Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.2
estrellas
3,202 calificaciones
587 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The simple spreadsheet is one of the most powerful data analysis tools that exists, and it’s available to almost anyone. Major corporations and small businesses alike use spreadsheet models to determine where key measures of their success are now, and where they are likely to be in the future. But in order to get the most out of a spreadsheet, you have the know-how to use it. This course is designed to give you an introduction to basic spreadsheet tools and formulas so that you can begin harness the power of spreadsheets to map the data you have now and to predict the data you may have in the future. Through short, easy-to-follow demonstrations, you’ll learn how to use Excel or Sheets so that you can begin to build models and decision trees in future courses in this Specialization. Basic familiarity with, and access to, Excel or Sheets is required....

Principales reseñas

MM

Jun 22, 2017

This course has made me understand cost accounting, has provided a fresh perspective on how to solve some of the challenges i had with management accounting and as a bonus, made me love maths again :)

RJ

Jun 12, 2020

The course is worth the time , the faculty teaches you about some complicated advance formulae with so much clarity and ease that even beginners can be pro in excel related to business and finance.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 576 revisiones para Introduction to Spreadsheets and Models

por Robert P

Apr 19, 2019

Quizzes need to explain why some question answers are incorrect, or else learning is almost impossible.

por N B

Apr 21, 2019

The information is glossed over quickly and does not prepare the learners for the quiz questions at all. The quizzes are set up in such a manner that it is extremely difficult to learn from them. There is no feedback on written in answers, which makes it impossible to understand the mistake that was being made. The questions on the quiz were also more specific and demanding than any lecture or material from the course would suggest. Interesting material presented in a poor manner.

por Ravi D

May 21, 2019

The lectures are very thin, and questions very arbitrary. In the end I felt this course was very low value.

The tests themselves are poorly graded, obvious correct formula answers are marked wrong (tested my answers on excel).

The Teaching staff are not available. Most answers are 2-3 years old.

por Aditya P

Apr 06, 2019

No theory, Very vague. Questions asked unrelated to what the teacher said.

por Nicholas J C

Feb 10, 2019

Extremely content light. Quizzes are bizarre and basically rely that you go back to the lecture and find the one sentence where a comment was made. There's no interactivity. Really pales in comparison to the first course in the sequence. I really hope this specialization gets better or this will be a SLOG. I expected better from Wharton!

por Meg B

Apr 07, 2016

What to say about this course? On the one hand, I learned a lot which merits the three stars. On the other hand, the quizzes were very poorly designed. It took me the maximum three tries on every single quiz to pass and I did just barely. Hey, this is EXCEL, not advanced calculus! Also, there were questions on the quiz that weren't even covered in the particular module. E.g., on quiz #1, there was a question about "objective functions" which the instructor didn't explain until the last course module. There were times when I questioned my own sanity until I read in the course discussions that others were experiencing the same issues. Before presenting this course again, TEST, TEST, TEST the quizzes and answers!! And if you're not going to allow for a range of correct answers or formatting variances, then change all questions to multiple choice where there's (maybe) a fighting chance of passing. I am immensely relieved this course is done and I can move on to the next one in the specialization--hoping it's better organized as was the Fundamentals course that Richard Waterman taught. I was fearful that a course in Excel was going to doom me for the rest of the specialization. Last recommendation: improve the presentation materials. Provide more details for reference purposes. Okay, I'm going to go relax, now, to recover from this trying experience....

por Hayk L

May 13, 2019

While the course can be useful to learn some modelling tricks with Excel, I found the quizz somehow badly designed for some questions, especially the one requiring entering formulas as in real life, a goal could be achieved using several different ways of writing formulas.

But otherwise, the teacher was clear and to the point.

por Loh T J

Jan 08, 2019

The slides were not informative.

por Leonard P

Jun 10, 2018

I am really trying to learn throughout my learning experience and I think I did throughout this course. However, I believe that there are certain irregularities within this framework, as questions in tests are not communicated properly and furthermore not fully articulated throughout the lectures. This is just to give one feedback and improve certain conditions for upcoming modules. Thank you very much for giving me some extra knowledge and good luck for the upcoming future.

por Evan H

May 11, 2019

I thought this was a great course. I have an undergraduate finance degree and it encompasses a lot of the econ/ math/ finance courses I took and actually shows you how all of these elements are applied. Eye opening for me and very helpful.

por Guillermo E F

May 16, 2019

I felt modules 1 and 2 tests where a bit misleading in some questions. I think there could be better questions to assess the learning of those modules

por Gitesh S

Apr 05, 2016

This course was very average to me. Compared to the first course in the specialization, Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling, which was absolutely great.

What I liked:

Good info on the tools in excel that are needed.

