Chevron Left
Volver a Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity por parte de Universidad de Copenhague

4.8
estrellas
644 calificaciones
195 reseña

Acerca del Curso

It is often claimed that relativism, subjectivism and nihilism are typically modern philosophical problems that emerge with the breakdown of traditional values, customs and ways of life. The result is the absence of meaning, the lapse of religious faith, and feeling of alienation that is so widespread in modernity. The Danish thinker Søren Kierkegaard (1813-55) gave one of the most penetrating analyses of this complex phenomenon of modernity. But somewhat surprisingly he seeks insight into it not in any modern thinker but rather in an ancient one, the Greek philosopher Socrates. In this course created by former associate professor at the Søren Kierkegaard Research Centre, Jon Stewart, we will explore how Kierkegaard deals with the problems associated with relativism, the lack of meaning and the undermining of religious faith that are typical of modern life. His penetrating analyses are still highly relevant today and have been seen as insightful for the leading figures of Existentialism, Post-Structuralism and Post-Modernism....

Principales reseñas

AB
2 de jul. de 2018

An excellent course on Kierkegaard's use of irony. The teacher is great and the lectures are very interesting. I loved the interviews and the views of Copenhagen. Thanks a lot. Greetings from Madrid!

GH
29 de ago. de 2016

Really worthwhile and informative, in-depth review of Kierkegaard as a person, his life, and his works. Can be taken even if you've never touched philosophy before. Great production and selections.

Filtrar por:

176 - 193 de 193 revisiones para Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

por Ruby H

18 de ene. de 2016

Enjoyable, very interesting and easy enough to follow. I love how broad yet simultaneously specific the scope of learning is in this course too.

por Melinda M

5 de sep. de 2016

Prof. Stewart is amazing! He is able to take very complex concepts and make them understandable to a neophyte like me. Thank you very much.

por Freddy S

6 de ene. de 2016

Very well presented course, but in my view could be somewhat more to the point. Nevertheless, congratulations for a job well done.

por Ali V

7 de jun. de 2017

thanks to the instructor, this course is a mediating one between an introduction and a scholarly contribution to kierkegaard.

por Ronald J B

23 de abr. de 2016

I do not intend to write the final essay. I took the course for personal interest and accomplsihed my goals.

por Johannes d W

17 de jun. de 2018

Great course, I like the way it is organized and how the main theme is always clear.

por Iskandar L

28 de dic. de 2016

professor jon stewart is a walking kierkegaard

por James L

2 de ago. de 2016

I love the lectures! Challenging and rigorous.

por Carlos R A

7 de jul. de 2020

I considered the course must be quite long.

por Deanna M

28 de oct. de 2017

Good detail without being boring.

por Accelerator

5 de nov. de 2019

readings are interesting!!

por Alex G

18 de abr. de 2021

The course has definitely created an interest in the figure of Kierkegaard. It covers all his life and Jon Stewart is clearly very knowledgeable on the subject and explains it with passion which created interest and engagement. Unfortunately, I found three aspects that could improve and hence the low rate. Firstly I think the content became a bit too repetitive and seeing the extent of Kierkegaard´s publications, there is really no shortage of content to focus on. Secondly, I think the best part of the course was the interviews with expert scholars so I would have included more of this, and even created some sort of debate between them. Finally, I think the course focuses too much on the historical context and wastes too much time on aspects not directly related to philosophy. While I understand this is somewhat necessary to put things in perspective, it also distracted me from the philosophy itself.

por Breeze S

11 de abr. de 2019

A lot of information, without an engaging course and video. I liked what I was learning but, watching the videos quite literally put me to sleep.

por Joy S

9 de mar. de 2016

long lectures, hard to understand material. Filmed in interesting locations relating to subjects. Not easy but worth the effort

por James S

23 de mar. de 2017

Asked for more feedback for peers that found my final paper insufficient. Received nothing! Asked for guidance from staff. Received nothing! Excellent course with great content but I have issues with the evaluation process when peers and staff do not participate in the advertised methods of communicating their concerns with my work!

por Jack H

24 de ene. de 2021

Content - presentation great. Technology issues - especially submitting written responses was very complicated and needs a lot of improvement. I almost stopped the course with these difficulties, especially the last assignment.

por Vitaly K

1 de jun. de 2019

If the course content is still interesting and informative, then no one evaluates the final essay for weeks, and there is also no direct contact with the course supervisor (Dr. Timothy Hall).

It is also necessary to take into account the fact of non-objective assessment of the essay.

So keep in mind that you most likely will not be able to complete the course and receive your certificate in time. I recommend the course exclusively for free familiarization.

por Nancy W

14 de nov. de 2016

Rather uninteresting presentation. I found it hard to become interested in the course or Kierkegaard after having high hopes of truly enjoying it. The best parts of the lectures were when the instructor was taped at venues pertinent to the course. The peer reviewers were not always fair, in my opinion. I'd spend my time elsewhere, personally, especially since this course was something for my own personal edification and not a requirement.