Chevron Left
Volver a Fundamentals of Music Theory

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Fundamentals of Music Theory por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.5
estrellas
1,352 calificaciones
423 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

Principales reseñas

GE
1 de abr. de 2021

Very good course which hammers home the essentials.\n\nGood enthusiastic lecturing and importantly on completion progressed onto Coursera Musicianship Specialisation which I have now almost completed

SS
22 de ago. de 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 414 revisiones para Fundamentals of Music Theory

por Schalk P

25 de abr. de 2020

I learnt a lot from this course. Not only does it give you a lot of insight into music theory it changes the way you look at music and leads one to appreciate music as a whole more.

por Fernando J K P

30 de dic. de 2017

Muito bom o curso de teoria musical, so faltava a legenda em português, mas o curso segue um rumo bem explicativo, gostei!

por SCP001C

31 de mar. de 2019

Perfect music course for beginner!

por Joshua R

29 de mar. de 2021

First of all, I must say I agree with some of the lower rated reviews because I felt the same way. I took the course to revise the subject. I can say that it did actually teach me a lot of thinks that I overlooked the first time around. Shortcuts, mnemonics and other stuff

The pacing I'm not sure though. It started off with "here are two notes on the staff" in week 1 to "here is the third inversion of secondary dominant in relative minor" in week five.

Here are my thoughts on the course:

I originally wanted to give only three stars- for Richard, Zack and Nikki. I felt like they were really good teachers compared to the others who taught using examples. Even the reading material was good.

As time went by, the reading material were just links to wikipedia and musictheory which I didn't expect from the University of Edinburgh. Still I must say this was kinda like a boon because those links were very helpful, even more so than some of the lecture videos.

I felt like some concepts in the quiz weren't taught in the sessions (such as counting unequal note values within tuplets etc) Also week 3 could have been handled much much better, with lots of practical examples to make learning the theory even more efficient

I don't mind the challenging quizzes, I would like to say if you're clear with the concepts and try to understand what the question is about, it is easy to score 100 in all the quizzes...even week 5. I understand the beginner's frustrations with this though. Please add feedback to all the other quizzes from week 1. Only week 1 had actual feedback, where we were told where we went wrong in the quiz.

Speaking of week 5, that took a lot of time for me because of the clearly not so beginner content and the pace. I might suggest better positioning of the camera, maybe a top view instead of a side view so we can clearly see what is being played,

I understand that its typical of universities to not spoon-feed everything, and to encourage us to go and explore the subject some more. At many points, I felt discouraged though. However I'm happy to say I eventually used multiple sources, and was able to finish the final exam which I did very well.

So in the end, this course did encourage me to do further research so I could better understand the topics, and I ended up gaining a lot, I'll go with 4 stars for my review

por James S

1 de ago. de 2020

I learned much from this course. It targeted the things that I set out to learn. However, I really disliked Part 2 of the final exam. Many of the questions covered material and concepts that were not covered or not covered adequately in the lecture material. This left my answers open-ended. At the same time, I saw answers from my peer reviews that contained language and phrases nearly identical to the rubric. Was my review of the lecture material and additional research really out of touch with what my peers were learning or had my peers seen the rubric content before submitting the final? For this and other reasons associated with the peer review, I would like never to see a peer review on Coursera again.

por Deleted A

5 de jun. de 2019

Some of the pictures in the quizzes the name of the pictures reveals the answer to the question

por Himadri S S

31 de mar. de 2020

I am going to be very realistic about the course here, so please take it seriously. This course is for beginners indeed as per the learning procedure is concerned, however towards the end of course, things get very difficult and few assignments/quizzes are really very difficult. And specially the final assignment is damn tough, its beyond imaginable as far as beginners are concerned, I do not think that a beginner can actually crack that paper in 3 or 4 months time, its almost impossible. I have been associated with music for almost 10 years now, and I did this course for the certificate, I found the final quiz to be very very challenging and its going to be impossible for you if you're a beginner, it literally has extracts from Classical Piano pieces and ask you to refer to a certain portion of it and all the questions of the last final assignment are from such extracts which are very tough to comprehend. If you know music for something like 2-5 years, this course is for you. Also please refer to a very good music theory book along with the course like AB Guide to Music Theory by Eric Taylor, or Berklee Music Theory part 1 because several concepts here have just been touched and not discussed in depth. Overall, from my POV I am extremely satisfied with the course because it wasn't a very big deal for me, but if you are a beginner, you might not like the way it ends. So think twice before you enrol. I hope this helps, all the best.

