Chevron Left
Volver a A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment por parte de Escuela de Negocios de la India

4.8
estrellas
3,480 calificaciones
1,176 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

What are the determinants of a happy and fulfilling life? This is surely one of life’s biggest questions, and a question that has interested many of our ancestors. Buddha famously gave up his kingdom in search of happiness. Several Greek philosophers (from Aristotle to Epicurus and Plato to Socrates) had their own views on what it takes to be happy. And of course, we all have our own theories about happiness too. How valid are our theories? Until recently, if you wished for an answer to this question, you would've been forced to base it on discussions with spiritual leaders. Or, if you were lucky, you could've based it on late-night (and perhaps intoxicant-fueled) conversations with friends and family. Happily, all that has changed now. Over the past decade-and-a-half, scientists have gotten into the act big time. We now have a pretty good idea of what it takes to lead a happy and fulfilling life. This course, based on the award-winning class offered both at the Indian School of Business and at the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin, developed by Prof. Raj Raghunathan (aka "Dr. Happy-smarts") draws content from a variety of fields, including psychology, neuroscience, and behavioral decision theory to offer a tested and practical recipe for leading a life of happiness and fulfillment. Although not mandatory, reading Prof. Raj's forthcoming book, titled If you're so smart, why aren't you happy? can help you review and assimilate the material covered in this book at your leisure. For Coursera learners alone, the hardcover version of the book is available for a deep discount of 50%, plus shipping and handling. You can order the hardcover for 50% off by writing to Aaron at: Aaron@800ceoread.com. Please mention that you are a student of the "coursera happiness course" in your email. The course will feature guest appearances by several well-known thought leaders, including: - Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational and, soon to be released, Irrationally Yours), - Ed Diener (“Dr. Happiness”), - Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (author of Flow), By taking this course, you will discover the answers to questions such as: - Why aren’t the smart-and-the-successful as happy as they could—or should—be - What are the “7 Deadly Happiness Sins” that even the smart and the successful commit?, and - What are the “7 Habits of the Highly Happy” and how can you implement them in your life? By the end of the course, I expect students who have been diligent with the lectures and exercises to not just gain a deeper understanding of the science of happiness, but to also be significantly happier....

Principales revisiones

CR

Apr 24, 2018

Excellent course, Professor Raj is great. I found it very helpful to see what types of personality traits I have that may contribute to my happiness level and possible approaches to dealing with them.

LS

Jan 24, 2017

This course is a joy! I cannot recommend it highly enough. Practical advice based on long-term research, interviews with worldwide experts on the topics discussed, and a fabulous professor. So great!

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 1,161 revisiones para A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment

por anita

Oct 09, 2015

THE COURSE HAS BEEN SUCH AN EYE OPENER AT DEFINING ONE SELF,THE JOURNEY OF LEARNING THE WRONG AND COORECTING IT TOO.IT HELPED IDENTIFY AND SIMPLFY FRO ME MY LIFE..IT CONNECTED ME TO MYSELF,...I CAN SAY I UNDERSTAND BETTER,,I GAINED INSIGHT AND WITH THAT THE ABILITY TO ACCEPT MY SELF AND MY SITUATIONS AND ALSO TO CONNECT THE DOTS AS I CAN SAY..

THANKS A LOT A BIGGGG LOT..TO EACH AND EVERY ONE ASSOCIATED WITH THE TEAM OF COURSERA THIS COURSE IS EXCELLENT...PROF RAJ YOURE TOO GOOD!!!!!

por SANJEEV S

Oct 28, 2019

This is a wonderful course, and I would recomend all the readers to undergo and complete this course. In this course I have discovered a lot of simple ways to cultivate happiness and fulfillment that can be easily attained in my daily schedule. With this I am also sure of spreading happiness and fulfillment mantra in my organiation and my past and present peer groups.

I would also like to thank Prof Raj for bringing forth this course, in an easy to understand and implement format.

por Brianne C

Aug 21, 2015

I really enjoyed this course, Raj's sense of humor kept the course interesting! I felt the reviews at the end of each module were too repetitive and unnecessary, and Catherine's explanation of the exercises too drawn out - they are simple exercises and I don't think they required and explanation other than what was there when you actually completed the exercise.

