Chevron Left
Volver a Data Science Math Skills

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Data Science Math Skills por parte de Universidad Duke

4.5
estrellas
10,907 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Principales reseñas

RS

5 de may. de 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.

Thank you for a great class!!

AS

11 de ene. de 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 2,416 revisiones para Data Science Math Skills

por Ankur K

1 de mar. de 2018

It was wonderful course to do and content was good, but there are some improvement needed inside last chapter.

please add some more slides inside binomial and bayes ' theorems

por Deleted A

8 de jul. de 2017

A great introduction to the basic Mathematics skill needed to start Data Science Career. A must course for does not have the mathematics background required for Data Science.

por RISHU M

24 de may. de 2020

A must-have course for anyone who wants to start his/her career in data science. The probability module of this course is really helpful in solving many real-world problems.

por Olumuyiwa O

11 de abr. de 2020

It was excellently taught. I have not perfectly understood conditional probabilities but I am aware that it needs a lot of practice and study. Thank you for your knowledge.

por Alessandro M

18 de ago. de 2022

Great course to refresh the basic concepts of maths and statistics. However, it seems to me that you need to have previous knowledge about this topic to go forward easily.

por Tiago V

20 de sep. de 2017

Really good to remember some maths stuff and to learn and consolidate new maths stuff that I thought I knew (but actually only learnt about it in this course).

Great course

por Tony J A

20 de jul. de 2017

Really good course to get a understanding of the basic concepts required to start with data sciences. Teachers are excellent and the quizs and assignments are challenging.

por Irvin

18 de may. de 2020

Explanation and notes were very concise, although the learning curve for the probability portion is a little steep. Able to rewatch and google until you grasp the concept

por Sir P

7 de nov. de 2020

This course is really great! It helps me refresh my knowledge on basic math skills and have a further understanding of how to apply these concepts in real life scenario.

por Nakshatra G

15 de ene. de 2021

It is a great course to get knowledge of some important and very basic mathematics used in machine learning. It is a well-taught course. The instructors are very good.

por liqiang

13 de feb. de 2018

This should be my first most completed course on Coursera, although the last quiz overdue. Probability is hard to me, so I've learned a lot during this course, thanks!

por Ana P P D

27 de abr. de 2020

It has really helped me understand a lot of mathematical principles, however i think the explanations of the first professor were more understandable and easy to get.

por Aayesha A

24 de abr. de 2020

its very nice , amazing course

i have cleared my many concepts

requesting you to explain few more examples on joint probability and based on probability topic.

thank you

por SARATHKUMAR E

15 de abr. de 2020

Started from basic stuff but when things were getting interesting, the course got completed. Wish a few more topics should have been included in the probability topic

por Olumide O

17 de nov. de 2022

Foundational and easy to grasp for everyone that wants to learn the basics of mathematics and apply the same in the field of data science. Thank you for this course!

por SHIVASHISH P

27 de jun. de 2020

It is a course that led me to understand these topics from basics although I had studied all this but here it gives another dimension to my understanding. Thank you!

por Lasal J

26 de oct. de 2020

The lecturers were very clear when they explained the concepts and it was very easy to understand. Especially how the lecturer approached Bayes theorem was spot on.

por Civan L K

29 de sep. de 2020

even though I have had some background before the course, I took this course as a refreshment and it definitely helped me a lot especially week4 with Bayes theorem.

por Gaikwad M

30 de abr. de 2020

Very helpful and interesting. I truly loved this course and I believe this gonna help me in my upcoming future.. Thank you so much for such an adorable opportunity.

por vani s

24 de may. de 2019

Really Really very interesting from the beginning till the end. Instructor videos are excellent. Thank you so much and waiting for these kind of courses in future.

por Quadri A

26 de oct. de 2022

Despite the fact that I have a second degree in a mathematics related course, I found every unit of this 'Data Science Math Skills' very relevant and interesting.

por Sumit K

17 de nov. de 2020

Its one of the amazing course where i accomplished a great sense of Data Science with Maths.

Many Thanks to Duke University and Prof. Daniel Egger and Paul Bendich.

por Swaviman K

8 de may. de 2019

Very well explained concepts. The probability portion was the best. Baye's theorem & Binomial theorem were very interesting. I had a very nice learning experience.

por Kelly C D

19 de ago. de 2018

I haven't taken a formal math class in almost a decade, and this was a very "gentle" welcome-back to the quantitative realm :) thanks to the team behind the magic

por Aninkan G

30 de abr. de 2020

The quizzes were tough and challenging. Overall the course curriculum is outstanding. Thank you Coursera and Duke University for providing such wonderful course.