Chevron Left
Volver a Indigenous Canada

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Indigenous Canada por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.8
estrellas
2,257 calificaciones
779 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Principales revisiones

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 787 revisiones para Indigenous Canada

por David R

Sep 20, 2017

This is the history and social studies class we all should have had in school! My thanks to the instructors for filling in these deeply regretted blind spots in our education. I wonder how much more progress could have been made towards reconciliation if everyone was taught this 20 years ago. I heartily recommend this course to everyone!

por Sarah H

Jun 29, 2020

Fabulous course that gave me the foundation to further my own education in this area that's so important today. I knew I needed to learn more but didn't know where to start but I found this to be a good starting point. The videos were concise and informative and the teachers are great. I appreciate that this course was made the way it was.

por Joselynn C

Jun 17, 2020

This course ought to be a mandatory course for high schools. Certainly happy that I was able to take it in my adulthood, but would have been a good base to start the knowledge journey in my youth. Phenomenal professors and educators, and well thought out course syllabus. Thank you for your time and knowledge. This is indeed the beginning!

por Jacqueline K

Feb 05, 2020

Super informational! Lots more legal and socio-cultural impact analysis than I was expecting, or usually receive in my education. Super insightful and teaches much more in-depth than I've ever gotten through the school system. Would love to learn more about the scientific and medical advances that were made or buried with colonialism

por Mandy N

Jul 26, 2019

Fascinating course with great instructors. Each unit goes into plenty of depth on each topic, it doesn't just skim. I especially liked the last unit on modern indigenous art which I knew nothing about, now I have a lot of new artists to enjoy. I will definitely be checking out more courses from the University of Alberta. Thank you!

por Karen N

Jul 20, 2020

This 12-week course takes the learner on a journey of understanding of the Indigenous peoples of Turtle Island. Elaborating enough on the history and current issues to encourage the learned to delve into a deeper understanding of the past, current issues, and forge toward activism for future change. I highly recommend this course.

por Hannah G

Sep 10, 2017

Excellent course. I'm glad to have found such an engaging way to start to learn about the Indigenous histories of Canada. I was recommended the course by several friends, and recommended it to several more, and I know they are really enjoying it as well. I particularly loved the artwork commissioned for the course. Thanks so much!

por Nagwa A

Mar 15, 2018

An eye opener for what has been going on in the land that we call it now Canada. I wish to learn more about the history and as a professor at Sheridan College, I would like to come with ideas to support Indigenous students in their learning journey. Thanks so much for the professors and teacher assistant, they did a great job :)

por Tyson M

May 19, 2019

This course is a very in-depth overview of history told from the perspective of the indigenous tribes of Canada and includes a unique view of cultural practices and the impacts of colonialism both past and present. I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was easy to follow and the videos were well made. Thank you for the hard work.

por Shaila H

Sep 20, 2017

This is the best course I have come across in terms of reflecting the indigenous experience in a forward thinking/reconciliatory way.

In my degree we had a course with a similar objective but the course providers were filled with pain and anger that made the course unbearable for the majority of my classmate indigenous and not.

por Shavaun P

Oct 07, 2019

This course, without question, has: deepened my understanding of current Indigenous issues and their connections to the past, created a more intense emotional connection, prompted a desire to be a better listener, and as an Arts Educator, challenged me to think of ways to create more pathways for Indigenous voices to be heard.

por Kimberly M G

Jun 07, 2018

A wonderful starting place to get a broad sense of Canada's history, pre- and post-settler community, and understand some Indigenous worldviews. This is the most informative, detail-rich course I've taken in regards of cultural immersion and perspective. Thank you to all who contributed in making this course and delivering it!

por Jody A

Nov 26, 2017

This course has given an incredibly rich insight into our history as people from this part of the world, Canada. Thank you for sharing such an in-depth view of the Indigenous peoples history and transporting it into the larger global village scope! It has been an emotionally stirring and invigorating journey.

Masi

Jody Anker

por Shannon M

Jun 16, 2020

Thank you so much for sharing your stories and providing such an accessible way to learn. It's shifted my perspective on Canada's relationship with indigenous peoples in a major way. I've recommended this course to several of my friends already and I will definitely be pursuing more courses in indigenous studies after this.

por Gemma R

Mar 16, 2018

I moved to Canada from the UK just over two years ago and I found myself knowing little of Canadian indigenous culture. This course has provided insight into indigenous cultures through history, politics, gender, religion and the arts. I would recommend every Canadian and non-Canadian to take this course, it is essential!

por Andrea L

May 05, 2020

I learned so much more context to the usually very dry and disconnected ways we're taught about Indigenous history in Canada. I also valued the many different voices who were brought in to add their unique perspectives, especially Leah Dorion, who interpreted a lot of heavy material with artistic playfulness and beauty.

por Sally L

Jan 22, 2018

Essential learning for all settlers in Canada. This is what we should have learned in school, but never did. Thank you to all the teachers, TAs, and learners who commented in the forums. I learned to much and am now on a life-long path to continue learning about indigenous issues and culture here, and around the world.

por Annie F

Apr 10, 2020

This was a very good course because it showed a number of sides of the issue. It gave me a greater understanding of the issues surrounding land claims and native rights. My grandmother was Metis and never was comfortable with it and unfortunately never talked to us about it. She was a baby in the uprising at Batoche.

por Adam W

May 31, 2020

What you don't know is sometimes shocking. An absolutely great course. It allowed me to gain a better understanding of the Indigenous Peoples/Culture in Canada and a number of issues they have faced. I would highly recommend this course to anyone and genuinely wish it was made part of the learning process in schools.

por Julia M

Oct 31, 2017

Very well done. I had no technical issues. The pace and presentation of the course is great. The content was very informative and factual. I really appreciated this course and it contributed significantly to my understanding of colonialism, First Nations, and some of the issues that need to be addressed as Canadians.

por Dree

Apr 19, 2019

Excellent course that presents a lot of information. I had to do some background reading in a few lessons because (as an American) my knowledge of Canadian history is limited. I especially appreciate how this course covers largely the 20th century and into the 21st, and covers the arts as well as treaties and laws.

por Susan G

Jul 20, 2020

A real eye-opening course and great introduction to the study of Indigenous Canada. It helped start to fill in the many large gaps that are missing from my knowledge of the Indigenous peoples of Canada, and has prompted me to engage in further Indigenous studies. Thank you for offering this very essential course!

por Brandon T

Jan 17, 2020

This course was much more than I expected. Being of Indigenous descent myself, the course has certainly opened my eyes and paved a path forward in my life. It has given me a rich appreciation for Canada's Indigenous people, past, present and future. I feel deeply moved and forever changed because of the course.

por Janelle S

Jul 20, 2020

Really interesting content, with a ton of variety and in an appropriate order. The videos were well done relative to most Coursera courses I’ve participated in. The addition of the artist segments each week is an interesting way of seeing the information take life. I would absolutely recommend this course.

por Danna E M

Apr 02, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and I would like to learn more. I would have liked to see more old photos from history files. I feel the Canadian public schools should really teach our children this history! Thank you to the advocacy groups for your fight to protect the lands and keep our government accountable.