por Zhe L

15 de ene. de 2017

They just throw all the material at you without giving you enough explanations or exercises. This situation gets worse in the last two weeks and you can hardly breathe. It is like, "Okay now we have learned that 1+2=3. Let's talk about calculus."

por Wendy O

3 de sep. de 2019

This course is DEFINITELY NOT for beginners as they initially lead you to believe. I took this class to hopefully help my daughter in her high school music theory class if she needed it. I've taken plenty of online classes over the years and this was definitely one of the most difficult!

They really need to let potential students know that a solid background in piano and/or guitar is necessary before tackling this course. Despite the fact that I've been playing flute for over 40 years, and have a dance background, I was very lost throughout this course. There's nobody to explain anything and the final exam (especially part 2) was nearly impossible to complete accurately. It was as if they wanted us to read their minds. I did learn some things but it was not-at-all a pleasant experience.

por Andrey A

21 de feb. de 2021

The first few intro lectures were very interesting, but then at some point sheet music reading became an absolutely must have skill and I had lots of pain counting all those lines just to read and understand the question. This totally ruined the whole course for me. While being able to read sheet music is an important skill and I'd definitely love to have this skill, you can't just say "ok, read it".

por Deleted A

10 de oct. de 2016

The course material itself is enjoyable, but the quizzes don't work properly. The feedback given to the same responses between retakes is contradictory.

por Luis O

15 de jul. de 2020

unas cosas vienen en español y otras no, ¿como puedo responder las preguntas si todas vienen en ingles y yo no hablo ese idioma?

por Richard G

1 de dic. de 2019

Surprisingly tedious. Material presented better in other courses.

por yousuf t

26 de jun. de 2019

FUCKING GARBAGE ASS SCAM

por Atheer E

17 de may. de 2018

The best course one can wish for in Music Theory. Very convenient, clear, includes examples and exercises during the lessons, and a sheet of summary in the end of each lesson, as well. The instructors are very lovely and clear. Things are explained in a way that even as an absolute beginner you can follow. I had a slight knowledge before, but I wanted to refresh and continue from where I stopped. This course allowed me to do it in a very short time, without skipping anything, and without feeling I am "missing the train". The order in which the material is given is also thought of.

Everything in this course is considered, thought of, and given a big value.

One can get the course for free or pay (very cheap compared to its high level) to get the certificate of completing it. There's only one thing that you need to keep in mind, in the non-paid (free) option, the materials cannot be viewed backwards after completing the section/week (only the first week remains available). So when I completed week #2, quickly, and passed the test, then proceeded to week #3, I couldn't go back to week #2 to view some things I wanted to re-read for deeper understanding.

Thank you very much for the free content you give, for the beautiful way it is given. All the instructors are great. I am very grateful. I have completed 2.5 weeks in a matter of few days only, and I am very excited to continue. It made me reconsider buying the course to get the certificate, and have the whole material for further access. After this course, I am more sure and determined about my decision to pursue my dream and learn music.

por Alexander A

29 de jun. de 2019

Thanks to the lecturers for a good course!

Maybe the material can seems difficult to those who trying to learn the basics only through the videos. I preferred to combine the course with reading a book on the basics of music theory. Lectures with quizes became a good practical addition to the book and seemed easy enough for me.

The second part of the final exam was really hard. There were many questions in it for which the course does not provide sufficient skill training background. But I regarded it as a motivation for doing some research work. And after watching some videos on YouTube, reading Wikipedia and various articles on harmonic analysis, everything fell into place. It was worth it since after such kind of work the basic skills are strengthen very well.

por Arttu S

4 de mar. de 2018

Overall an excellent introduction to music theory. The course makes you work a little bit but rewards you by expanding your understanding of musical structures and ideas behind them. You're also able to analyse and write notation after you have finished the course.

