Chevron Left
Volver a Moral Foundations of Politics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Moral Foundations of Politics por parte de Universidad de Yale

4.9
estrellas
5,099 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Principales reseñas

SS

1 de jul. de 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS

16 de sep. de 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

326 - 350 de 978 revisiones para Moral Foundations of Politics

por Felipe I C A

19 de jun. de 2020

Un muy buen curso, que me entregó herramientas y argumentos muy importantes en cuanto a los fundamentos morales de la política.

por Manuel V

21 de feb. de 2019

Excelente curso que analiza en profundidad grandes temas relacionadas con la política y el pensar filosófico de algunos autores

por Tom T

9 de abr. de 2017

I enjoyed this course. The information was presented in an interesting way, and the student dialogues reinforced the knowledge.

por thobela c

10 de may. de 2020

The moral foundations in politics are true guidance to understanding the political approach in this dispensation of modernity.

por Tilen

14 de nov. de 2015

Since i finished philosophy studies and continue economics, this is a big insight of the development of liberal thought. Great

por Saar B

4 de sep. de 2020

Easy to follow. The tests at the end of each section are based on actual content. You can take your time. Really good course.

por Sebastian K

14 de jun. de 2020

120/5000

It´s an excellent course, really very complete and interesting. It provides the necessary knowledge in a short time.

por Ng E X

19 de jul. de 2021

I really enjoyed the course and I took away a lot about how politics around the world and especially my own country is like.

por Andrea N S V

28 de oct. de 2020

Sin duda un curso espectacular para entender los diversos sistemas económicos y de justicia que han imperado en la sociedad.

por Miguel A

24 de may. de 2020

Muy informativo. Te saca muchas dudas sobre las diversas corrientes políticas que han dominado al mundo durante su historia.

por Shah F

27 de sep. de 2018

The introduction was great! His pronunciation and method of teaching is matchless. I hope to learn a lot in the coming weeks

por Esther P

28 de abr. de 2018

This course is very interesting, and complete. I highly recommend it to everyone and I am grateful it was available online.

por Sergio F C

31 de mar. de 2021

exellent course, I lived every moment, every single experience, thanks to you all. I've learned a lot more than I thought.

por C M M C

25 de jul. de 2020

Thank you so much. It helps to better understand and approach this subject in greater depth with more inclusive thinking.

por Yochai W

11 de ago. de 2017

Fantastic course. I felt I needed some basic introduction to political thinking, and this course is exactly what I needed.

por Robert K

17 de jun. de 2016

Great course taught in a solid and easily accessible fashion. Just the right balance of theory and practical application.

por 林京芮

25 de oct. de 2017

Great! I'd cherish this experience for my whole life and apply the viewpoints of it to analyze current political problems

por Huang Z

15 de sep. de 2021

It's great getting to know how philosophy has greatly influenced politics and they often go hand in hand with each other

por Lucas N M

28 de feb. de 2021

Consegui ter a base teórica que queria para montar um projeto de pós-graduação envolvendo filosofia política e direito.

por Gustavo A T M

6 de ago. de 2020

Muchas gracias por la oportunidad brindada y por la ampliación de conocimientos en todo el ámbito relacionado al curso.

por Val S

10 de feb. de 2020

Ian Shapiro is an amazing teacher. Abundance of knowledge and discoveries that make us reflect and review our concepts.

por Paz O

12 de mar. de 2019

Muy buen curso, me sirvió mucho para la reflexión y poder plantear mis inquietudes de mejor forma con mayor fundamento.

por Terry Y

25 de jun. de 2018

It is an amazing course that provides you an understanding on the different political traditions and how are they used.

por Jorge M C

1 de jun. de 2017

Extraordinario curso, para quienes estén interesados en una guía para profundizar en el mundo de la filosofía política.

por Maisarah B A L

13 de jun. de 2020

great starting point if you are looking for an introductory course to politics from a western (mostly USA) perspective