Chevron Left
Volver a The Science of Well-Being

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Science of Well-Being por parte de Universidad de Yale

4.9
estrellas
21,557 calificaciones
8,071 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course you will engage in a series of challenges designed to increase your own happiness and build more productive habits. As preparation for these tasks, Professor Laurie Santos reveals misconceptions about happiness, annoying features of the mind that lead us to think the way we do, and the research that can help us change. You will ultimately be prepared to successfully incorporate a specific wellness activity into your life. THE SCIENCE OF WELL BEING WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING....

Principales reseñas

SN

Aug 28, 2020

This is an outstanding course! I was able to change into a more positive and productive mindset as taught in this course. I highly recommend it to everyone regardless of your profession or background.

SS

Aug 22, 2020

Amazing course and amazing instructor. The environment and vibes throughout were positive and helped me feel much happier and understand much more about looking at life through different perspectives.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 8,116 revisiones para The Science of Well-Being

por Melinda M G

Mar 31, 2020

After finding out this coarse wasn't nothing but a money investment for the company, Im pretty upset. Taking the time to complete something and having a certificate say I didn't earn any continuing education credit; not academic. Made me feel I just was used. This website has no place to contact people at a easy click. They make It hidden.

por Ashit S J

Apr 18, 2019

The course is interesting and amazingly descriptive. I understand that there was a lot of information to be shared, however if the faculty could somehow manage to reduce the Rate of Speech, it would be amazing.

thanks for everything.

por Michelle M

Apr 10, 2020

This course has a very confusing layout! The "rewirements" are sometimes presented before the course material is presented, so when you try to do them, they reference things you haven't learned yet. Also, you are often asked to skip forward to videos for future weeks, but so much time at the beginning of those videos is spent on recap (again, recap of things you haven't learned yet!) that it's hard to weed through to get to whatever is supposed to be relevant. There are good ideas here for sure, and good science, but seems like they are less confusingly and more entertainingly presented in TED talks that I've watched. I have only done two weeks of this class, but I'm not going to finish for these reasons.

por Deleted A

Apr 29, 2020

Honestly, everything presented seemed painfully obvious to me. I confess to being more than a little shocked that the results of many of the studies are presented as if they are a new revelation and not something humans have already known for millennia. Virtually all philosophers/religions have taught the same truths and I think my grandparents (who lived through WWI, the depression, and WWII) would be shocked to know that people alive now have to be these basic truths about happiness.

por Lim Q

Mar 25, 2019

I like that there were many studies shared to help individuals understand the concepts. It would have been better if more strategies to change habits were shared. Overall, it is a wonderful course!

por laurence c

May 18, 2019

This course is fascinating. It helps to think differently and to make great changes in my life. Laurie Santos, the teacher is very nice and encouraging. I'm almost sad that it's finished! Fortunately, no I can practise and improve my daily hapiness.

Thank you very much for this tremendous work. thank you for sharing on Coursera.

Laurence.

por Kristina V

Jun 15, 2020

This course helped me think of news ways to think and new ways to reach certain goals that I would have not thought about. It's kind of long but I was interested and completed the course feeling good.

por Aswani R S

May 13, 2020

When I started this course, my PERMA score was at 8.3 and I always consider myself as a very happy and contented person. I absolutely loved this course- the techniques, the strategies for well being. Thank you so much for this beautiful course. You deserve a five star :)

But I feel that a bunch of losers are taking this program just pull other happy people down. I had submitted two assignments for my peer reviews and they were genuine attempts at creating a happy- well meaning place for myself. However, the peer review tool has been used without grace/ or empathy/ or compassion and I had been consistently given "zero" points, thereby completely discounting my attempt at creating my happy space. How can someone learning to be happy do that to another person, also learning to be happy? I do not understand that- really!

And mind it- it is a very subjective topic. There is no right or wrong answers. There should never be also.

So, please stop giving your happiness at other unhappy people's hands. I hope this course will understand such un-empathetic behaviors and check it.

por Sarah J A

Mar 28, 2020

This was an exceptionally personal course for me. It revealed areas in which I need improvement and recognized strengths which were a positive influence in my decision making process. I became aware of the Negative Nudges which caused me to have bad feelings about my ability to achieve or to fit into a group.

Professor Santos was very knowledgeable and involved with her class, as evidenced by looking at the students and friendly interaction during the question and answer sessions. She was believable and her attitude helped me to make the necessary mind changes which resulted in my test scores rising.

I had a bit of difficulty in understanding her speaking "student language" versus the standard "lecture" style. By the end of the class I was comfortable with her happy, giving style. However, to get the best out of the class, I printed all the lectures and highlighted important points. This was very helpful in reviewing the chapter, and suggested readings.

