Chevron Left
Volver a Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis por parte de Universidad Científica y Tecnológica de Hong Kong

4.4
estrellas
2,112 calificaciones
467 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Course Overview: https://youtu.be/JgFV5qzAYno Python is now becoming the number 1 programming language for data science. Due to python’s simplicity and high readability, it is gaining its importance in the financial industry. The course combines both python coding and statistical concepts and applies into analyzing financial data, such as stock data. By the end of the course, you can achieve the following using python: - Import, pre-process, save and visualize financial data into pandas Dataframe - Manipulate the existing financial data by generating new variables using multiple columns - Recall and apply the important statistical concepts (random variable, frequency, distribution, population and sample, confidence interval, linear regression, etc. ) into financial contexts - Build a trading model using multiple linear regression model - Evaluate the performance of the trading model using different investment indicators Jupyter Notebook environment is configured in the course platform for practicing python coding without installing any client applications....

Principales reseñas

EJ
3 de ago. de 2019

Great course! Very didatic explanations about financial and statistical concepts also with some interesting practical Python for Finance! Looking forward for new courses from same Univ. and prof.!

LH
23 de mar. de 2020

A very good introduction course to python programming and it has a perfect combination with statistics, which makes financial analysis more interesting and refresh my mind on it, thanks.

Filtrar por:

376 - 400 de 464 revisiones para Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

por Luis O

15 de oct. de 2020

It is a good course

por Debaditya D

1 de jun. de 2020

The course is good.

por Ahmad M

31 de ene. de 2019

i have learned alot

por Pablo I M B

23 de ago. de 2020

Fundamental level

por Preeti B

23 de jun. de 2020

great course

por Adewale A

18 de abr. de 2020

Lovely couse

por Gloria D

9 de may. de 2020

Thank you!

por Ankul S

11 de jun. de 2020

very good

por Aria Z

23 de abr. de 2019

pros

(1) h

por Chui S F

18 de may. de 2020

GOOD

por Karel H

12 de ene. de 2020

Good

por Nicholas P B

9 de abr. de 2020

First parts were pretty good. Good explanation of pandas and how to work with python for statistical analysis. As the course went on, it deviated towards statistics. At times I didn't understand what the professor was saying as he didn't fully explain what he was doing. Sometimes he would go through topics to quickly without explaining them in depth, which meant I had to re-watch many videos several times to understand (or at least trying to). I would have also liked to have more of an explanation on the python aspect of how to do things as the course went on. As I said initially, it explained things very well at the beginning, then, it was a bit hard to follow,. Therefore a bit more explanation in the programming at the later stages of the course would have been much appreciated. Overall though it was a good course to get an initial feeling of financial analysis, however you need a good level of statistics to understand most things.

por Maria C F

24 de may. de 2020

I expected to learn to build stock market modeling in Python using statistics but did not really learn anything.The videos are short but you may have to take hours to digest the videos. Also, many of the codes shown in the videos are outdated so when I tried to re-create the model in my JN the codes didn't work. Even the codes already given in the course notebook contain so much errors when I try to run it. Please update the codes so they can run properly.Also all the technical formulas were not explained clearly. The professor just showed the formula and explained a little bit but did not go in too much depth leaving me confused of the use of the formulas.I would not say doing the course is a total waste of time. It has some values but I think it will be much much better if the codes are updated and the formulas are explained better.

por Kenley L

26 de abr. de 2020

Pros:

A neat introduction to python and financial analysis.

Good use to example/Case Study

Great forum of students.

Cons:

Instructor can get very unclear.

The assumed knowledge required in this course is not 100% suited for be beginners, as i've had to do ALOT of individual research on the side. 2 hours worth or work could extend to the whole day.

The expectation is to understand python and methods of financial analysis on a high level, but instructor deep dives into granular detail (which is a pro as well) which arent explained properly.

Continuing from the above comment, the codes in the videos are outdated/misleading. They definitely need to be fixed. A huge chunk i had to spend alot of time to diagnose.

Overall:

I believe the course can be updated and assist alot of individuals learning python and financial analysis

por Kelvin Y

20 de may. de 2020

Statistical concepts have little explanations on the theories behind them. It almost felt like it was just being listed out at times before showing how it's implemented in Python. If you never took a stats. course in your life, I'd recommend doing your own research on how those concepts came to be on your own before moving on to the next one. I also understand not all Professors' are fluent in English verbally, but sometimes you still had to guess what the Prof. was saying because even the transcripts were wrong. There were also some mistakes in the course material, but fortunately it was pointed out and clarified in the discussion forum. All in all, despite the negatives, I do think it's a good, straightforward introduction to using programming for financial analysis.

por Ruiping G

12 de nov. de 2020

The ppt slides are very nice. The concepts are explained in a very simple way, and the Python codes are helpful.

But for the 4th quiz, the links do not give the right places to go for answering the questions. I would recommend to include snapshot pictures in the questions rather than having links there.

This course can be very helpful for people who are taking Financial Mathematics course, in particular for those who do not know how to use Python yet. Following the course and steps given by this course can really save these students tons of time on their assignments.

por Timothy E T

3 de nov. de 2019

Xuhu made a commendable effort in the early part of the class in teaching the basics of this course. Over the last 2 weeks of content however, significant external reading is required for students to do independently from the course content (not a bad thing) but know that extra effort is required to pass the later stages. For the most part, you should have the basics of python prior to taking this course or you will struggle midway. Nonetheless, it was definitely a commendable effort from this course.

por Reo W

31 de may. de 2020

Overall good, the professor is delicated and responds to the forum actively. But the course could be better designed. Even though I have learned the knowledge of statistics, econometric, and python and got a 100% certificate, the course is still difficult for me to digest. I have to pause the video and think 5-8 times per video. The pace is so fast that some usages of the python or applicaions of finance equations lack sufficient illustration.

por Andrew C

16 de oct. de 2019

I wish the concepts in this course were gone into more in depth. They aren't necessarily difficult but they can get complex and when the instructor spends an accumulation of 30 or less per module it is hard to fully understand. More practice is needed as well. All the code was done for you except for just a few lines. People who learn by application will not gain much from this course.

por Kwok T F E

25 de jul. de 2020

Pros: Learn some python code and review statistical knowledge (SLR, MLR)

Cons: The python code is outdated and may not usable. So time consuming to update the code.

For Example: pd.DataFrame.from_csv(..\...\AAA.csv) which is commonly used in the course

It is not usable as DataFrame.from_csv has been replaced by pd.read_csv(r'...)

Also for loc has significant changes

por Dawid V

17 de abr. de 2020

The statistics element is basic and there is very little practice coding with Python. Instead, it is more of a demonstration how Python can be used to implement some regressions and basic trading strategies. Informative in showing this, however overall a bit disappointing as there was less Python learning and practice as anticipated/advertised.

por Đan T L

4 de jul. de 2019

Interesting and easy to understand for people with basic background or have basic knowledge about finance or statistic. However, I wish some of the videos may have explained more about how to use the data to solve real life issues. Even though some of the practices may explore it, it appears not deep enough for me

por Miranda G

10 de sep. de 2020

Good course but I think that economic concepts should be explained in more depth so that we can work better on Jupyter (which is a great way to teach / learn). I also think that more written material with illustrative examples could be included, not just lines of code that generate results.

por Cesar D

5 de may. de 2020

Course content is valuable from Statistics applied in Python code. Unfortunately, it didn't give enough examples or use cases for Financial Analysis. I'd like to see more stocks market predictions, studies and models using the Statistics concepts explained on this course.