Other than that, I feel that I learned quite a lot, and am grateful I took this course :)

Thank you Raj!

por Ioannis E

Jul 06, 2017

This course is an amazing material that helped me enhance my knowledge about cognitive therapy and actually its goal. Happiness! Following the course you will not only see the levels of your happiness increasing but you will always keep the advised given as a luggage with tools that can be used in any time. Many thanks to the Professor and his team that have provided such a topic with the most simple way in terms of language and learning Technics

por Suzanne H

Apr 01, 2019

This course is fabulous and life changing. I thank Prof Raj for having the insight to create the course and all of the people that assisted him in putting it together. I look forward to continuing to enhance my skills with the many resources made available in this course. I am already happier, feel more fulfilled and will face the rest of my life with more joy and wonder. Thank you, thank you. I strongly recommend that everyone take this course.

por Steve

Oct 19, 2015

Really really enjoyed this course. Interesting and thought provoking material, all very well presented and referenced. The inclusion of various guest speakers, video and film clips, and a good dose of humour (only occasionally flat) all helped make this a very enjoyable 6 weeks.

If you have a curiosity about happiness, especially your own, but a mindset that values the evidence over other's opinions, then I strongly recommend this course.

por Subhalakshmi

Aug 08, 2016

Very good course- simple to follow videos- not so long that you cant concentrate- and its fun as well. Very well researched course- I like the way the optional readings are grouped by module- this helps pace you correctly and give you the flexibility to explore a particular topic further. Handy practical guidance on avoiding the happiness mistakes we make day to day- I didn't realise so many I make myself. Thanks Prof Raj and team!

por Theresa S

Oct 06, 2015

The program was well put together. The class was what I call "bottom heavy" because the last part of the class had a lot of really good and relate-able information. I found my self replaying classes 2 -3 time to get the full value of what was being presented. I found myself saying "wow" a lot.

Could someone tell the lady that does the 6 week class to turn off her clock when on line. I dropped that class, the coo-coo was distracting

por Saumya V

Aug 14, 2015

I love this course! It helped me a lot in becoming stable and happy person. It helps in making life balanced. Thanks to Professor Raj! He is a mentor and seems like a good friend too. The fun lectures give so much useful insight about happiness and life. About how we go through our life journey by being unnecessarily sad, however we can take responsibility of our emotions and actually be happy. Thanks for making this course. :)

por khyati s

Jan 31, 2016

Wonderfully Amazing course. Lots of information to bring your happiness level high. Although, I would love it if there is daily format or to do list after course. Like 2-3 page summary and things to do on the course.

Also, I don't know how Raj manages to remember so many experts in the field and get their feedback and involvement in the research. I would love to hear that :)

Amazing course definitely recommended for everyone :)

por Jessie Z

Mar 05, 2016

I am SOOO happy I took this course. The material is so eye opening and it's presented in a very engaging way with a variety of speakers, references and visuals. I thought the assignments were quite relevant and made you think in ways you typically do not.

The only slight drawback is organizational- sometimes links were missing the readings and the assignments require too many unnecessary steps. It can very easy be simplified.

por Mary P

Apr 02, 2017

This course changed my life! I truly never thought of happiness as a value until it was pointed out in this course. Prior to taking it, feeling happy really was a bonus to what my family and I valued. I was raised to work hard and provide for my family. Now, happiness by my definition is a value that is considered in my decision-making framework, and I choose to foster an environment to let it grow. Mahalo and Aloha!!

por Maria A

Mar 03, 2016

Very good and useful course. And all the knowleges which I'd got from it I began to use now and will continue to use later in my usual life.

P.S. Sometimes there were too many names of researchers in the videos, but all of the findings were interesting by themselfes.

And I want to give personal gratitude to Prof. Raj: thank you Mr. Raj for your positive, passion and help! I wish you a life of happiness and fulfillment!

por Christy

Oct 01, 2015

I haven't completed the course yet but so far, I am enjoying it. My only complaints are the technical difficulties. The discussion forum does not load properly on my computer and right now, I can't even access the course.

