Chevron Left
Volver a Leadership Communication for Maximum Impact: Storytelling

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Leadership Communication for Maximum Impact: Storytelling por parte de Universidad Northwestern

4.5
estrellas
650 calificaciones
153 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Storytelling is an essential part of leadership. Effective leaders communicate to inspire talent to excel; to partner with investors and communities; to engage with customers and clients and to grow their impact in the world as part of a global community. Cultivating an authentic, trustworthy and compelling narrative is vital to a leader’s success. This course helps leaders find their own story through personal branding; develop storytelling success with all constituencies; initiate an effective voice for crisis; interact well through social and third party media; and communicate a vision for innovation....

Principales revisiones

NB

Jan 25, 2016

The subjects selected are relevant, the professors are very knowledgable, engaging and inspiring and they answer all the questions promptly.\n\nI enjoyed this course tremendously, highly recommended!

M

Feb 08, 2016

I liked this course a lot as it gave me the opportunity to work doing the assignment, helping me to think as an executive team leader. It was very challenged but very rewarding at the end of it.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 151 revisiones para Leadership Communication for Maximum Impact: Storytelling

por Sadhu k

Oct 07, 2018

Story Telling section is not so rich. There is a lot of scope for its improvement.

One more drawback is there is no interaction with the lecturers. I have some great things to say about storytelling. We have been practicing it since over 200 years in India. In my organization, we had used this very much effectively to grow perfectly.

I seek one of your contact to explore story telling in detail. Please let me know whom to write about it. My email id: ultimategnan@gmail.com

por Christopher H

Jul 26, 2018

Prior to beginning this course, I was excited about the material and the syllabus. Unfortunately I left the course dissatisfied. Unlike the other modules in this program, the material is presented without a framework for understanding and feels more like an assembled list of "tips." The "tips" are not useful, which is evident by the final assignment, which is poorly conceived.

por Tim P

Feb 11, 2016

Very good course with a lot of great speakers. I would recommend this course to anyone wanting to broaden their leadership and communication abilities

por Nate F

Dec 03, 2017

Not nearly as good as the first course in this specialization. The material was solid, but not presented in a way that was quite so "real life" as the former. This was particularly funny considering the context and course name. The presenters were also solid, but not especially dynamic, especially Candy Lee, who was rather dry. The "panel" used by Ms. Lee seemed to focus on content more appropriate for a commercial touting the various departments at Northwestern as opposed to material relevant to the course.

por Reinaldo A

Jul 23, 2018

I considered the course a bit too much conceptual and not so exciting to accomplish.

por Steven Z

Feb 13, 2017

Unlike the previous course in this sequence, this course provided little to no substantial information. While I fully agree with the premise of the course, the importance of leadership communication through storytelling, this course presented no sources, psychological research, or evidence to defend its arguments. It provided great "lay advice" with little to no research base. I would not recommend this course for anything beyond casual reading. It is not substantiated.

por Mary N

Feb 07, 2016

The material was beneficial but I would have found the course more helpful if there were weekly assignments rather than one assignment at the end of the course that incorporated all of the principles.

por emmanuel b c v

Nov 19, 2015

No enseña mucho sobre storytelling, deben de mejorar

por Anton P

Apr 20, 2017

Huge backlog of assignments from other sessions of the course that are waiting for peer reviews makes it very difficult to get your own assignment peer reviewed, even if you submit before deadline. Course content is not substantiated with research. Assignment instructions and grading criteria are badly misaligned, which is probably why there is such a big backlog of old assignments from earlier sessions.

The person responsible for the course should take the following actions:

1) Aligning the grading criteria with the assignment instructions

2) Clearing out the backlog of assignments that have not yet been peer reviewed. I estimate that there are 50-100 still pending review, many were submitted almost one year ago.

por Skalidis S

Apr 28, 2017

Overall this course was very shallow and only touched the surface on the matters discussed. The professors refrained to only mention a few cases of how companies dealt with certain matters rather than provide the tools used in order to reach those decisions. Also, the title of this course barely matches the expectation one has about the content

por Marta G

Nov 13, 2018

Poor qualification since you seem to pass the course even if there is no one willing to grade your submission.. I reviewed 5 jobs out of 3 suggested to review and I didn't get any review. So I am supposed to have passed with 66% and with no feedback at all. In this case, I suggest the University do something to check unreviewed submissions.

por David A

Nov 18, 2018

Course seemed like a bit of an afterthought, and the final assignment was a hypothetical scenario, which made it significantly less interesting and valuable.

por Sachin D

Aug 23, 2017

I found the storytelling professors not as enthusiastic and effective as I hoped.

por Michal Z

Jan 27, 2019

I wasn’t sure about this course, and was sceptical, but after a few videos I was convinced I will gain heaps from it. And I have.

If you look up to TED top speaker you will find hints on how to be engage people and make your story interesting and moving.

por Carina S E

Mar 24, 2016

The lecturers were brilliant and very motivational. They made sure the lectures are fun and easy to follow, always providing interesting examples of storytelling from different industries. I can only recommend following this cours

por Katherine L

Sep 09, 2019

Great course on outlining the importance of storytelling to become a more effective leader. I just saw examples of this used in a beginning of year kick-off meeting, and it made the executive that much more relatable.

por Timothy P J

Apr 10, 2016

Great information. Several months later I want a refresher since the material was very good, but I don't think the assignments were involved enough for the material to sink in long term (at least not for me).

por Yuichiro N

Dec 17, 2019

This course was really valuable for me to learn about the structure of story and power of story. In particular, peer review of the 3 challenges were effective to learn as the reviewer view points. Thank you.

por Mariangela C C

Mar 22, 2018

I really appreciate how down in simple terms the course shows the path to storytelling without fancy words and with key things to remember in any situation.

Simplifying to make things easier with truth

por nora b

Jan 25, 2016

The subjects selected are relevant, the professors are very knowledgable, engaging and inspiring and they answer all the questions promptly.

I enjoyed this course tremendously, highly recommended!

por Maria L A

Feb 08, 2016

I liked this course a lot as it gave me the opportunity to work doing the assignment, helping me to think as an executive team leader. It was very challenged but very rewarding at the end of it.

por Tatiana Y

Feb 09, 2016

Interesting course! Very useful information. But it's a little difficult to manage 3 writing tasks simultaneously, it would be good to warn students about big task at the end of the course.

por Jugal G

May 30, 2017

I am thankful to coursera and the instructors' team. I was able to learn why storytelling is important for leadership and how to effectively tell stories for success.

por Annette S

Oct 06, 2019

Very good information. Very well described. On the spot. Quickly. Easy to understand and to follow. Just useful! Thank you very much for creating this MOOC!

por Lisa S

Feb 22, 2016

I really looked at storytelling differently. This course helped me get my stories into place and focus on what stories I need to tell! Thanks!