Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Cyber Attacks

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Cyber Attacks por parte de New York University

4.7
estrellas
2,273 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

This course provides learners with a baseline understanding of common cyber security threats, vulnerabilities, and risks. An overview of how basic cyber attacks are constructed and applied to real systems is also included. Examples include simple Unix kernel hacks, Internet worms, and Trojan horses in software utilities. Network attacks such as distributed denial of service (DDOS) and botnet- attacks are also described and illustrated using real examples from the past couple of decades. Familiar analytic models are outlined such as the confidentiality/integrity/availability (CIA) security threat framework, and examples are used to illustrate how these different types of threats can degrade real assets. The course also includes an introduction to basic cyber security risk analysis, with an overview of how threat-asset matrices can be used to prioritize risk decisions. Threats, vulnerabilities, and attacks are examined and mapped in the context of system security engineering methodologies....

Principales reseñas

HI

3 de mar. de 2020

I'm so glad I could complete this course as I look forward to continuing other courses on Cyber attacks. Its been helpful as it gave me the background knowledge as to what is needed in Cyber Security.

PH

27 de jun. de 2020

Ed is a very engaging instructor and tries to make the content applicable and understandable. I would recommend this course for anyone who is looking for an introduction to the world of cybersecurity!

Filtrar por:

451 - 475 de 618 revisiones para Introduction to Cyber Attacks

por arshiya m

17 de jun. de 2020

good

por Kodanda R B

15 de jun. de 2020

good

por Dr P S

5 de jun. de 2020

NIce

por POTHAGOUNI P

29 de abr. de 2020

good

por Tamma D V S K

21 de abr. de 2020

Good

por DONGMO T A

21 de sep. de 2019

cool

por ILAKKIYA V

10 de abr. de 2019

COOL

por G S R

25 de feb. de 2019

good

por Atichat P

8 de nov. de 2018

Good

por Midathana S

4 de nov. de 2018

good

por Novelty

23 de ene. de 2018

good

por Ibitoye o

16 de dic. de 2020

ok

por Adeniran A

20 de nov. de 2020

A

por Mehdi C

28 de jul. de 2020

E

por Abhinava S

24 de sep. de 2018

G

por Yashmina R

8 de abr. de 2021

This was a very interesting course! As a beginner in the Cyber Security world, it provides a set of very useful information and is a great way to start for anyone new in this subject. I feel much more comfortable regarding certain topics. Professor Ed was a wonderful teacher, I really appreciated his enthusiasm and his pedagogical way of bringing up sometimes quite complex subjects. However, it sometimes felt like you are not having all of it : cyberattacks and cybersecurity is a very large and complex world and with this course, it feels like you are moving at a very slow pace and only getting a little bite of it. You'd wish to know more! But I guess that's why it is called 'Introduction to Cyber Attacks'. Also, the papers that you had to read were sometimes really technical and therefore quite hard to understand. But overall, I had a really fun time and enjoyed this course !

por Junior C

9 de ago. de 2022

G​reat teacher with a clear way of presenting. Very comprehensible book nicely written and easily clarifying all (complex) information.

T​ons of additional reading materials after each chapter that will require quite some time to go through.

T​he Tests however have sometimes difficult questions utilizing back on technical language/sentences (not all of the students are techies..) and often referring to information shared in the Reading Materials and not the Videos.

I​n other words, the questions are more complicated than the offered information.

So some more background and a couple of deep dives in the videos would boost the standard comprehension of security and the jargon that is normally used in that domain.

por Simon K

22 de may. de 2020

I liked the way that this course started by looking at the foundations of cyber security and with a business sense on how to start out as security consultant. Ed's videos are very engaging and keep the subject a live with story telling. The course is let down by the quizes. The language used can be confusing and pedantic in the quizes. It makes sense to encourage the student to apply the knowledge in a different way that was learnt during the module. Also the lack of feedback and no interaction on the forums by any of the faculty is not acceptable. Please do the course through, it is worth it. In this case it is not how you learn but what you learn.

por Rowena B D

14 de ene. de 2022

I love how Professor Ed teach, his videos are very capturing and you will really appreciate his dedication to the course. He had recap, personal opinion mixed with the topic, so not super by the book type of professor. Oh, and he's right when he said that his book CIA to APT is less on jargons! I have learned a lot from this! Issue and reason for my 4 star is some modules specifically the videos are being repeated, links not working anymore, and some other technical issues in the course. But the content itself is soooo good for beginners I'd say! All in all I have now the understanding of the Cybersecurity just please fix those issues mentioned. 🙂

por Liam C

12 de nov. de 2019

Honestly everything was amazing and better than face to face courses I've taken my only reason to remove a star is I was constantly being frustrated that even when I passed a quiz it wouldn't let me see the answers to questions I may have missed, I felt like that was detrimental to my learning experience as I was never able to attain the correct answer to certain quiz questions that I may not have fully understood, the other thing is the final quiz says there are no wrong answers just justifiable yet I was told my answers were wrong over and over again

por Iris B

9 de may. de 2022

I liked the videos and the material. The quizzes were confusing, especially the last one, where it was stated there was no wrong answers as long as you could justify it. I did the threat assesment matrix quiz, the way I thought I would do in as a security analyst, , and it scored it as incorrect. I liked the in lesson quizzes which reinforce the material. I will definitely go on to do the other cyber security courses. I have really learned a lot! I'm even talking to other computer engineers and understand what they are talking about!

por Noah Y

8 de mar. de 2018

Prior from taking this course I was learning Python and pen-testing skills using Kali Linux. I am an aspiring cyber security expert who wanted to enhance my perspective on the realm of cyber security. Taking this course not only helped me set a real foundation to the realities of cyber attacks but also helped me gain an understanding of this career field from a business perspective. Great introduction class and I will most likely take the followup course.

por Ramji V

20 de jul. de 2019

One thing I found was the reading materials the papers were quite old. It will be good to have an older paper supplemented by a newer one. This will help us keep us abreast of the latest happenings. Or the course should be title to read that it talks about cyber attacks from historic perpective. Also the quizzes most of the time emphasized on the intricacies of English at times - difference between maybe and always. So difficult to get things right.

por Derek E

24 de jul. de 2019

Overall, a nice course with solid content from diverse sources. The Prof is very engaging. Agree with the other reviews that noted a lack of quality control. Someone from NYU should check forums and fix issues. Final quiz instructions do not match the marking. (Plus the answers are not justified.) Some of the links to resources are broken. Module quizzes are oddly worded at times. Still, worthwhile taking and learned a fair amount.

por Horacio M

11 de sep. de 2018

A really good introductory course.

It covers both the basic "tech" aspects of cybersecurity (worms, trojans, botnets, etc.) and frameworks (CIA models) to map threats-assets then risks.

It sets a fundamental stress on the approach to cybersecurity. Not only on the most advertised aspects, but on the way the industry -CISOs- work -or should work :-)

The instructor does know a ton, and transmits his knowledge quite easily.