Chevron Left
Volver a Mercados financieros

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mercados financieros por parte de Universidad de Yale

4.8
estrellas
13,911 calificaciones
3,230 reseña

Acerca del Curso

An overview of the ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. Emphasis on financially-savvy leadership skills. Description of practices today and analysis of prospects for the future. Introduction to risk management and behavioral finance principles to understand the real-world functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries. The ultimate goal of this course is using such industries effectively and towards a better society....

Principales reseñas

SK

May 10, 2020

This course is so useful to know about finance in depth it gives more examples about the finance . It help to make more decision in finance market. It also motivate students to attract towards finance

JC

Aug 20, 2020

Curso perfeito em todos os aspectos, me introduziu ao mercado financeiro e me fez querer escolher essa área para atuar. Robert Shiller merece o posto de maiores economistas que temos, pessoa incrível.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 3,221 revisiones para Mercados financieros

por Ainel

May 23, 2019

Professor Robert Shiller is the best lecturer I've ever heard! He explains difficult termins using simple examples. THANK YOU Professor!

por Luke R

Sep 19, 2019

I give the course a 2-2.5. I've graduated with a Bachelor's in Finance and wanted to try a coursera course to expand, or reaffirm, my knowledge of various topics. I did relearn a handful of concepts and learn more about other topics. But, it makes more sense as an intro class. As others were saying, I guess the course is taken from a full course, so the videos are snippets and do not provide a full understanding of all the topics.

The slides can be put together better (too wordy and/or provide a reference guide on what was covered in the entire lecture). I had the videos on 1.5x-2.0x speed as the prof spoke slow so I can see why people were annoyed by that. If anyone has taken a course on Investopedia, they do it better. They provide exercises frequently, notes, and make the content engaging and easy to follow. Maybe check out Investopedia for a small range of courses.

But to answer who this is for.. Someone just starting in Finance. If you had years of Financial markets in college, you do not need this. Or if you take it for free, look at the various videos and watch those as there are some informative videos on areas I haven't learned in college. But overall, not really engaging, kind of thrown together, no resources/notes just slides and closed captions as text. Would be better if topics were broken down, slides were more appealing, notes/guides provided, and different exercises throughout each lecture (the aggregate of all the individual videos).

por Sebastián R R

Mar 17, 2018

The course is not that challenging, it could be better, with more challenging tests and assignements.

por Lena P

Apr 14, 2020

very confusing and doesn't seem connected or flow

por Rose-Emily C

Oct 09, 2019

This was a terrible course.

por Ahmed, A M

Sep 25, 2020

The Professor was very knowledgeable and carried the class along with him. He made the course very easy for me even though the course was long. I want to use this opportunity to say thank you to him.

por Кирин Р В

Dec 16, 2018

Thanks to the course team and Coursera. Many areas of modern finance were covered and many life examples were given. I really enjoy Professor Shiller lecturing style.

por R k

May 25, 2019

I am glad to have that best experience with your portal , it helps me alot to explore my knowledge in finance field.

por Stanley W

May 18, 2019

Great course on financial market and benefit to non-financial background personnel.

por Tahseen S

Mar 11, 2020

Poorly produced.

por John M O C

Mar 03, 2019

My first course in this coursera website. I work in the wealth management unit of a bank in the Philippines. I am familiar already with the financial markets because of my college degree but this course gives the information to me on a different and fresh perspective. I am familiar with most of the topics covered here but I understand more about them since Mr Shiller talks about the historical context and gives many examples to picture the underlying i

por Marc L

May 19, 2019

Incredible course. The course is difficult, but that's the great thing about it. Having Prof. Shiller as a teacher, even online, is priceless.

por Irwan L L

Dec 29, 2018

Interesting video and professor Shiller is great !

por Robert S D

May 21, 2019

Great course. Great instructor.

por Harish J

Jun 13, 2020

I'm going to write my Review based on my survey since I answered the main questions of this course in depth in that section:

Tl;Dr: Good course as an introductory into Financial market concepts. Lots of mathematical formulas are unexplained or the necessary nuances are not provided. If you expect to do this course to play the stock market and understand the practical way to build an optimal portfolio, then forget it. You're gonna need to study much much more for that.

What was the strongest aspect of the course?

1. Perhaps the strongest aspect of this course that it serves as a very good introduction to the basics of finance by introducing and explaining a vast array of concepts into videos that were digestible and structured in a way that it was easy to keep track of each aspect of the financial system.

2. References made to the various authors, books and other financial materials that will undoubtedly be very useful in further research and study

3. Professor Shiller had a cheerful and engaging attitude and that was quite pleasant and is a teacher that emphatically tries to break down concepts into ways one can easily understand.

What was the weakest aspect of the course?

The course veered off into too many generalizations and editing could have been much more tighter in maintaining focus. Conversely, when slightly more advanced concepts were introduced or concepts which required inter-linking of different ideas, then the flow was interrupted and it was difficult to keep track of the lesson.

Primary examples include:

1. During the explanation videos for mathematical formulas, it would have been more helpful to break down what those formulas meant and each aspect much more in terms of the concept. Often, the professor would be talking about something general and then immediately jump into the formula and its relevance and just explain it . If graphs were used to illustrate the formula or different mathematical inputs put into place so we can get an example of how formulas are to be used practically, then that would be much more helpful. It was interesting to learn and know the mathematical formulas especially for CAPM or for Bid/Ask/Options spreads but they were either poorly edited or not explained adequately.

