Cancun Quintana Roo, saludos.

por Carolina A C V H

Dec 28, 2015

Este curso es realmente fantástico, la descripción no le hace real juicio a lo que en cada semana te vas encontrando, accedes a él sin mayores expectativas, pero personalmente me sucedió que cada semana fue mejor que la anterior. Lo mejor que he visto, el profesor de excelencia, los temas maravillosos. El único problema sería para aquellas personas que no hablan inglés, puesto que no todas las clases tienen subtítulos en español, salvo por ese detalle, que ojalá arreglaran, es un gran aporte a la vida.

por Anand G

Feb 01, 2017

I would like to thank Prof Raj and his team as well as Coursera team who have taken so many pains to device such a beautiful course. I strongly recommend this course for everyone. We all desire to live a happy and productive life. Somehow, we unknowingly make decisions which reduce our happiness. Similarly, our ignorance also stops us from taking a few more steps which can improve upon our happiness. Prof Raj's course actually targets both- mistakes we make as well as positive steps we need to take.

por Jana T

Mar 18, 2020

I'm really happy that I've followed this course and I would recommend it to everyone!

The teacher Raj is awesome and motivating, the contents of the course is very interesting and possible to follow even with a schedule of a full-time working person.

Without exaggerating i feel happier after taking this class because it helped me realize what's important in life and what makes me happy.

I sometimes go back to the class and watch again some of the videos to remind myself certain points of the course.

por Diego M

Mar 03, 2016

One of the most impactful courses I've ever worked through. Really just an incredible achievement, the actionable and lovable focus of the course really pulled me in and never let go. On paper I didn't do the assignments but I actually did everything suggested in the course and it really has helped my happiness, satisfaction, self-compassion, and I now chase flow rather than superiority.

Thank you is not enough, I'm so grateful to all the staff, Raj, and all the guest speakers. Best course ever.

por Cecilia E B L

Jul 30, 2017

Es un curso muy bueno, ya que te va llevando a tomar responsabilidad por la propia felicidad, reflexionando qué hacemos para evadir dicha responsabilidad (7 "pecados") y qué podemos hacer de forma muy práctica y aplicable en la vida diaria (7 hábitos) para tomar nuestra responsabilidad. Los ejercicios al final de cada módulo también muy buenos para aplicar lo aprendido en la propia vida. 100% lo recomiendo, al finalizar el curso incrementarás tus niveles de felicidad y plenitud, garantizado!!

por Rohan N

Apr 27, 2017

The course is highly engaging. It made me come back, day after day, in spite of a busy schedule. Also techniques taught are extremely basic and implementable. I found them to be useful and life changing. I signed up with the intent of just observing but ended up taking back a lot of value to bring about a change and creating happiness enhancing habits. Needless to say I have been endorsing and recommending this course to other. Thanks Dr. Happy Smarts for curating such a beautiful course!

por Akhil B

Sep 30, 2015

This course has been really eye opener. The research on happiness done by Prof. Mr Raj is amazing. The way the course is designed is very nice. There are systematic contents in every week. I must the exercises also are very good and I did not feel that I am doing this course on virtual platform.

Kudos to all the team who have really put an effort to make this course available on Coursera! I would highly recommend this course to all my friends, colleagues and relatives.

Cheers and Thank you.