Chevron Left
Volver a Wood Science: Beyond Building

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Wood Science: Beyond Building por parte de Universidad de Virginia Occidental

4.6
estrellas
477 calificaciones
136 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The central question of this course: “why study wood?” If “why study wood” is the question, one answer would be that it is the only raw material available to us that is truly renewable in human life span terms. Wood is as important to society today as it ever was, despite the development of many man-made substitute materials, changing resource availability, and the changing needs of society. Some items on the list of wood products stay the same (lumber, plywood and veneer for building construction, furniture, shipping pallets & crates and other containers & packaging materials, railroad ties, utility poles, chemical feed stocks, etc), but the list also keeps changing to meet new needs and challenges as the resource changes. In short, wood is a far more diverse, green, and renewable resource than you might have imagined. Join us to learn about the important role of wood in human history, civilization, and our future. By the end of the course, learners will be able to: - describe wood as a raw material and its critical importance to the world economy, and the lives of the people that make that economy work. - identify the projected trend for wood consumption to continue to grow in the coming years, despite the image of wood as a "low tech" material. - identify the ways in which wood's properties can lead to its efficient and sustainable use. -identify wood's positive role in boosting the world economy and ability to lead to unexpected vocations....

Principales reseñas

DB
4 de jun. de 2020

I am glad that I took this informative course. This course is useful to each and every people irrespective of their academic background and interests. It is good course regarding wood and its uses.

CZ
11 de feb. de 2020

As a Civil Engineering student, this course has been very helpful for me. I do recommend to have this course in order to get the basic concept of wood science and its use as a building material.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 136 revisiones para Wood Science: Beyond Building

por tommaso b

3 de jul. de 2017

In my opinion the course is very interesting. One reason is that it gives you insights into a topic which is not normally in the mainstream. Also it is strongly connected with social, economical and environmental themes. I would recommed the course to anybody interested in the world of wood production, use and the links to nowadays impacts on economics.

por Minka G

25 de sep. de 2020

The course content is very variated and nicely balanced. Issues from multiple areas of the world are discussed, as well as different uses. I especially enjoyed the perspectives of the guitar builder.

The audio and video differ a lot in quality, sometimes leading to barely being audible.

por Looi C M

19 de sep. de 2020

Well done! Lots of useful information and to learn about how to make good use of wood that build into products. Lecturers have provided many examples and elaborations with wood samples really make learning more fun.

por Toni K

21 de jul. de 2017

Great advanced course in wood science! Fits best for the person with at least basic knowledge of timber and use of it. If you are a newbie with timber, no problem; you'll get the point and maybe some great ideas.

por Sagiraju L p

26 de jul. de 2020

The course was really informative to me. As a civil engineering student I could know the importance of the most important building material I. E wood and it's types and uses and it's climatic conditions etc.

por Helen

26 de nov. de 2020

I like course very much. Nice to see and hear proffesionals. I want more information about Forest/Wood plantation managment in the future. A big intrigue was put in the course. Recomended.

por Andrew H

15 de feb. de 2018

Several of the links were dead, but other than that, great information in a very easy to follow manner. I especially enjoyed the questions during the video. Those helped tremendously.

por Md M N K

25 de ago. de 2020

The audio quality of voice during the presentation videos were not very clear. Sometimes not clearly audible as well. But the content was good anyways. Got to know many things.

por Dana C

26 de ene. de 2018

Very informative. Production value lower than what I've previously seen in other courses but it seems to work for this course, and give it an underlying charm.

por Ebru T

5 de oct. de 2020

sound and video quality was not always good, the subjects were repeated many times however it is a enjoyable course anyway

por Christina M

27 de may. de 2020

A lot of excellent information. I especially enjoyed the guitar makers videos and the experiment with veneer and water.

por Pranil b N

23 de may. de 2020

I gotta chance to get info about wood and it's various uses in different fields as well as knowledge of wood materials.

por Rodrigo M A

21 de jun. de 2017

It is interesting, but I would like to go deeper into the wood industry, new products, new techniques of sylviculture.

por Sebastián B

2 de feb. de 2018

A very good introduction to several topics related to forestry, wood science and wood industry.

por Maria H J B

14 de jun. de 2020

such interesting details about so many different aspects of wood. I like to continue!

por MAHITHA P

15 de jun. de 2020

This is a very interesting and useful course... Thankyou for teaching with patience

por Muhammad F

21 de sep. de 2020

Overall course was excellent, except the bad voice quality in some videos.

por Joy S

3 de abr. de 2017

As a woman, I learned a surprising amount of stuff I never knew before

por Jaime A C S

13 de ago. de 2020

Good content, lots of topics, but the video can be more engaging

por YASHVIITHA Y

15 de jun. de 2020

This is a short course but very helpfull

por Chiemelie N

14 de jul. de 2020

Interesting and helpful course

por Mahesh k A M

22 de may. de 2020

Good course and good material

por Joe S

17 de oct. de 2020

interesting and light

por Richard K

19 de nov. de 2017

interesting material

por Shailender K

29 de sep. de 2020

great journey