2. The whole section on Bonds/Options/Put/Call could have been explained more. I don't know whether enough concepts were discussed in Class or edited out completely but the information given was not enough to form a complete picture of understanding what those markets are and how they work practically. It was not broken down enough. I really didn't understand strike price or its application, how to work out how to purchase and navigate these securities practically.

3. The course videos were edited haphazardly at times as the Course felt sometimes almost too general as a lot of video content involved Professor Shiller speaking generally on concepts rather than giving in-depth research based information. Perhaps it is his style, but it seems as though much of the important complex information that is necessary to gain a fuller understanding has been edited out. That is problematic as application-based questions come in the Honours Content and it is very difficult to answer those questions without knowing the specific information or learning how those formulas work practically.

If you have any suggested improvements for the course please outline them below

1. Explanations need to serve 2 purposes, at least for me: To break down topics into easily understandable concepts and then once digested, to delve into the intricacies and complexities that it has to offer. The nuances of Professor's explanations were missing in many concepts and he would focus only on giving general examples on breaking them down.

That's well and good but he can't jump from giving a general example that "Diversification of your portfolio is important, so invest in all sorts of companies from different industries in order to maximize your dividends and minimise risks and then immediately jump into calcuating the expected return on an asset & its Beta" and then delve in to the Ri = Rf + Bi (Rmarket - Rf) formula and expect it to make sense.

There's a disconnect or a concept that has to be broken down in the middle so we understand the significance of the expected return and how do we calculate this using practical examples of real life stocks so we can come up with an optimal portfolio by inputting values into this formula. I felt that this disconnect is the primary thing that has to be addressed. If he indeed has explained and broken down these concepts in more detail and this has been edited out, then it very much needs to be edited back into place and the generalities removed. That would serve the course much better.

Right now, it's good for understanding some basic concepts but it's a hodge podge of mostly generalizations and very little of the serious nuances that one comes to expect from a reputed Professor. That's why my ultimate impression is that it's good for beginners but skip past the generalities since most of the course is like that and whenever the meat does arrive, it's not got the added flavorings and isn't cooked well since the necessary explanations for savoring the meat isn't there.

This may be very extended, but I spent quite a bit of time doing this course and I had to really push through at the end so that is why I decided to take some time and write a thorough review of how I felt and what it can change since I invested so much time into learning it.

por Shreyansh J

Jan 15, 2018

It's more of a course for the people who have prior knowledge on Finances. I wouldn't recommend it to laymen just looking for an introductory finance course. All in all, it was a good course.

por David S

May 28, 2020

I find the professor is hard to understand because he is so slow in making a point. I have listened to a few lectures and have given up. I am going to look for another course.

por Sergey F

May 02, 2020

Don't waste your time! It's unstructured pile of videos recorded from face-to-face teaching. No explanations, no order, no structure, nothing.

por Sudiksha

Sep 01, 2019

too short videos

por Daniel a p p

Aug 06, 2020

Estoy feliz de haber completado este curso, es realmente bueno para conocer los temas importantes que determinan el funcionamiento de los mercados y me da elementos como para poder invertir. Tambien, destacar que me ayudó a pasar de mejor manera el periodo de cuarentena (Covid-19) de una manera positiva y ocupar este tiempo confinado en crecimiento personal .

El curso es muy bien estructurado en todos los temas y el profesor es muy buen pedagogo, a la vez ,que lo hace con un toque de humor. Por último, las entrevistas y presentaciones son buenas, para mostrar que tambien a traves de las finanzas se pueden hacer cosas buenas para la humanidad.

Agradecer a Coursera, a la universidad de Yale y al Señor Shiller.

por Nicole D

Jan 23, 2020

A comprehensive, insightful, and inspiring introduction to the world of finance. It was a privilege to be able to learn directly from one of the most formidable experts in this area, and completing the course has contributed invaluably to my formal studies and informal reading in finance. Professor Shiller adeptly traverses across history, recent times, and the future of the global financial industry, tapping into psychology, law, and sociology, skilfully switching from micro to macro perspectives, delivering the lectures and salons in a way that is highly engaging, witty, and and has enthused me to learn more.

por Panwad M

Sep 17, 2020

A must take course for anyone that is interested in Finance. Right away, you know you have found a very special professor. Prof. Robert Shiller is a great instructor. He can explain and elaborate concepts in a way that is engaging, interesting, and is well paced. The course is designed to give over all understanding of financial markets as well as inspire students to think creatively on how financial instruments and regulations were developed in the past to help address human problems and what financial instruments may be innovated in the future to help us thrive in the new environment.

por OSAMUYIMEN G I

Oct 06, 2020

Professor Shiller has a very welcoming and inclusive approach to teaching. His ability to simplify complex financial terms and theories, allowed me to gain invaluable in-depth knowledge of Financial Markets and understand the important role of Finance in the world and how it relates to our life experiences. I'm so glad I participated in this course. It was definitely time well spent, and I believe it adds immense value to anyone looking to understand Finance.

por Aviram V

Oct 29, 2019

Excellent course, quite intense and allowed for multiple levels of involvement with the honors quizzes. It is a privilege to learn from Prof. Shiller the exact same material that students at Yale learn, at a fraction of the cost from the comfort of your home. Thanks to the team who put this together and to Yale + Coursera. Highly recommend this to everyone who is related to any form of business.

por Supanut L

May 26, 2020

It is my honor to learn with Professor Shiller. This course would change my life and my view of the financial sector. I would recommend everyone to take this course your point of view would never be the same after that. This MOOC demonstrates how wonderful education could change people. Also, I want to express my appreciation to Yale university to give this opportunity to everyone.