What I didn't like:

Time spent on content that necessarily wasn't regarding models; the critical material was buried in videos and was very brief. More time should have been spent. Additionally the quiz questions were subjective at times based on what was said on video and the formula answers weren't correctly graded in many cases.

This course could have been much better, maybe I was just spoiled by the first course.

por Jesse U

Jun 03, 2020

The course is quite helpful and valuable, but i felt it could have had more context and content. The presenter Don, seemed to be reading off a script and lacked the personal touch or know how on the subject matter. Also in explaining the various funtionality, the spreadsheets were obviously pre-made, but this then led to some of the steps to be missed in being explained, how they were done etc.

por Adhitama B A

Jun 03, 2020

Very useful content but terribly demonstrated.

por Steven B

Jan 01, 2019

Course content is generally very good, but could go a bit deeper on the formulation of optimization models, but that may be coming in future classes. Some quiz questions are a bit ambiguous, causes grades to be lower than what should be achievable.

por Jeffrey C

May 24, 2020

Thought Don was a good speaker, the various examples were interesting and provided good variety for basic Excel business statistical analysis, which I believe was the purpose.

2 severe weaknesses:

1) Quizzes do not provide feedback on missed answers. I realize there is likely some concern about "giving the answers away". Therefore, once a passing grade has been obtained, the testing function should explain any and all mistakes made/or why the correct answers were correct in all iterations of the tests taken.

2) There were many references given to receiving samples of the model examples used in the course. I cannot find them anywhere; also I asked about this in the discussion section and NEVER received a reply from Wharton or Coursera.

These are significant deficiencies in teaching and customer service and remove 2 stars from my grace.

por Joe M

Feb 10, 2019

I did not find it as hands on as I would like and found that the answers to the quiz's were not really in the material

por Ivan D A G

Jan 08, 2019

Muy útil para aprender lo básico en esta materia. Tal vez se podrían ver más ejemplos de modelos más complejos, solo para abrir la mente de los participantes a las posibilidades en el trabajo de la vida real. En todo caso, me ha resultado muy útil y lo recomendaré a mis colegas. Gracias por su apoyo y estoy a sus órdenes en Colombia. + 57 317 366 2160

Very useful to learn the basics in this matter. Maybe you can see more examples of more complex models, just to open the minds of the participants to the possibilities in real-life work. In any case, I found it very useful and I recommend it to my colleagues. Thank you for your support and I am at your service in Colombia. + 57 317 366 2160

por Alan N D V P

May 11, 2017

Excelente curso. O início é bem básico introduzindo à algumas funções do excel, porém o curso em si consegue uma boa profundidade em análises financeiras e, principalmente, projeções baseados em cenários. Aprendemos a diminuir os riscos das análises e a montar boas planilhas para planejar de forma fácil e com maior probabilidade de sucesso. Os vídeos são curtos e objetivos, o que facilita a velocidade do aprendizado.

por Sebastiao S

Jun 11, 2020

one of my Best Challenges in this Entire Course, I thought it was Simple Dealing with Spreadsheets, But I learn Once again, One Can Learn each and every day, as a Product and Project Manager, I use a Lot of Excel, and that Module 4 enlighten me in a way that words are too simple to express, thanks University of Pennsylvania, Coursera and the Teacher amazing, I would Like one to meet him, Regards, Sala

por Debangsha K S

Jun 07, 2017

This course was really helpful. Professor Huesman is an extraordinary pedagogue. This course really intrigues you with the statistical playfulness and mathematical insights through a very simple yet immensely useful tool named Microsoft Excel (as I have used that throughout the course), so thanks to Microsoft. Finally Pf. Huesman, you rock!! (pardon for the unprofessional language)

por Joswa A

May 05, 2017

This course really helped me in understanding use of spreadsheets for financial modelling. I have now understand the use of several functions, and the data analysis tool and Excel solver in creating a good and accurate forecasting and models. This course helped me to learn more uses of excel in my profession. The course is very challenging yet it is very exciting to learn.

por Agasthya R

Apr 20, 2020

I began this course with very limited knowledge about data modeling and ended it with a great overview of its different aspects. Prof. Don Huesman explains concepts elegantly and at the right pace. The content and teaching were engaging and easy to follow. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to gain good knowledge on how to create data models.

por Jose R D C

May 08, 2020

It covers some of the most useful and important tools at hand for probabilistic and optimization models in Excel and Google Sheets. The course seems easy but it requires some homework and additional investigation and practice to go be successful. The quizzes are a bit tricky and require a minimum level of skills to pass. Really good course.

por Shreshth V

Dec 25, 2019

This course helped me learn about using spreadsheets, and the functions in spreadsheets to create models. This also helped me learn how to do statistical operations and linear programming. I created models for risk and uncertainty and used Solver function to maximize the profit potential for dummy business.