Chevron Left
Volver a Teach English Now! Capstone Project 1

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Teach English Now! Capstone Project 1 por parte de Universidad del Estado de Arizona

4.9
1,005 calificaciones
274 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

In the final Capstone Project, you will apply the skills you learned by observing teachers at work (a total of six hours of observation). You will build on the concepts learned from the previous courses to analyze the lessons. You will also submit your teaching philosophy, a five-day lesson plan, and a teaching tip. You will deliver a portion of your lesson, submitting a 6-10 minute video for peer review. If you have completed Teach English Now! Part 1 and Teach English Now! Part 2, you will submit your work for expert review to receive your ASU 150-hour TESOL Certificate from ASU, in addition to your Coursera certificates....
Aspectos destacados
Intensive practice course
(80 revisiones)
Application focused instruction
(20 revisiones)

Principales revisiones

DA

Mar 14, 2018

I accomplished and learned so much from the first part of this course. I cannot wait to start on the second part. Thanks to Dr. Dixon and his colleagues for a great ESL certification journey.

AS

Jan 26, 2017

This course is a butt-kicker, but well worth the time spent. It forced me to get the hard stuff over with, and the feedback on got on my mini teaching demonstration was beyond helpful.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 261 revisiones para Teach English Now! Capstone Project 1

por Patricia V

May 17, 2018

Would like a step-by-step video on how to do the Capstone. Tips and Tricks.

por Dr. Z A J

Aug 05, 2017

I learned much from the course, for example, how to improve on my teaching philosophy. I updated my teaching philosophy, and used it in my CV. I like the steps for creating and executing a lesson plan. It was a lot of work, but there was a lot of learning activities and authentic activities to foster my learning. I used what I learned in the course to teach Nursing Assistant students in a Job Training program where I substitute teach. The students were active participants in a guided practice about Elder Speak and the discussion help the students as well as the teacher to identify Elder Speak and not to use it when communicating with anyone. I like doing the Capstone video although I had problems with the audio, then I had upgraded to a new handy Camera and the files were in HD, which made my video editing software obsolete, therefore, I did a major upgrade on video editing software and file converting software. I was reminded that there are technology changes happening frequently in the PC-Computer industry. I felt good about the class, the learning and the ability to effectively practice teaching. I look forward to Part 2 of the Teach English Now program.

Dr. Zenobia A. James

por Felipe E S N

May 03, 2018

Really dificult with you don't have classroom experience already

por Rafael D

Jun 25, 2016

The Capstone helped me to incorporate all the techniques absorbed in the previous three courses into my teaching technique. Doubtless, there are hundreds of aspects and peculiarities to master, but I did enhance my overall teaching mastery, having completed the Capstone.

Verdict: Highly Recommended:)

Best regards,

Rafael Daulet

ESL Teacher

por Helena S d P

Dec 13, 2018

Great course. Just remember you will probably need additional ESL books to work from for further examples. The course provides only basic ones.

por Madhumeeta M S

Oct 24, 2018

I am fortunate that i have got this course. Thanks a ton

por David R B

Oct 09, 2016

Absolutely exceptional and filled with tangible products that you can immediately use in building a credible portfolio/resume. It was a good bit of work but entirely worthwhile.

por Deleted A

Mar 14, 2018

I accomplished and learned so much from the first part of this course. I cannot wait to start on the second part. Thanks to Dr. Dixon and his colleagues for a great ESL certification journey.

por Addie S

Jan 26, 2017

This course is a butt-kicker, but well worth the time spent. It forced me to get the hard stuff over with, and the feedback on got on my mini teaching demonstration was beyond helpful.

por Timothy B C

Jan 11, 2018

Amazing course. It was a great way to tie together what was learned with the previous three courses, particularly the Lesson Design and Assessment. I suggest buying Shane's book "100 TESOL Activities for Teachers". It gives a lot of great ideas. I also suggest looking at your peers' lessons for ideas for your own classes. One is able to take them and transform them into your own designs when you begin to teach.

por 蔡芳芳

Dec 05, 2017

Excellent course! The workload of this Capstone Project is much bigger than the previous 3 courses, which also reflects the 20/80 rule (20% instruction, 80% practice) taught in the course. I will highly recommend this course to those who need.

por Sigfried T

Jul 31, 2018

The switch from watching videos and doing short assignments, to mostly readings and longer assignments took me by surprise. It's definitely good experience, but I thought it could come with a bit more instruction, or lings to further areas of study for students.

por Nastya

Sep 04, 2017

An opportunity of teacher observation is great! This enriches experience and allows to get a fresh look at your own methods.

But unfortunately, when you don't have materials for the class you're observing, it is hard sometimes to understand this or that exercise. I think attachements with materials for each teacher observation (scanned pages from the textbook) are gonna make the course even greater!

por Nicholas M

Jul 04, 2019

This course was well-structured, and the plentiful examples helped to support the theories I learned about. The writing prompts - our homework - suited the material and could be addressed for many different topics, from beginner to advanced English language learners. What concerned me was that the level of writing I found myself reviewing was often of questionable quality, especially for individuals who aim to teach others a language as difficult as English. I understand that there's a broad range of English competency. Maybe a proficiency exam at the outset of these courses would help with this issue.

por Reem K

May 22, 2016

too repetitive, and i do not want to submit a video of my self teaching.

por Binta

May 16, 2016

I was expecting the capstone to be different than what it ended being. I didn't find it as practical and beneficial as the other courses.

por Kristine K

May 30, 2016

The entire course was not paced well. The capstone had as much work each week as the other courses had in the entire 6 week course. To make it worse for me the capstone came up at the end of the year when teachers are overloaded already. I ended up having to roll over to the next session 1/2 way through. Work should have been better spread out. I also do not like that you get no real teacher evaluation in a capstone. Meaning a student could take a full 8 courses over a year and then fail when the teachers finally look at all the work in the second capstone.

por Andria S

Nov 18, 2018

Very good at helping discover how to make usable lesson plans.

por Htet N A

Dec 04, 2018

Excellent

por liushixin

Dec 04, 2018

I love it

por Min S T

Dec 12, 2018

I like this course.

por Kriebel D S

Dec 10, 2018

Excellent course! Lots of useful practice, awesome assignments!

por Ramila G

Dec 13, 2018

Thank you for everything!

por Shanley S

Jan 02, 2019

Fabulous tool to teach English!

por Afsane H T

Jan 30, 2019

I ENJOYED EVERY SECOND OF THIS COURSE , IT WAS SO USEFUL FOR ME.