Chevron Left
Volver a Indigenous Canada

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Indigenous Canada por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.8
1,131 calificaciones
371 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Principales revisiones

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

YH

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 370 revisiones para Indigenous Canada

por Natalie M

Nov 18, 2017

Terrific and informative. Well organized.

por Stephanie W

Sep 05, 2017

This is the most comprehensive course on Indigenous history and culture I have ever taken. I feel far more educated as to the experience of Canadian Indigenous persons.

por Natasha Y

Sep 03, 2017

Very well done. Highly recommended this course for everyone in Canada! Thank you.

por Rachel T

Mar 29, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. As a white settler, you only really hear about some of these issues in passing and I'm really disapointed in our school system that still hasn't been changed to teach EVERYONE about our terrible history. This course really helped open my eyes to the issues I only ever hear in passing. It was nice to have some more context for things, and although I understand that this is an introductory course I found some of the information given too shallow, vague, or simplified. I would really love even more information, examples, and history to be given in each lesson.

I would also love more information to be provided on reconciliation and how white settlers can help achieve this. A main sentiment that comes up in conversation is that we would like to do our part to be allies and to help right wrongs and move towards reconciliation, but how to do that is always vague. Questions about whether or not it's proper for us to continue doing something are never answered, and I understand we need to consult elders to gain their insight and perspectives on how to do that, but most of us have no clue how to reach out to elders to begin that process or in some cases, even us reaching out and asking those questions is not wanted.

Overall I enjoyed the course, it was a great starting point to begin delving further into this topic. Thank you very much.

por Jonathan G

Feb 26, 2018

I learned a lot. It almost made me ashamed to be white! But I see things through a whole different perspective now.

por Judy J

Apr 24, 2017

I loved that this course offered WRITTEN and VIDEO lessons. I find it difficult to learn by just watching a video. By doing some of the learning by reading and re-reading, I absorbed more.

Quizes are also another modality that works well. Quick to do, easy to score, inexpensive to administer, both teacher and learner can assess student learning very quickly.

I wish all Coursera programs included more than one methodology for learning. Video is fine, but it isn't the best for everyone, and it isn't the only way to teach things. Many Coursera program rely too heavily on video as their only teaching tool. There are something like 12 or 14 modalities for teaching students. Thank you for using more than one way. I especially liked your reading materials.

por Christina R

Jul 26, 2017

Fantastic and informative course! Would definitely recommend.

por Matteo C F

Jun 18, 2017

Learnt a great deal that I only wish had been covered through out my formal education. Thank you so much for this. I hope to find additional ones I can take to keep on expanding my knowledge. Thank you for the intersectional approach through out the course, the guest speakers, integrating different modalities of learning through out, and really just all of it.

por Colette P

Jan 03, 2018

E

por janice m

Jul 09, 2017

loved this course!

por Annette T

Jun 10, 2017

This was a great course full of information and insights. Highly recommend.

por Shaila H

Sep 20, 2017

This is the best course I have come across in terms of reflecting the indigenous experience in a forward thinking/reconciliatory way.

In my degree we had a course with a similar objective but the course providers were filled with pain and anger that made the course unbearable for the majority of my classmate indigenous and not.

por Tammy E

Mar 13, 2018

This course is thorough, provides a great deal of information, but most importantly, it encourages self-reflection.

por Claudette D

Apr 09, 2017

Thank you to all our SUPERB PROFESSORS.

This class is so very unique & so moving.

Just fell in love with our FIRST NATION.

por Anne-Sophie M

Oct 28, 2017

Great course, very thorough. Definitely a must take if you live in Canada.

por Diane C K

May 29, 2017

This course is one of the best courses I have ever taken on or off line. congratulations to the University of Alberta and to Tracey bear et al. Thank you so much for this outstanding course. And thank you for including Metis. It is hard sometimes to find ourselves. Thank you.

por Paul P

May 22, 2018

This was probably the most important and interesting MOOC I've ever had the pleasure of taking!

por Christine B

Jan 28, 2018

In depth general yet well-informed, documented, and presented materials, and mandatory knowledge on Indigenous Canada. Thank you for speaking slowly! And brava to Leah Dorion for her painted stories! This was a wonderful course, Dr. Tracy Bear, Dr. Paul Gareau, and every invited presenter guests!

por Sonia A

Jul 06, 2017

Thanks!! It was a great course. I enjoyed and learned a lot.

por Ross Y A

Jul 27, 2017

I found this course to be an excellent survey packaging of past and current issues that Indigenous Canadians are facing.

por David R

Sep 20, 2017

This is the history and social studies class we all should have had in school! My thanks to the instructors for filling in these deeply regretted blind spots in our education. I wonder how much more progress could have been made towards reconciliation if everyone was taught this 20 years ago. I heartily recommend this course to everyone!

por Paccelli J M Z

Apr 23, 2018

Excellent!

por Anne H

Jan 18, 2018

Thank you Dr. Bear and your team for an inspirational course. I have thoroughly enjoyed my travels through it and have found myself abashed over my previous unawareness to this critical situation. As a retired teacher-librarian I wish I had taken this course sooner in order to assist my thousands of students in their knowledge of Canada's Indigenous peoples. Your information has inspired me to continue in my quest for learning in this area.

por Judy G

May 24, 2017

Very interesting course. Very much the opinion of the narrators - much is true but being a non-indigenous person made me feel as if I was the direct cause of all the indigenous problems, which I am quite sure is not the case. I liked learning more about the history.

por Jeanne A C

Jul 03, 2017

This is a wonderful course! I learned a lot and will share this information with others. Thanks!