Update: The technical difficulties that bugged me most were not the course's fault. And I am still loving the material. So, I've amended my rating from 3 to 5 starts. Well deserved.

por Lila M

Apr 02, 2017

Un curso practico, con una base científica solida y lleno de felicidad desde el primer día. Fui muy feliz con cada clase. esta lleno de retos y el mayor es seguir trabajando en uno mismo. Raj el profesor es un ser que irradia ganas de seguir creyendo en la humanidad. El transmite felicidad, esperanza y ganas de transformar vidas en casa clase. Dios te bendiga Raj, estas escrito en mi historia de vida.

por Jessica H

Sep 01, 2015

What a wonderful class! For six weeks I've devoted more time to focusing on the more important things in life –– the things that actually matter, versus letting the trivial get me down like it used to. I feel absolutely prepared for a happier future! This class has left me with a greatly expanded tool set to further explore the value that being happy and fulfilled can add (and have added!) to my life.

por Carolee m

Mar 08, 2016

I loved this course. I'm a clinical psychologist who works at a university counseling center. Raj distills several principles of a very notable treatment called Dialectical Behavior Therapy into an easily understandable set of assignments. I will refer many students to this course. Raj is an enthusiastic personable lecturer. I'm so impressed that this course was supported by a business school.

por Satarupa B

Nov 13, 2017

A wonderful enriching course. Prof. Raj is an amazing person . His dynamism will energize whosoever does his class. I thank Prof. Raj and his entire team for gifting us such a valuable peace of course, where the resources will help us explore for more. It stimulates a learner to search for more. Thank you and Namaste.

Satarupa Banerjee (Lecturer, trainer and Psychological Counsellor)

Kolkata,India

por Richa M

Jan 24, 2020

The course has given me really good insights about happiness and fulfillment. The concepts have been explained in a very detailed yet simple manner backed by sufficient research and studies. Prof. Raj has been superb in his delivery and explanation of various concepts. Overall, this course has really benefited me and I hope I can carry forward whatever I have learnt in here through out my life.

por Keisha D

Mar 01, 2016

This was a great class that really made me think. I highly recommend it even if you are already a very happy person because you are likely to learn some tips to make you even happier. I've shared several of the sins and corresponding habits with friends and family members. Plus, I look forward to practicing many of the suggestions for years to come and reading some of the recommended books.

por Mikrelli A

Dec 04, 2017

The ALOHAF lightens the long path that leads to Happiness. After this course my steps are more steady, my mind more in peace, and my body more willing to reach to the end. Even if you are very happy don't hesitate to attend this course. You'll know yourself better by the end. And if you feel that there is nothing new to learn you'll be happy to find that you're wrong. Enjoy an amazing course.

por Andrea D

Oct 11, 2016

This is a great course. It teaches you a LOT of valuable lessons and resources for applying to your life. Indeed is one of the best courses I've taken so far here on Coursera. Very interactive and interesting. Also, I think it should be studied on all universities, companies and other places, because it provides you with those findings, facts and studies (backup), of all the things you learn.

por Sushil D

Mar 30, 2016

I thank Professor Raj and the rest of ALOHAF/Coursera team for this fantastic course which has motivated me to prioritize happiness in life and showed me the way(s) to do that.

I will certainly recommend this course to everyone I know and hope many others will take the opportunity to wake up to happiness like I did.

I thank all of you and wish you lots and lots of happiness always,

Sushil

por Vincent A

May 17, 2016

Great course! I'm auditing the class and I got to say, this course is packed with tons of information. I came in a bit skeptical and left happier. If anything, I think it is in the way that this course articulates "the pursuit" in the "pursuit of happiness." I guess I never formally knew how to "be" happy. With that said, thanks for sharing the course and putting it out there for free!

por Abril R

Aug 30, 2017

This is a very useful and fun course, I learned SO much with Prof. Raj, I honestly think this is a course that should be reviewed once a year, to remember the great advice provided throughout the course and to make sure you make them lifetime habits. Every piece of it is interesting and I truly hope this is a discipline incorporated in schools. Thanks to Prof. Raj and the ALOHAF team!