I've always played by ear and never bothered to learn basic theory as I never felt I would be needing it in the future. I also felt that music theory was complicated and (excuse me) dull. In that sense, this course makes an exception and I was able to finish the five weeks in a month working maybe couple of hourse per week. Now, especially after this course, I think my musical understanding has progressed.

The Coursera learning environment works very well both on laptop and mobile.

por John B

17 de nov. de 2020

This was an excellent course! I've played piano for years and never understood how the composers were moving from key to key or creating the effects they got. This really opened my eyes and I want to know MORE! My only minor complaint, is that I would have appreciated it if you had covered how to name the chords between the two staffs, how to deal with repeated notes, when is it an inversion, what to consider between the two staves and how to account for "extra" notes. As such, the practical part of the exam did cover this and I thought your grading notes were excellent. I was pretty wary about that part of the exam but am really glad I did it (including the peer reviews). Thank you.

por Siqi M

23 de sep. de 2020

I really like this course. As a person who plays piano but don't know too much about music theory, I think this course i's a little difficult but not too difficult.

Feedback: I do have one feedback for the final quiz though. I think some questions from the final quiz is a bit stretching. For example the concept of passing note(a note you can overlook when analyzing chords), and a chord could be analyzed as different key is not mentioned much in the course lecture material. I know we have some related analysis in the last reading material for Bach's prelude. But I feel more explaining or introduction of these new concepts in video lecture will be even more helpful.

por Roie S

9 de ene. de 2021

I'm 25 years old and I've been writing and preforming my music for the past 6-7 years. I've never received a proper musical education growing up so through the years I've mostly skimmed through the "basics" of music theory and just paddled along with my listening and a little help from my friends. This course is the first of its kind that I've ever done and it was splendid! The material was nicely spread out and was organized in an agreeable fashion that made things truly more understandable to me. I hope to continue getting better at understanding what works and what doesn't in the music world and this was another nice first step. Thank you!

por Wayne P

11 de mar. de 2021

I commenced this course as complete beginner, I have never owned a musical instrument or played a musical instrument or read a single note of music. This is a completely new field for me. Each week I put in a lot of hours (outside my regular job) to absorb, understand and apply what I was learning. It was very challenging, but the exhilaration of leaning the fundamentals of the language of music was so worth it. The course has given me a new appreciation and understanding of music that I was ignorant of before.

por Aaron Y

28 de ene. de 2017

Love this course so far! As I am using this for a quick review for my music theory to supplement my years of piano music before taking the AP Music Theory exam later this year, this course is very informational and helpful. I wish they had released a vocabulary list each week as either an assignment too for just a completion grade, or given hand in hand with the printouts each lesson to help develop the musicianship and familiarity of music's unique jargon.

por Raul C M

10 de may. de 2017

seria importante reforzar la aplicación en otros idiomas para facilitar lectura y comprensión de temas.

Francamente la semana 5 se me dificulto por las traducciones, recomiendo dividir el tema en dos semanas por su complejidad; el instructor es muy bueno pero las grabaciones se deben mejorar y citar mas ejemplos prácticos. las ligas a otros sitios para reforzar el conocimiento son buenas pero se podría recurrir a ejemplos de YouTube

Thanks!

por Beth B

5 de abr. de 2017

What a wonderful course. The instructors were so engaging and knowledgeable... and talented! It is a topic that I've always wanted to know about but never had the opportunity in school to learn about it. It got pretty technical at times and, like learning a language, it really takes a lot of memorization or experience to fully grasp the subject matter, but the parts that I could follow, was just what I was hoping to get from the course!

por TRUDY D

4 de jun. de 2018

The course was a thorough review of Scales, Keys, Chords, Intervals, Progressions, Interludes, Modulations, Cadences, and much more. The reading and analysis of a classical work by Beethoven was very enlightening. I believe that most of the students found the course to be interesting and a valuable learning tool.

The instructors were very informative and well versed in their working knowledge of the fundamentals of music.