Chevron Left
Volver a Engineering Health: Introduction to Yoga and Physiology

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Engineering Health: Introduction to Yoga and Physiology por parte de New York University

4.8
estrellas
391 calificaciones
157 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course gives you access to an exploration of physiological systems from the perspective of overall health and wellness. In particular, a focus on yoga, meditation and mindfulness as a therapeutic intervention in chronic illness and long term treatment. This course is intended for yoga practitioners and teachers, as well as college students and medical practitioners looking for a deeper understanding of the physiological benefits of yoga. The value of taking this course is to understand the impact that yoga can have on reducing stress, and aiding in healing or preventing physiological pathologies. Throughout this course, we will learn about different physiological systems and highlight yoga practices that can influence different systems and reduce pathology. Reading material will include analysis of scientific studies that have successfully utilized yoga practice as a tool for treatment of various illnesses such as: hypertension, stress, diabetes, insomnia, chronic pain and PTSD. In order to understanding these conditions, lectures will provide a complete understanding of the correlating physiological system. The weekly course assignment will include physiology lectures, a weekly yoga practice, suggested readings, and optional discussions for a total of 3-5 hours per week. The course will provide a tremendous amount of information and hands on experience for those interested in alternative health perspectives and a more in depth scientific understanding of this ancient healing method....

Principales reseñas

AN

24 de feb. de 2020

In this course I have learned more about anatomy than my entire life and all yoga courses together. I can't enough recommend this course for any yoga level practice wether students or instructors!!

ED

25 de oct. de 2020

Excellent course, it tied together the physiology and yoga very well, the videos that showed how to do the poses and then reminded you what that pose was doing physiologically was very helpful.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 163 revisiones para Engineering Health: Introduction to Yoga and Physiology

por Divya

29 de abr. de 2021

I chose to do this, as yoga is my hobby and it was offered by New York University

learned so crucial and tough terms made easy by Alexandra Seidenstein, Thank you so much for this, It turned out to be very interesting, insightful & truly knowledgeable.

por Diana H U A

28 de sep. de 2021

B​est course ever. I totally engaged to the information and the instructors are awesome, they explain everything really good and the guests know a lot about the topics. I wish there was a part II. Thank you so much for all the incredible information.

por David D

10 de dic. de 2020

That was an extraordinarily comprehensive course - it must have taken you AGES to conceptualise and realise. Thank you so much for the course, it was brilliant and will be very useful to my daily practice, and also to my work as a clinician.

por Alessandra P d M

29 de ago. de 2020

Great content! Very complete and embraced all the body systems, and how yoga and meditation can help us to take care of our healthy.

Besides that, the course shows a huge amount of yoga postures and how each one acts in our body.

I recommend.

por Ivana D

26 de feb. de 2020

Der Kurs war sehr interessant und auch fordernd, da ich nicht ausgezeichtnetes Englisch versteh. Es waren sehr viele Informationen was sich mir jetzt klar verständlich Zeigen und eine gute Ergänzung zu meine Yogalehrerausbild sind.

por Harsha P J

4 de ago. de 2020

Well designed course. Learned a systematic way of doing yoga. simplifying the poses where one is not able to do. Looking forward to the advanced module to this if you have any plans. The best part was learning scientific aspects.

por Vaishnavi N P M

1 de abr. de 2021

I loved this course. It taught human physiology and the importance of health and all the organs in our body. I learnt the important role of yoga in human life and its benefits for human kind. Stay healthy and stay focus. Peace.

por Hayley S

3 de jun. de 2020

Excellent course! So pleased I made time to do this in my busy schedule. The course is perfectly structured to guide you through the body's systems and explain the yoga practice which can support these systems. Im sad its over!

por Rasayana F

21 de feb. de 2021

I really enjoyed this expierence. This course was wonderful! The team of adjunct professors, research scientist, Yoga teacher and supporting guest speakers all made the course well worth it. Well put together easy to follow.

por Pushpa V J

15 de jul. de 2020

This is one of the best courses I have done. I am doing yoga since last 15 years still I learned many new things about correlation between yoga and human physiology. In the Covid-19 pandemic this course benefited me a lot.

por Ning ( Q

19 de sep. de 2021

This was a very holistic experience overall, from learning about the physiological systems to practicing yoga targeted at different systems while also tying every part together. A thoroughly enjoyable course. Thank you!

por Luís M F d C A

27 de abr. de 2020

Great course! Rich in yoga and meditation practices to deal with stress and improve physical and mental health! Very well supported with scientific research on the benefits of yoga / meditation. I loved it! Thank you!

por KC H

7 de may. de 2020

As a student about to be yoga teacher certified, this course was amazing and very helpful! I can't wait to be able to continue connecting the body with the movements for myself as well as for my students!

por Aneesh J

11 de mar. de 2022

​The course met my expectations and was really beneficial in expanding my knoweldge of yoga. I hope to use the learnings from the course in my daily practice and share my knowledge with my yogi friends.

por Javier C

21 de mar. de 2021

Fantastic training. Well organized, structured, with a lot of usable material. It gives you a good understanding of physiology and how to keep health better by using yoga, meditation and mindfulness.

por Emily D

26 de oct. de 2020

Excellent course, it tied together the physiology and yoga very well, the videos that showed how to do the poses and then reminded you what that pose was doing physiologically was very helpful.

por Judy C

17 de abr. de 2022

This course was phenomenal!! I wish everyone would have access to this vital knowledge! I will certainly be implementing these practices into my everday life and my yoga classes!!

por Jeanne B

4 de ene. de 2022

A challenging but fun course that will complement my yoga teacher training. I have already begun working this knowledge into my teaching and personal practice. High recommended.

por Rossy H

8 de abr. de 2020

I loved this course, it helped me to integrate my love for science and yoga, I am really interested in continue reading and learning about this, Thanks to the developmenters!!

por Kazundra B

16 de jul. de 2020

Extremely Interesting! I highly recommend to anyone who would like to understand your body functions and how everything is connected. The science behind yoga is incredible!

por Matthew M

17 de abr. de 2021

Mind body connection showing specifics benefits of yoga for the different systems of the human body. The resonance breathing app was such a great touch for meditation.

por Dr. M T

1 de feb. de 2021

I really feel very happy after completing the course. Through this course, I have more knowledge about the Physiology of the human body and the effect of Yoga on it

por Luis E L

20 de feb. de 2022

I am satisfied, motivated and I recommend it to anyone who wants to continue acquiring knowledge in this area. Thank you very much to the great coursera team.

por Candelaria R S

10 de ago. de 2020

Comprehensive, fascinating look at the physiological aspects of yoga practice, topped with yoga poses and meditation suggestions. Thoroughly enjoyed!