With a double Major in Music Performance and Psychology, I would love to Mentor this class, as we had very little interaction with mentors (some questions have been waiting to be answered for over 2 years. My final score was 100 and I am committed to helping others by posting on the forum and grading 350 + tests. I have much to learn and will continue with WOOP

Thank you for offering this excellent class. Sarah J. Anthony

por Steve F S

Apr 20, 2019

A quality course everyone should take, especially after you've started your career or overloaded with school. It's like hitting the refresh button when living an over scheduled life hour-by-hour.

por Elena C

Mar 26, 2020

Great information, excellent tools and terrific presentation of the work. Thank you for making this course available far and wide.

por Suzanne m

May 21, 2019

Best college course I ever took and I plan to review the lectures and materials as needed.

por Jacob M J R

Apr 15, 2020

I don't think I like it when a professor says....'so this is like, uncool'

also her G.I. Joe Fallacy isn't really a fallacy.

Certainly there likely to be lots of people who will appreciate her casual approach but I was looking for something more academic and or scholarly.

por Christine C

Mar 30, 2020

I'm sorry, I couldn't get past the GI Joe Fallacy. Knowing is half the battle. That is the point, knowing is not enough, and it seems this professor doesn't respect this message from the show. I will unsubscribe, as I'm now doubtful this course is worth my time.

por Katherine E A

Mar 28, 2020

Almost everything about the course was fun and useable. I was able to learn and apply a lot, hence the 4 stars. However, the peer-grading seems altogether unnecessary. I believe, as adults, we are accountable to ourselves and having to judge someone else's journey felt wrong and antithetical to all parties having an authentic experience. It took the magic out of the course for me almost instantaneously and after learning that grades don't make you happy within the course, this grading and being graded aspect ruined it.

por Anita R

Jan 21, 2020

Great course! Very practical tools based on scientific research. The professor was clear and had fun slides.

One distracting and slightly annoying part of the class was the number of times the professor said "Yale" in every single lecture. I think I counted 6 times in one lecture. I can't remember a single professor from my Columbia courses concerned about our self-esteem so much to remind us every day that we were at Columbia. Plus, with this being a class about social comparison, constantly remind Coursera students that they're not at Yale isn't exactly effective.

Even so - that was a minor thing and I did really enjoy this class. I'd recommend making the app a little easier to track, for example being able to auto-fill items for today that you did yesterday. I meditated every day but after a while, I stopped tracking it in the app because I didn't like having to fill out a new event each time. Also - it asks to connect to an account but I don't want anyone seeing my data except Yale researchers.

por Nita-May W

Sep 29, 2019

I successfully completed and passed the science of wellbeing course on my mobile phone. Thank you Professor Santos for your valuable insights, your style of tutoring enabled me to enjoy learning about the various topics you presented. The Yale student community forums were also amazing.

por Amey C

Mar 18, 2020

Great course! I definitely will carry the learnings from this course in my daily life, and am looking forward to continuing with the rewirements.

Definitely recommend this to everyone who wants to learn (or re-learn) to be happy.

por Szandra v H

Mar 27, 2020

Wonderful course! Health begins with a healthy mind: a positive mind that sees the beauty in everyday life and in the people around us.

por Warren C

Apr 16, 2018

A good practical review of some of the most interesting findings in positive psychology. Largely delivers well on what it promises. However, some of the studies covered are over-interpreted. For example, most studies in psychology suggest general trends across a group of people rather than sure-fire solutions that will work for everyone, but I would say that the latter claim is implied pretty often in this course. Also, the material related to Brian Wansink's research should be omitted, because his research has been called into serious question lately.

por Eric J

Jul 07, 2020

Information is mostly repetitive like the graphs and the data for example. Another thing is that the graphs are way too much and should be toned down and it is not interesting at all along with adding politics into the well being which makes no sense in my opinion respectively. Overall I give this course a 2 out of 5 and it could have been better with less information that is repetitive.

por Laura C

Mar 27, 2020

PLEASE STOP ASKING ME IF I WANT TO BUY THE CERTIFICATE.

I'm only in part 1 of this course and it's enough to make me drop it.

I'm only choosing 2 stars now bc it won't let me proceed without picking an amount. I'll know more at the end how it really goes.

por Zander P

May 18, 2020

the course just added fancy words to information I already knew, the course didn’t challenge or surprise me and therefore receives one star

por Cary M

Mar 29, 2020

Thank you professor Santos. It was a great course and I learned so much and the extra readings are great. I just started my blog "Motivate Yourself Daily" to help others learn ways of changing their thoughts and living a happier and more success life.

If you offer any other courses in this subject topic, please let me know. I would take them all. Any other book suggestions are always welcomed.

Thank you again!

por Alicia d l P d L

Mar 22, 2020

I really have learned a lot.

The videos are kind of long sometimes, but I've enjoyed the activities.

What I liked the most was the app.

I will keep on using it.

And I'd like to know if some time soon the teacher will share the results of her research in an article or a paper. Please keep us updated.