Chevron Left
Volver a Fundamentals of Music Theory

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Fundamentals of Music Theory por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.6
estrellas
1,308 calificaciones
403 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

Principales reseñas

SS
22 de ago. de 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

KM
30 de abr. de 2020

Its not as easy as it seems, it will give you a good challenge. After you finish this, you will be more confident about your music theory. Thank you University of Edinburgh! Thank you Coursera!

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 396 revisiones para Fundamentals of Music Theory

por Kelly S

15 de feb. de 2021

Thanks for joy during covid. I anticipated that I would spend a lot of time alone during the pandemic. I bought myself a keyboard and some piano instruction books to start a new hobby. At the same time, I signed up for this class. The class really enhanced the whole process. The class increased my motivation to keep practicing the keyboard. Thank you.

por Kirkley

31 de jul. de 2020

This class was fantastic, but as someone with a strong background in music from a young age, it was a challenge even for me! I don't believe this is a 'beginner-level' course, but it is an intensive and comprehensive overview and provides a very strong foundation in music theory. I loved it, and learned SO much! Thank you University of Edinburgh!

por Marco

22 de oct. de 2017

This one of the best course that i've found on the web. Although I have some previous trainning, this course aloud me to recap go further. Irecommend it to any one who is interested to put all the things already known, and to those who are interested in aquiring some music theory foundations. I recommend to watch the difficult parts, several times.

por Uday

1 de ago. de 2020

Had a blast, its a really amazing course with really good assignments.

I am a bit sad now that the course has completed. It was really fun watching and learning from all the lecturers( especially from Dr Zack and Dr Nikki) teach with such enthusiasm and interest.

Really recommend taking this course if you are new to music theory.

por Tom P

10 de may. de 2017

The course is great. it's fun, interesting, engaging and all.

I think that what I would add is some more links to pieces of music, or videos of the mentors talking about and performing musical pieces, like in the one when John played Bach's prelude in C, and the analysis afterwards - This was really interesting and inspiring!

por Eugene B

31 de may. de 2020

It's a course on music THEORY and in my opinion it does a great job at introducing you to the fundamentals of it. It's not exhaustive, in that you have to read around from other sources in order to fully understand certain concepts; the quizes and final exam reflect this. Overall, it's challenging, educative and rewarding!

por Alex R

4 de may. de 2017

It is a very interestring course. It provides one with basic information about musical theory. I liked particularly the part about chords and their connections. I would like to see given a longer course dedicated to this part (Harmony). I would like to thank all the lecturers for a very enjoyable and informative course.

por Angélica R R R

24 de feb. de 2018

I like this course. I suppose some questions in the quiz are obviously but in general, finally I understood basic fundamentals of the music theory, because I did not before. Thank you so much to the Edinburg university. It's sad I don't have money to be certified, but I love this course. :D Thanks!

por Ekaterina A

11 de ene. de 2021

The course gets more and more difficult as you go, and its important to really understand and practice the concepts (and research them further sometimes) before moving on. I liked the structure and the instructors a lot, and learned a lot not just with videos but mainly with questions and quizzes.

por Povoroznyuk Y I / П Я И

11 de abr. de 2018

A big THANK YOU to everebody who created this course! Now I have a good knowledge of fundamental music theory and can learn more about harmony. It was a little bit hard to understand all information from 5th week, but recommended sources from this course helped me. Thanks a lot!

Best regards,

Yana.

por Kermit B B

14 de may. de 2017

Loved it. This was the first course i felt was extremely challenging, informative, and inspirational. I grew up playing the alto sax, but the theory was awesome.

It also felt like a College level course. Leaving the learner to expand and expound upon the material presented.

Thank YOU

Kermit

por Roman S

27 de mar. de 2017

I've learn a lot here from absolutely zero. Before taking the course I couldn't even imagine that it is possible for me to learn anything about music and to be able to understand notes notation. Definitely recommend. But keep in mind that it requires you to work overtime and practice it.

por JD D

15 de ene. de 2017

Un curso muy bien resumido pero completo que asegura una exigencia competente en sus evaluaciones, lo recomiendo totalmente para aquel que quiera ejercitar su dominio de la armonía y a otros hispanohablantes (como yo) que busquen conocer más acerca del inglés técnico dentro de la música.

por Farhan S

6 de jul. de 2017

It was a wonderful course and a great beginning to my musical journey. The fundamentals were covered efficiently and made it possible to learn the deep nuances of harmony and musical progression. I would truly recommend it to all those interested in learning what creates music.

por Daniel N A

17 de abr. de 2017

An amazing course on the Fundamentals of Music Theory! I am beginning my musical education with this program and getting ready to start community college in the fall, so this is definitely getting me ready. Perhaps, one day I plan to study music at this university in Scotland.

por José A B

13 de jul. de 2020

Muy recomendable. Realiza un repaso de los conceptos introductorios y centrales para el análisis musical. Ejemplos claros y muy buenos profesores. El examen final es un compendio de todo lo explicado, con una exigencia justa y superadora. Muy conforme con el curso realizado.

por Nemakhavhani N

24 de may. de 2017

This is a great course and will help you to quickly grasp the essential knowledge & skills in music theory. However you must not only rely on the videos, make use of the class notes provided and also do your own research.Last but not least, practice what they teach you:)

por Tree T

23 de oct. de 2019

Starts off fairly easy but gets much harder halfway through. Helps if you know how to read music well (not sight reading). Stick it to the end and you'll learn a lot! I know I did!

Highlights for me: Learning about the importance of circle of fifths and modulating.

por Ramin C

16 de ago. de 2018

This has been a really great way for me to learn much of the basics of music theory!

The instructors have made a great job in explaining quite complex ideas in a way that is easy to understand, however some in-depth seeking will be needed from the students as well.

por Sara M

17 de ene. de 2019

A great course! It has been undoubtedly my favourite until now in Coursera and I highly recommend it. I would like to specially thank Dr Nikki Moran, Dr Zack Moir and Dr John Philip Kitchen for making it look easier than it is and really pleasant and enjoyable.

por Nikita D

23 de ago. de 2017

I think this course is a great way to start understand how Western music works on a new level, how read note stave, how to start analyze music and find harmony. There are some great mnemonic things to remember lot of difficult stuff. I like it a lot! Thank you!

por Ece B

1 de dic. de 2016

I am an amateur musician myself, in high school. I love playing music and singing so much but i always felt like i was missing theoretic information. Thanks to this course, I feel like i am overcoming this situation. Thank you so much for making this possible.

por PONG T Y G

25 de may. de 2020

The course is well organized. The instructors explain the materials clearly supplemented with demonstrations that help tremendously. However, it seems the learner needs to read and self initiate extra materials to appreciate and understand the knowledge.

por Veeshveesh

8 de may. de 2019

An exceptional overview of the basics of Music Theory and a great curriculum organization provided in this course really did help me understand the curriculum better. Thank you to all the teachers in this course that helped me to learn something new!

por Panagiotis E

23 de nov. de 2016

A very well structured cpurse. A solid amount of information delivered, with the pace picking up maybe a little too abruptly after week 3. However, I did learn a lot, and investing the time required was definitely worth it. Highly recommended.