Chevron Left
Volver a Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History por parte de Universidad de Illinois en Urbana-Champaign

4.6
estrellas
210 calificaciones
101 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Learners will deepen their understanding and appreciation of ways in which race, ethnicity and cultural diversity have shaped American institutions, ideology, law, and social relationships from the colonial era to the present. Race and ethnicity are ideological and cultural categories that include all groups and individuals. Hence, this course is designed in significant part to take a broad look at the ideology of race and cultural diversity in America’s past and present. The primary focus is on the historical and social relationships among European Americans, Native Americans, African Americans, Latino/as, and Asian/Pacific Americans. Issues of race and ethnicity are examined across different ethno-cultural traditions in order to interweave diverse experiences into a larger synthesis of the meaning of race and ethnicity in American life. In this course, we conceive of “race” and “diversity” as references to the entire American population, even as we recognize that different groups have unique historical experiences resulting in distinctive and even fundamental cultural differences. We treat race and ethnicity as dynamic, complex ideological and cultural processes that shape all social institutions, belief systems, inter-group relationships, and individual experiences....

Principales reseñas

J

Jun 08, 2020

This course is an excellent source of education! I learned so much, and feel so proud of myself for completing it, and getting grades that I never thought I could! Thank you, Coursera! :)

BW

Jul 13, 2020

The topics were good, and the professor clearly knows his subject. The final paper took more time than expected, but overall I felt like I came away with more knowledge on the subject.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 101 revisiones para Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History

por Janice M

Jul 25, 2020

This is an excellent course that will cause you to do a bit of self-reflection and learn a great deal about race and culture in America. I found that I learned so many things that as a white person I had no idea about. The course will challenge you a bit as well...if it has been a while since you've written a research paper you might want to make sure to have access to an APA manual--or just ask your high schooler---they can help!

por S. J C

Aug 02, 2020

Excellent! Dr Anderson brings together a diverse set of resources to help expand our understanding of race and cultural diversity in the USA both historically and academically. I've benefited much from this series and very glad I took the accredited track. It has helped strengthen the conversations I have with others who may think differently to me and the patience to listen more carefully. Thank You!

por Candace E

Jul 12, 2020

Dr. Anderson utilized historical references, methodologies, theories, and factual information to examine variations of race, culture, and ethnicity. The following course Race and Culture Diversity in American Life and History is highly-recommended. The following course offers thought-provoking content as well as assignments that will challenge or adjust your overall perceptions of culture in America.

por Christina M

Jul 05, 2020

Exceptional course. The course was well-organized, incredibly informative, and filled with fantastic resources. For anyone wanting to learn more about American policy that has influenced institutional racism in our country , this is the course to take. Fantastic! I won't soon forget what I learned and how much more I need to research to be better informed!

por steven g

Sep 04, 2020

The course was very educational and informative. There were historically events in American history that have shaped this country that I was not aware of until completing the course. The format of the course was flexible to all full-time workers to complete at your own pace. I am planning to take several more courses with Coursera. Great experience..

por Jennifer T

Jul 12, 2020

This was a great course! I learned a lot through analyzing my own implicit bias and learning about different races through videos, my own research, and reviewing other's ideas. I definitely recommend this class to others. I wish if a peer was planning on giving someone lower than a 75% (essentially failing them) that they are required to give feedback.

por Carolyn B

Apr 24, 2020

An absolutely exception course covering history right up to the present. Really puts race and ethnicity into perspectives. The professor was very clear, articulate, interesting and knowledgeable about the subject. Although there were weekly assignments, they helped to put to use all the things learned in the course.

por SHIRLENE B D O

Mar 09, 2018

Excellent Course!

Congratulation Professor James D. Anderson for the excellence in his classes ,, for his high level content expertise and course management.

Congratulation to the Coursera staff that has planned and organized the material in a very suitable way favoring the distance learning.

Thank you all!

por Pablo I G

Sep 29, 2020

Muy bueno e interesante. Excelente para quienes quieren tener una visión más amplia sobre el problema del racismo, sus fuentes y esfuerzos por cambiar la situación. Si bien esta enfocado en la historia de los EEUU, los videos y tareas son fisilmente adaptables al contexto social de otros países.

por Debra L G

Jul 27, 2020

Dr. Anderson did an amazing job of presenting a very emotionally difficult subject. The content of the course was very interesting and at times difficult to face as it laid bare the political and ethical faces of racism. Thank you Dr. Anderson! You are much appreciated. -=-Debra

por Dan C

Aug 13, 2020

Excellent presentation of information and the chance to discuss and explore race and cultural diversity in American life and history.

I gained new insights from the lectures and course materials, as well as the presentations from my peers who were enrolled with me.

por Maureen P

Jul 17, 2020

Professor Anderson does an excellent job covering topics on race and cultural diversity. He provides lectures in a concise, easy to understand way and provides many supplementary resources for more in-depth study. Excellent course on a very important topic.

por RL B J

Jul 27, 2020

Outstanding course. Being able to understand the racial history of the country and how that history impacts us today. If one wanted to understand why some of the problems that we face today are here, this class will explain some of the problems.

por Roberth J D C

Jun 08, 2020

This amazing course deepned me understanding of transnational realities about the senses and meanings of race and culture in the Americas. Thanks so much, Teacher James D. Anderson. Your empathy was a quality differential in the course.

por Marco G

Aug 23, 2020

This is a well put together course which enlightens and educates with primary and very personal sources. It has also helped me create within myself a greater awareness of racism in all its forms. A very highly recommended course.

por Linda S

Jul 22, 2020

Very informative and thought provoking class. Takes longer than the hours listed suggest. Ends with a 10 page research paper that is quite involved and may require more skills than some beginners are comfortable with.

por Jean T

Jul 07, 2020

Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History should be taught in High School to everyone. I enjoyed everything about this course! Many thanks to James Anderson our instructor! Keep spreading the word!

por Denice L

Jul 13, 2020

I learned a tremendous amount from this course and have a very different perspective on a multitude of facets of our society. I sincerely appreciate the work of James Anderson and others who put this together.

por Bryan W

Jul 13, 2020

The topics were good, and the professor clearly knows his subject. The final paper took more time than expected, but overall I felt like I came away with more knowledge on the subject.

por Yulon W

Aug 07, 2020

exceptional course, very interesting, rigorous, however it keeps you on your toes. Due to all the issues going on right now, what better course to take than this. Thank you..

por Kathi L W

Jul 23, 2020

This was a very interesting course. I think everyone should take it. I am a history buff and there were things I didn't know. I am very glad I took this course.

por Nichole E M

Jul 07, 2020

This was a great class in which I learn many additional parts about US history that I had not previously known about or understood.

por Maria G

Feb 08, 2018

I think is a course that everyone living in actual society need to take to widening their world and reject prejudgment.

por Doretha L

Sep 06, 2020

I learn a great deal from this course, with a thoughtful engaging professor. I would highly recommend this course.